Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 64GB micro SD?

OP memoreks

21st April 2012, 08:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag King's Lynn
Thanks Meter: 18
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Has anyone tried a 64GB microSD card in the Galaxy Tab 7 Plus?

I have a class 10 32GB one in there at the moment, but at 37 for a 64GB I'd love to expand it further, but I don't want to pay out for one if it doesn't work!

Does anyone know if 32GB is the most it will take, or can I get a 64GB one?
22nd April 2012, 12:37 AM   |  #2  
Hipster Dashie's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 1
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I would believe the 7.0 maxes out at 32GB. 64GB is SDXC, which isn't listed on any spec sheets, only SD and SDHC.
22nd April 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #3  
prinzhernan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 252
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
It works fine with 64 gb, mine does.

Sent from my GT-P6200 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to prinzhernan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 03:29 AM   |  #4  
edan1979's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag KL
Thanks Meter: 991
 
2,463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
altho it said max is 32... The 64gb work fine...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to edan1979 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 04:00 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
more importantly, where from at 37.00 ?
25th April 2012, 09:27 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag King's Lynn
Thanks Meter: 18
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Sorry, Google Shopping showed 37 as a price for a 64GB MicroSD, but when I got round to actually looking properly, it was an incorrectly labelled standard SD card.

Amazon are however selling them for 60 now, which means the price is coming down slowly!
25th April 2012, 05:22 PM   |  #7  
nrage23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 353
 
1,058 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I have a 64gb in mine and it works just fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to nrage23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2012, 06:29 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
amazon were nocking them out at 42 last week - I only bought one because I didn't believe it was genuine, even though they were supplied by amazon I was still suspicious. I wish I had taken a chance and ordered 2 or 3, because sure enough they are genuine sandisk cards and work well in all my devices - that's my tab, my xperia arc s and my Archos 70 IT2, I wish I'd bought one for each
glenbarney
28th September 2012, 02:21 AM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Unhappy Be careful of Class 10 or UHS 1 cards!
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulus3476

amazon were nocking them out at 42 last week - I only bought one because I didn't believe it was genuine, even though they were supplied by amazon I was still suspicious. I wish I had taken a chance and ordered 2 or 3, because sure enough they are genuine sandisk cards and work well in all my devices - that's my tab, my xperia arc s and my Archos 70 IT2, I wish I'd bought one for each

Just wanted to post a follow-up in this thread. At the time of these messages, the Class 6 cards were out, and it appears that they do work.

However, it's now September, and Class 10 cards are out, and they DO NOT work. The GT 7.7 people discovered (and I just "accidentally" confirmed on my stock ICS P6210) that Class 10 64GB cards get irreparably damaged when used on our Tabs. I have Class 10 cards in my S3 and Galaxy Note, and they're fine, but my P6210 just ate one on the first large file write - as has been seen on the 7.7 tabs as well!.

See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1460201&page=7 and other posts for reference.

I've just ordered a Class 6 64GB card from Amazon, and expect no problems with it - but be warned that many people are having problems with the Class 10 cards, on the 7.7 and (now) the 7.0+ tabs.

FWIW, YMMV...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th September 2012, 08:36 AM   |  #10  
Bad2hold's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Perth
Thanks Meter: 29
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
U just got to format the card to a suitable format, mine runs just fine on fat32.

Sent from my GT-P6200 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes