Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,682 Members 42,579 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Suddenly my Rezound hangs all the time

Tip us?
 
dsiglin
Old
(Last edited by dsiglin; 20th April 2012 at 11:02 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Suddenly my Rezound hangs all the time

At first I thought my problems stemmed from an update with WidgetLocker. However, I uninstalled that and the problems persist.

Description of problem:
So I boot the device to the lock screen.
I unlock the phone and all I see is my background with the taskbar at the top. No icons. I can't interact with anything. After a few seconds the screen goes dim and times out. Even if I touch the screen to keep this from happening.

I hit the power button to turn the screen back on. No response. I wait 30 seconds or so and it turns back on. I am greeted with "xxxx process/program has stopped responding do you want to force quit, wait, or send a report" (whatever program happens to be up, doesn't seem to matter, all programs cause this to happen). If I hit force quit the program still hangs. If I hit "wait" the program starts working. This isn't a very repeatable event in that sometimes when I turn the screen back on instead of the "force quit" screen I get the background with taskbar.

While all this is going on I am still receiving status updates, emails, texts, etc. Sometimes I can get to the point where icons appear on my homescreen but if I tap a program's icon the screen just freezes.

I have Go Launcher installed but this happens in Go Launcher or Sense.

Any ideas what is going on? So far I've:
restarted
removed battery
restarted without back on
restarted without sim card in

No luck.

I tried "restore" but after being shown green arrows and an icon of the device I immediately get an icon of the device and a red exclamation in a triangle.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm trying to avoid a hard reset.
 
con247
Old
#2  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
I would run the RUU. I know you don't want to wipe, but I would back up your data as best you can and wipe it.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
 
dsiglin
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
any recommendations for backing up? I can't really get to any apps right now.

What does RUU mean?
 
Kennnny1
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 150
Join Date: Aug 2010
ROM update utility. Stock rom releases from HTC.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1338916

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
 
dsiglin
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default well

I ran the phone down to 0% battery. Restarted it and things seemed ok. But just now it is starting to hang again so going to back it up and run that RUU.
 
dsiglin
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
I tried the RUU but was told it could not communicate with my phone even though I had it plugged in via usb.

Instead of installing the RUU I installed one of the leaked ICS updates (official one for the rezound). Now it functions somewhat better. There is still often a long wait between pressing home while in an application and going to the home screen. Also while the screen is off, pressing the power button to turn the screen on I have to wait a good minute for the screen to come back on. Any idea what in the world is going on?
 
rfarrah
Old
#7  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 319
Posts: 2,663
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OKC
Sounds weird. Anyway, here are a couple thoughts:

When you installed the ICS leak, did you do a complete wipe of everything? If not, do it and reinstall whatever ROM you like.

Otherwise, in recovery, wipe cache and dalvik again. While you're in Recovery, it wouldn't hurt to run Fix Permissions.

HTH - Good luck!
Now test-driving the Awesome LG G3
 
dsiglin
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
I did a factory reset to the ics rom.

How do I clear cache and what is dalvik.

I'm going to download one of the official rezound 2.3 update toms and flash it. If that doesn't work ill take it to a Verizon store and see what they can do. It is under warranty.
 
dsiglin
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
I've noticed that apps function fine the problem is getting to and from the home screens. It's then that the phone freezes up for a minute or so.
 
dsiglin
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2012
Ok was going to reset phone to 2.3 but got the main version error so going to try this trick to get the main version down to where I can "upgrade" to 2.3:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more