Post Reply

Sensation XE or Desire HD screen Mod

OP Khuz360

17th April 2012, 12:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Middlesbrough
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hi

So I was wondering is it possible to replace the screen on the HTC sensation XE or the Desire HD with the screen from a HTC Rezound and is it possible to switch the RAM from Rezound with either of the other 2 phones

The reason I would want to do this is because the Rezound is far superior to either of the phones but is unavailable in the UK.

Yes I know that it will completely void any warranty etc but practically speaking is it possible??
17th April 2012, 01:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 66
 
340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I do not think so.
It IS possible practically but the money and hard work will equal a new phone's price :P
Please correct me if I am wrong
21st April 2012, 12:54 AM   |  #3  
stumpyz9's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag allentown,pa
Thanks Meter: 475
 
3,810 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
lol why do people always asks these questions, first of all for the screens, they probably all are different dimensions and each will have dfferent connectors/ connector locations so highly unlikely to get a different screen. second , the ram, i doubt that the rezounds ram will be compatable with either, people dont realize how the hardware on theese devices is. plus you would have to manually desolder/resolder all of those pins which means you would have to be a pro at smt soldering. and what will you do if you(hypothetically) get it together? Unless you are also a great dev there no way youll be able to get the thing to even boot up. so just stick with the phone the way it was made, dont like em, dont buy em
21st April 2012, 09:24 AM   |  #4  
sensation lover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 198
 
2,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Well having asked HTC so see if it was even possible, the rep. said he would ask an engineer because he thought it was a good idea to replace the senastion screen with a super amoled. He said that the leading UK engineer told him that it cannot be done as it is a service HTC is not planning to use and while chatting with the rep. he told me that it would just be too costly and the risk of breaking the phone would just be too large. in his words, "you may as well just buy a new phone"
21st April 2012, 06:47 PM   |  #5  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
It wont work, and if you did get it to work the OS wouldn't just magically bump itself up to work on the 720p
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes