Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Suddenly my Rezound hangs all the time

OP dsiglin

20th April 2012, 11:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
At first I thought my problems stemmed from an update with WidgetLocker. However, I uninstalled that and the problems persist.

Description of problem:
So I boot the device to the lock screen.
I unlock the phone and all I see is my background with the taskbar at the top. No icons. I can't interact with anything. After a few seconds the screen goes dim and times out. Even if I touch the screen to keep this from happening.

I hit the power button to turn the screen back on. No response. I wait 30 seconds or so and it turns back on. I am greeted with "xxxx process/program has stopped responding do you want to force quit, wait, or send a report" (whatever program happens to be up, doesn't seem to matter, all programs cause this to happen). If I hit force quit the program still hangs. If I hit "wait" the program starts working. This isn't a very repeatable event in that sometimes when I turn the screen back on instead of the "force quit" screen I get the background with taskbar.

While all this is going on I am still receiving status updates, emails, texts, etc. Sometimes I can get to the point where icons appear on my homescreen but if I tap a program's icon the screen just freezes.

I have Go Launcher installed but this happens in Go Launcher or Sense.

Any ideas what is going on? So far I've:
restarted
removed battery
restarted without back on
restarted without sim card in

No luck.

I tried "restore" but after being shown green arrows and an icon of the device I immediately get an icon of the device and a red exclamation in a triangle.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm trying to avoid a hard reset.
Last edited by dsiglin; 21st April 2012 at 12:02 AM.
21st April 2012, 12:45 AM   |  #2  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,119
 
3,070 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I would run the RUU. I know you don't want to wipe, but I would back up your data as best you can and wipe it.
21st April 2012, 12:52 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
any recommendations for backing up? I can't really get to any apps right now.

What does RUU mean?
21st April 2012, 02:52 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
ROM update utility. Stock rom releases from HTC.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1338916

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
21st April 2012, 05:44 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
well
I ran the phone down to 0% battery. Restarted it and things seemed ok. But just now it is starting to hang again so going to back it up and run that RUU.
21st April 2012, 02:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I tried the RUU but was told it could not communicate with my phone even though I had it plugged in via usb.

Instead of installing the RUU I installed one of the leaked ICS updates (official one for the rezound). Now it functions somewhat better. There is still often a long wait between pressing home while in an application and going to the home screen. Also while the screen is off, pressing the power button to turn the screen on I have to wait a good minute for the screen to come back on. Any idea what in the world is going on?
21st April 2012, 05:32 PM   |  #7  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 350
 
2,742 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Sounds weird. Anyway, here are a couple thoughts:

When you installed the ICS leak, did you do a complete wipe of everything? If not, do it and reinstall whatever ROM you like.

Otherwise, in recovery, wipe cache and dalvik again. While you're in Recovery, it wouldn't hurt to run Fix Permissions.

HTH - Good luck!
21st April 2012, 07:26 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I did a factory reset to the ics rom.

How do I clear cache and what is dalvik.

I'm going to download one of the official rezound 2.3 update toms and flash it. If that doesn't work ill take it to a Verizon store and see what they can do. It is under warranty.
21st April 2012, 09:09 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I've noticed that apps function fine the problem is getting to and from the home screens. It's then that the phone freezes up for a minute or so.
22nd April 2012, 04:24 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Ok was going to reset phone to 2.3 but got the main version error so going to try this trick to get the main version down to where I can "upgrade" to 2.3:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes