Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,844 Members 50,835 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ICS-Hercules-UCLD2 Q&A Thread

Tip us?
 
Darmokk
Old
#71  
Darmokk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 242
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW, TX
i have never found the GPS to be especially accurate (or quick) on the T989, regardless if I was on stock GB or an ICS port. That being said, it still functions the same for me on this Rom without being better or worse
Samsung Galaxy SIII (Rooted)
Samsung Galaxy Nexus GSM
Apple iPad 3 (jb)
-------------------------------
T-989 Galaxy SII (Retired)
ROM: ICS-Hercules-UCLD2-Racing19969
 
RikkKeith
Old
(Last edited by RikkKeith; 22nd April 2012 at 02:06 AM.) Reason: Navigation didn't work, even with GPS lock
#72  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 428
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAntagonist View Post
Is there a known issue with the GPS not being able to locate where you are? My navi won't work and I use it a lot. I love this rom besides that there, just need my navi.
My GPS locks on real fast. There is a GPS fix that many use with success. Search the threads here on XDA and you'll find it. I'm on my phone right now so can't search the threads to find the link. I use GPS Test from the Market, but not sure if that really helps or not?

One thing maybe related, at least in regards to the sensors; I couldn't get Sky Maps to work last night for anything. It locked on to my location immediately, but the orientation would never change. If I moved from the west to East, it stayed on west; if I moved to the north, it would stay west. I never had that problem before on any GB ROM. My screen orientation works fine since the fix. It's got to be related to some of the other sensors? Anybody else try Sky Maps and have that issue? That's the first app I've used since ICS that hasn't worked for me.

Let us know if you find that fix and it works for you.

***EDIT*** I've been able to get a GPS lock instantly, and it's been accurate but I haven't used GPS for navigation or anything. I decided to put it to the test this afternoon to run a couple errands. Test failed...It locked on pulling out of the driveway, had me make the first turn correctly; then I noticed the little blue circle around my location starting to get bigger and bigger the further I drove. Then it lost its fix completely...damn it! At my first stop I reset everything, got another lock, but as soon as I start to drive...it can't keep up. It kept losing its lock and when it did give me directions, it was 3 blocks to late. It seems getting a fast lock being stationary isn't the issue. Its when I start moving the bottom falls out. I noticed the same issue with Sky Maps last night. It would lock on, but if I moved or changed directions...it didn't respond to the orientation change. Other sensors in play here? I downloaded the AGPS patch and I'm going to try that to see if it helps at all. But it's not the lock on I'm having issues with...it's the movement. I'll try and see. Anybody else able to use navigation with this port?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
 
RikkKeith
Old
#73  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 428
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Utah
In doing a little more digging in trying to find out why I can get a GPS lock but can't use navigation, or Sky Maps. I read that others were having issues with their compasses. So I pulled up the compass and sure enough, North is reversed and when I would change directions, it didn't know what to do. Makes since now that navigation would be off and Sky Maps wouldn't work. Something maybe with the Magnetic field sensors or other sensors I'm sure that come into play when using navigation and other apps. Have you guys checked your compass, is it off too? Man...the T989 really needs its own leak to get some of these issues worked out.
The Following User Says Thank You to RikkKeith For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Darmokk
Old
#74  
Darmokk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 242
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW, TX
I'm having issues with my widgets not updating and freezing up after a while. For example my clock widget works fine for awhile but eventually (after several hours) it will freeze up and no longer update. The only way to get it to work is to reboot.

Will running the ICS fix permissions stuff solve this issue?
Samsung Galaxy SIII (Rooted)
Samsung Galaxy Nexus GSM
Apple iPad 3 (jb)
-------------------------------
T-989 Galaxy SII (Retired)
ROM: ICS-Hercules-UCLD2-Racing19969
 
RikkKeith
Old
#75  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 428
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darmokk View Post
I'm having issues with my widgets not updating and freezing up after a while. For example my clock widget works fine for awhile but eventually (after several hours) it will freeze up and no longer update. The only way to get it to work is to reboot.

Will running the ICS fix permissions stuff solve this issue?
I did flash the 'fix permission' fix in CWR the night before, but I wasn't having any issues with the widgets. I am using the clock/weather widget from Beautiful Widgets and everything seems to be running fine. Since flashing the fix everything is running very smoothly, so I would say do it and see if it helps.

Until there is a 'real fix' for fixing permisions in CWR for ICS, I'm going to flash this fix after installing anything via CWR.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes