Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

My headset navigation keys stop working

OP moh86fci

22nd April 2012, 12:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
2 days ago my head set navigation keys stop working on my desire s and any other htc phones but the head set itself is working. Any ideas?

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA
22nd April 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #2  
enigmaamit's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Purgatory, Hades Cluster
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
2,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moh86fci

2 days ago my head set navigation keys stop working on my desire s and any other htc phones but the head set itself is working. Any ideas?

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA

Things break, malfunction, go out of order all the time. Then they are either fixed or replaced.

I think it's a problem with your headset buttons or one of the connecting solders came off. You can either take apart the control module and try to check if the connections are fine - because it looks like your audio leads are working, but the 4th control lead is busted.

Alternatively, you can try a similar headset and if it turns out to be working, just buy a new one. These things are pretty cheap.

cheers.
The Following User Says Thank You to enigmaamit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 11:15 AM   |  #3  
MrFEr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 56
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moh86fci

2 days ago my head set navigation keys stop working on my desire s and any other htc phones but the head set itself is working. Any ideas?

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA

Mine too half year ago. I still can listen to music but I can't use the headset buttons neither the microphone on it.

But here is the strange part: It works with my collegue's Desire HD and my friend's Desire! And I can use their headsets in my device as well... Just not mine in my Desire S. I tried it with the stock sense 3.0 ROM, Endy's latest sense 3.5 ROM, MIUI, Cyanogen, IceColdSandwich and now with CoreDroid.

If anyone has any solution it's much appreciated.
24th April 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
this is very strange!! i have tested my head set on my brother htc rayhm and it is working, i think this is a software issue

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA
25th April 2012, 11:27 AM   |  #5  
MrFEr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 56
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moh86fci

this is very strange!! i have tested my head set on my brother htc rayhm and it is working, i think this is a software issue

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA

Well, it should be a sw issue, but I don't know what kind of... I formatted at least 9 times my phone (cache, system, dalvik etc) and the issue still exist.

The only thing I didn't tried: format/wipe the phone related storage (and chaches) AND the SD card simultaneously. Next time I flash a new ROM I'll try and let you know.
The Following User Says Thank You to MrFEr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes