FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Suddenly my Rezound hangs all the time

25 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By dsiglin, Junior Member on 20th April 2012, 10:56 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
At first I thought my problems stemmed from an update with WidgetLocker. However, I uninstalled that and the problems persist.

Description of problem:
So I boot the device to the lock screen.
I unlock the phone and all I see is my background with the taskbar at the top. No icons. I can't interact with anything. After a few seconds the screen goes dim and times out. Even if I touch the screen to keep this from happening.

I hit the power button to turn the screen back on. No response. I wait 30 seconds or so and it turns back on. I am greeted with "xxxx process/program has stopped responding do you want to force quit, wait, or send a report" (whatever program happens to be up, doesn't seem to matter, all programs cause this to happen). If I hit force quit the program still hangs. If I hit "wait" the program starts working. This isn't a very repeatable event in that sometimes when I turn the screen back on instead of the "force quit" screen I get the background with taskbar.

While all this is going on I am still receiving status updates, emails, texts, etc. Sometimes I can get to the point where icons appear on my homescreen but if I tap a program's icon the screen just freezes.

I have Go Launcher installed but this happens in Go Launcher or Sense.

Any ideas what is going on? So far I've:
restarted
removed battery
restarted without back on
restarted without sim card in

No luck.

I tried "restore" but after being shown green arrows and an icon of the device I immediately get an icon of the device and a red exclamation in a triangle.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm trying to avoid a hard reset.
Last edited by dsiglin; 20th April 2012 at 11:02 PM.
 
 
20th April 2012, 11:45 PM |#2  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 3,122
 
More
I would run the RUU. I know you don't want to wipe, but I would back up your data as best you can and wipe it.
20th April 2012, 11:52 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
any recommendations for backing up? I can't really get to any apps right now.

What does RUU mean?
21st April 2012, 01:52 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
ROM update utility. Stock rom releases from HTC.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1338916

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
21st April 2012, 04:44 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
well
I ran the phone down to 0% battery. Restarted it and things seemed ok. But just now it is starting to hang again so going to back it up and run that RUU.
21st April 2012, 01:41 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I tried the RUU but was told it could not communicate with my phone even though I had it plugged in via usb.

Instead of installing the RUU I installed one of the leaked ICS updates (official one for the rezound). Now it functions somewhat better. There is still often a long wait between pressing home while in an application and going to the home screen. Also while the screen is off, pressing the power button to turn the screen on I have to wait a good minute for the screen to come back on. Any idea what in the world is going on?
21st April 2012, 04:32 PM |#7  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Sounds weird. Anyway, here are a couple thoughts:

When you installed the ICS leak, did you do a complete wipe of everything? If not, do it and reinstall whatever ROM you like.

Otherwise, in recovery, wipe cache and dalvik again. While you're in Recovery, it wouldn't hurt to run Fix Permissions.

HTH - Good luck!
21st April 2012, 06:26 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I did a factory reset to the ics rom.

How do I clear cache and what is dalvik.

I'm going to download one of the official rezound 2.3 update toms and flash it. If that doesn't work ill take it to a Verizon store and see what they can do. It is under warranty.
21st April 2012, 08:09 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I've noticed that apps function fine the problem is getting to and from the home screens. It's then that the phone freezes up for a minute or so.
22nd April 2012, 03:24 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Ok was going to reset phone to 2.3 but got the main version error so going to try this trick to get the main version down to where I can "upgrade" to 2.3:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099
22nd April 2012, 04:07 PM |#11  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsiglin

Ok was going to reset phone to 2.3 but got the main version error so going to try this trick to get the main version down to where I can "upgrade" to 2.3:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1467099

Everything get worked out?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes