Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,007 Members 40,620 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Phone loops in Samsung Logo, will not go into recovery!

Tip us?
 
sfhub
Old
#11  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6830
Posts: 4,757
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrperez816 View Post
i had CWM, i was running ics 4.0.4 fine build 30 since it came out. It just started the stupid animation loop and thats when i decided to do a data wipe in CWM
This is where your /data partition got corrupted. The data wipe in ICS-based CWM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrperez816 View Post
but then i did the ODIN One Click and it gets stuck on data.bin.
ODIN OneClick is just serving as the messenger to tell you your /data partition is corrupted. You could have used CWM, ODIN, ODIN OneClick, etc. They would all tell you the same thing. The EMMC memory is actually damaged, it isn't just a partition data problem.

It is unfortunate to have the issue with ICS-based kernels and custom recovery, but that is why all the threads stress using GB-based kernels with custom recovery to do your flashing.

Lesson learned. At least you work for Sprint and can probably get things resolved with less hassle.
Disclaimer: No touchscreens were harmed nor injured during the creation of this post. GPS units were all treated ethically and humanely.
Signed: People against misbehaving Nexus 7 2013s
 
mrperez816
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Yeah lesson learned. I just did the repair ticket on it and will have one on tuesday.

When the new one comes i will go straight to ICS build 31, and not even mess with anything else.

Its just amazing how we cant figure out a way to format/partition the currupted /data.
 
sfhub
Old
#13  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6830
Posts: 4,757
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrperez816 View Post
Its just amazing how we cant figure out a way to format/partition the currupted /data.
It isn't a format issue.

The hardware emmc memory is damaged.

JTAG bitblasting would have overwrote everything if it was fixable. That is failing in this case.

So basically you are asking why we can't reformat a hard drive that crashed and make it work.
Disclaimer: No touchscreens were harmed nor injured during the creation of this post. GPS units were all treated ethically and humanely.
Signed: People against misbehaving Nexus 7 2013s
 
timmetal6669
Old
#14  
timmetal6669's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2010
Posts: 2,684
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Redlands CA

 
DONATE TO ME
You are doing what's right. I had to flash the one click Odin 3 times to get out of a boot loop after trying to restore a GB ROM MD5 from a ICS kernel. Learned the hard way. But if you can get to DL mode, you can usually fix it. After the third time i was able to get into standard Android recovery and do a factory data reset. Then flashed the rom again and it booted right up. I was lucky though. Hope it works out.
 
xDarkStarx27
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rialto
Unhappy PHONE WONT BOOT AFTER USING ALPHA 6 ICS(darchstar)

I was using this rom since it came out and haven't had 1 problem. after just using it normally it froze. did a battery pull and tried to reboot but was stuck on logo with the cm9 animation. so i went to recovery mode i had an error. i tried doing a format and froze. so i did another battery pull and now my phone wont boot into recovery or download mode. all i get is a blue led light. any ideas?
 
CyberpodS2
Old
#16  
CyberpodS2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 400
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NE Pennsylvania Boonies
I'd like to think that putting BIGGER red text in the OP's might help but apparently not...

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
 
cp320703
Old
(Last edited by cp320703; 10th July 2012 at 11:04 AM.)
#17  
cp320703's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 239
Posts: 363
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Oops, ignore me

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
 
cp320703
Old
#18  
cp320703's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 239
Posts: 363
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xDarkStarx27 View Post
I was using this rom since it came out and haven't had 1 problem. after just using it normally it froze. did a battery pull and tried to reboot but was stuck on logo with the cm9 animation. so i went to recovery mode i had an error. i tried doing a format and froze. so i did another battery pull and now my phone wont boot into recovery or download mode. all i get is a blue led light. any ideas?
Your /data partition is dead. Formatting/ wiping from ICS recovery is VERY BAD, it makes bricks.... time to use insurance/TEP... sfhubs post on this page applies to you as well...

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...