Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,480 Members 53,860 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Camera module from another Xperia?

Tip us?
 
Drakenfall
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 196
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Camera module from another Xperia?

Hi

Is it possible to replace Play's camera module for a NEO's 8Mp one or from another xperia 2011 phone, like Ray or Arc?

I've seen some disassembly videos and the connector seems to be the same in all of them.

Regards
 
University of Pi
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 153
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
I don't know but I'd imagine that it would require kernel modifications and would be an overly complex solution...
--University of Pi
Asus Transformer Pad FT300T
PAC and under used
Lumia 928
Stock
MSI GT60 20C (GTX 770)
replaced 8 with server 2012 r2
--
(Sorry for my noobness; thanks is implied in addition to given)
 
ezadsyafiq99
Old
#3  
ezadsyafiq99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 200
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Malacca
depend on rom..

Sent from my R800i using XDA App
CURRENT DEVICE
Xperia™ Z

PAST DEVICE
Xperia™ V
Xperia™ Play
Xperia™ X10mini

Click >>>Thanks<<< if I ever help you
You'll Never Walk Alone
 
Drakenfall
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 196
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by University of Pi View Post
I don't know but I'd imagine that it would require kernel modifications and would be an overly complex solution...
Well i know if we have a Neo V and get the 8mp camera module of Neo and flash the Neo camera files we get a full Neo.

Since the conectors are the same the module should work i think and with that the camera files should work on Play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezadsyafiq99 View Post
depend on rom..

Sent from my R800i using XDA App
What do you mean?
 
Drakenfall
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 196
Join Date: Jun 2010
Nothing?
 
CTU_Loscombe
Old
#6  
CTU_Loscombe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 635
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sunderland
I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium


Worst devices Ive owned:
 
University of Pi
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 153
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTU_Loscombe View Post
I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium
I think he's talking about swapping out the physical module

that's why I said and ezadsyafiq99 said that it would certainly require software modifications (somehow I can't think of a wording that comes off less angry sounding; I'm just trying to explain
--University of Pi
Asus Transformer Pad FT300T
PAC and under used
Lumia 928
Stock
MSI GT60 20C (GTX 770)
replaced 8 with server 2012 r2
--
(Sorry for my noobness; thanks is implied in addition to given)
 
Drakenfall
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 196
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTU_Loscombe View Post
I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium
Well, like University answered, i was talking about switching the hardware camnera module from another phone (Neo,Arc) since in the Neo V you can use the 8mp module of Neo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by University of Pi View Post
I think he's talking about swapping out the physical module

that's why I said and ezadsyafiq99 said that it would certainly require software modifications (somehow I can't think of a wording that comes off less angry sounding; I'm just trying to explain


Well i will assume that isn´t just switch the module, also some libs and etc.., but i would like to know is if any one knows if there is a module that is plug and play (aside from the software mod).
 
MrHaPpY66
Old
#9  
MrHaPpY66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 175
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Anaheim,California
If you switch the camera of the play for the neo, doesn't that mean you'll need to.switch the camera.apk because the one the play has the mp option up to 5mp

Sent from my R800x using XDA
"Knowledge like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it." -Alan Moore,V for Vendetta
Current Phone
Samsung Galaxy Note III SM-N900A
  • Jet Black
  • AT&T S5 Port
  • 36GB Storage
 
Drakenfall
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 196
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaPpY66 View Post
If you switch the camera of the play for the neo, doesn't that mean you'll need to.switch the camera.apk because the one the play has the mp option up to 5mp

Sent from my R800x using XDA


Well, if a camera module of Neo is hardware compatible, i will assume that i will need to change the camera.apk and libs and some more software related.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more