5,603,729 Members 37,760 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

If you downloaded root but it didnt actually root your phone, this may be your prob

Tip us?
 
alecjake
Old
(Last edited by alecjake; 29th January 2011 at 10:08 PM.) Reason: Problem Solved.
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default If you downloaded root but it didnt actually root your phone, this may be your prob

My problem was that I would download SuperOneClick and it would not give me actual root. The SuperUser icon was in my app drawer but if I tried to use any apps that required root access they wouldnt let me. When I opened Super Manager and clicked "Enable Root Access" a popup would come up and it would say something like "Your ROOT image will not work" or something like that.

The problem was this:
I found out that I had downloaded the most recent version of SuperOneClick. This version will not give root if you had the official 2.2. update. You needed to download the 1.5.5 version.

I hope this will help anyone who made the same mistake as me.
The Following User Says Thank You to alecjake For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alecjake
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jul 2010
anybody? im freaking out since no one else has had this problem.
 
nacron
Old
#3  
nacron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 554
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Try enable USB debugging

Settings > Applications > USB Debugging > Enable.
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Stock MJ4
-Rooted / Sandisk 64GB MicroSDXC

Samsung Galaxy S III Refurb Replacement
MOAR 5.01 [MD4|4.1.2|MD4 Modem]
-Rooted / Sandisk 64GB MicroSDXC

Samsung Epic 4G Touch 2nd Refurb Replacement
MIJJz BLEND ICS v16.0 [FF16|4.0.4|FF16 Stock Kernel|FF16 Modem]
-Rooted / Lexar Class 10 32GB MicroSDHC
FF18 Vlingo/Waze TTS Bugfix
Remove Vlingo Voice Dial in Gingerbread

ASUS Transformer Tab
[Stock ASUS JB. No root ]
 
orells
Old
#4  
orells's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 305
Join Date: May 2009
You should repost the OP with the solution in case someone else has the problem, if not people will search in vain.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
 
alecjake
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by orells View Post
You should repost the OP with the solution in case someone else has the problem, if not people will search in vain.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
good idea. Ill do it now.
 
Phrack
Old
#6  
Phrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 120
Join Date: May 2010
Thanks alecjake, I am on ka6 and have heard there were issues with the latest SuperOneClick. Odd that an older version can root froyo but the newer version can't. Very helpful advice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nacron View Post
Try enable USB debugging

Settings > Applications > USB Debugging > Enable.
Not helpful at all. Did you even read the OP? Trying to get that post count higher with meaningless drivel?
 
nacron
Old
#7  
nacron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 554
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrack View Post
Thanks alecjake, I am on ka6 and have heard there were issues with the latest SuperOneClick. Odd that an older version can root froyo but the newer version can't. Very helpful advice.


Not helpful at all. Did you even read the OP? Trying to get that post count higher with meaningless drivel?
Enabling usb debug helps with pc connection issues. Who's the post whore here?

Sent from my Galaxy Tab
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Stock MJ4
-Rooted / Sandisk 64GB MicroSDXC

Samsung Galaxy S III Refurb Replacement
MOAR 5.01 [MD4|4.1.2|MD4 Modem]
-Rooted / Sandisk 64GB MicroSDXC

Samsung Epic 4G Touch 2nd Refurb Replacement
MIJJz BLEND ICS v16.0 [FF16|4.0.4|FF16 Stock Kernel|FF16 Modem]
-Rooted / Lexar Class 10 32GB MicroSDHC
FF18 Vlingo/Waze TTS Bugfix
Remove Vlingo Voice Dial in Gingerbread

ASUS Transformer Tab
[Stock ASUS JB. No root ]
 
geoffcorey
Old
#8  
geoffcorey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 477
Posts: 2,157
Join Date: Apr 2010
One thing you also want to do, is after using superoneclick is to reboot. That way root actually works.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
"If we amplify everything, nothing is heard."
 
just curious™
Old
#9  
just curious™'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: on earth

 
DONATE TO ME
Unhappy root

I also have problems with rooting my andriod, I ran Titanium Backup but it required root access to work, so I downloaded z4root and universal root apk, it says that my phone is rooted but still Titanium Backup cant detect any root access.

Also my Link2sd App(app2sd alike) also requires root, I think I rooted my phone but still doesn't work. A noob like me really need your help guys.. thanks in advance..

BTW i am running 1.6 andriod firmware.
 
mwms77
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saginaw
Easiest way I've found is to use AIO Vibrant Toolbox. I'm on my phone so I can't link it but just go to the development section and look for the post with the program name in the thread title. It's super easy to root with it. Just follow the included directions!

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more