5,598,980 Members 31,596 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

PS3 Controller & Transformer Prime

Tip us?
 
collinsac24
Old
#91  
collinsac24's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas527 View Post
- Games that have built in support for gamepad works directly - Just connect the PS3 to Prime and Play.
- Games that don't have built in support for controller you need to emulate your fingers touch on the screen. You do so by root and Sixaxis controller app. And you can now emulate the PS3 controller buttons to work like a fingertip touching the screen.

If you not have root and you are on firmware .21 you are not going to be able to root.. And no root no Touch Profiles = No Fun.

Don't get me wrong now. But everything become easier for you and the people who will help you if YOU first do the homework and get a idea of how things works. You don't need to know or understand everything, Just so you get a clue how it works and what you want help with.. And you also learn something and get better and better of understanding and doing stuff with your tablet.

- First you should read this and existing threads about PS3.. And you quickly finds out that you need to root and great touchprofiles for that games
- Go to Sixaxis controller homepage and read there.
- If you badly want to play MC3 using gamepad you have to unlock bootloader and root. And for this its highly recommend that first read and know what you are doing because it's possible that you "transform" your Prime to a paper weight.

I say this because If you don't have any clue what you doing and something goes wrong with root or something else and you don't have any idea what happened or what have caused it you put your self in a hard position.

I have been there done that, Rooted and started to mod. And then it just went to hell and got panic and thought I just ****ed up my phone. And when I went to XDA for help in didn't know what to say or ask the right questions.. But after some search here on XDA and Google i startade to understand a little more and I know found out what the problem was and what I have done and I now was able to ask to right question and got helped.

So just follow a list and don't know anything what you doing is no good mix. You don't need to be expert and now all just the basics.


Sorry for the wall of text that did answer the question. But I have self been in a similar situation and got a similar answer that I first should do something research. First I got mad and says WTF i need help.. But now I'm glad I spent some hour on just reading the forum and trying to learn.


If you get root and so then you can watch my video how to do the touch profiles.

Asus Prime & Tapatalk
yes thank you for the answers but i have already done my research, was just to be sure there wasnt some workaround that i have missed since i dont want to ruin my warranty just to play a game.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA Premium HD app
 
allthatinny
Old
#92  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 246
Join Date: Oct 2006
i was also able to get my PS3 controller to connect lastnight, i was super excited cause i didnt even know this was possible, i have 2 non dual shock that came with my Phat 60GB PS3, one of the first ones to ever get release and it works great!! the app is well worth the money.
HTC Fuze
Windows Mobile 6.5
Energy Rom Sense 2.5
Replaced with Android Eclair 2.0.1
Ticket# 742516
 
ineptone
Old
#93  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Is there a DualShock 3 to T-Prime cable workaround?

I've read through the thread about connecting the PS3 DualShock controller to the Transformer Prime, which seems to highlight the ASUS USB Adapter or plugging into the dock and supplementing it with an app here and there.

However, I don't have either the dock or the ASUS USB Adapter. So, I was wondering if it would be possible to simply connect the PS3 controller's USB-miniUSB cable to the Prime's stock/proprietary USB cable via a USB female-to-female adapter and have it work? Is this something that anyone has tried or that stands any chance of working?

I appreciate any insight that can be given on this idea.
 
dragon57
Old
#94  
dragon57's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth area
I have been unsuccessful getting a female-to-female adapter to work. The ASUS USB adapter does work very well, though.
 
steviep1984
Old
(Last edited by steviep1984; 21st October 2012 at 06:49 PM.)
#95  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2011
I've always been able to use the ps3 controller on mine by plugging it into the dock but the since the jb upgrade it does not seem to recognise it anymore? Any one notice this?

Edit reboot fixed it!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
bypod
Old
#96  
bypod's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Logan
I've rebooted twice with no luck.. at work now, so I can't try it, but maybe it's a bad cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steviep1984 View Post
I've always been able to use the ps3 controller on mine by plugging it into the dock but the since the jb upgrade it does not seem to recognise it anymore? Any one notice this?

Edit reboot fixed it!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
mischka15
Old
#97  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hello

Can everythink post a link to a controller that works on the tablet please?
 
dragon57
Old
#98  
dragon57's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth area
Any Sony first party PS3 controller will work. Beware of the Chinese look-alikes and knockoffs.
 
mischka15
Old
#99  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon57 View Post
Any Sony first party PS3 controller will work. Beware of the Chinese look-alikes and knockoffs.
Okay Thank you (=
 
cms062407
Old
#100  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jan 2011
interesting, immma have to try this!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes