FORUMS

Hands-on With T-Mo LG G4 and Q&A

XDA Senior Member WinDroidGuy posted a hands-on video of the T-Mobile LG G4, and he is now … more

Quick Notes – Notification Panel Reminders

This app by XDA Senior Member yogi.306 is a quick and productive tool that … more

Who Is Your Favorite YouTuber That Covers Mobile?

There are dozens of talented YouTubers who cover mobile, but we want to know which … more

Galaxy S6 Shipping with Different Camera Models

One of the Galaxy S6’s most flaunted features is its spectacular camera, its 16MP … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

If you downloaded root but it didnt actually root your phone, this may be your prob

29th January 2011, 06:37 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
My problem was that I would download SuperOneClick and it would not give me actual root. The SuperUser icon was in my app drawer but if I tried to use any apps that required root access they wouldnt let me. When I opened Super Manager and clicked "Enable Root Access" a popup would come up and it would say something like "Your ROOT image will not work" or something like that.

The problem was this:
I found out that I had downloaded the most recent version of SuperOneClick. This version will not give root if you had the official 2.2. update. You needed to download the 1.5.5 version.

I hope this will help anyone who made the same mistake as me.
Last edited by alecjake; 29th January 2011 at 10:08 PM. Reason: Problem Solved.
The Following User Says Thank You to alecjake For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
29th January 2011, 06:51 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
anybody? im freaking out since no one else has had this problem.
29th January 2011, 09:41 AM |#3  
nacron's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Try enable USB debugging

Settings > Applications > USB Debugging > Enable.
29th January 2011, 03:09 PM |#4  
orells's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
You should repost the OP with the solution in case someone else has the problem, if not people will search in vain.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
29th January 2011, 06:48 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orells

You should repost the OP with the solution in case someone else has the problem, if not people will search in vain.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

good idea. Ill do it now.
30th January 2011, 07:20 PM |#6  
Phrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thumbs up
Thanks alecjake, I am on ka6 and have heard there were issues with the latest SuperOneClick. Odd that an older version can root froyo but the newer version can't. Very helpful advice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nacron

Try enable USB debugging

Settings > Applications > USB Debugging > Enable.

Not helpful at all. Did you even read the OP? Trying to get that post count higher with meaningless drivel?
3rd February 2011, 08:02 PM |#7  
nacron's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrack

Thanks alecjake, I am on ka6 and have heard there were issues with the latest SuperOneClick. Odd that an older version can root froyo but the newer version can't. Very helpful advice.


Not helpful at all. Did you even read the OP? Trying to get that post count higher with meaningless drivel?

Enabling usb debug helps with pc connection issues. Who's the post whore here?

Sent from my Galaxy Tab
3rd February 2011, 08:34 PM |#8  
geoffcorey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 479
 
More
One thing you also want to do, is after using superoneclick is to reboot. That way root actually works.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
20th April 2012, 04:05 AM |#9  
just curious™'s Avatar
Member
Flag on earth
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Unhappy root
I also have problems with rooting my andriod, I ran Titanium Backup but it required root access to work, so I downloaded z4root and universal root apk, it says that my phone is rooted but still Titanium Backup cant detect any root access.

Also my Link2sd App(app2sd alike) also requires root, I think I rooted my phone but still doesn't work. A noob like me really need your help guys.. thanks in advance..

BTW i am running 1.6 andriod firmware.
21st April 2012, 10:33 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Saginaw
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Easiest way I've found is to use AIO Vibrant Toolbox. I'm on my phone so I can't link it but just go to the development section and look for the post with the program name in the thread title. It's super easy to root with it. Just follow the included directions!

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes