Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,772 Members 52,133 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Upgrade RAM?

Tip us?
 
Undead Maleficar
Old
#71  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Clarks Summit, PA
So many people saying it's impossible. It's not; nothing is impossible except dividing by zero, and falling in to a black hole and living to tell about it, and... well okay, I guess a lot of things are impossible, but this isn't.

It would however take much more skill and prior knowledge than you probably possess. After all, if you have the resources and knowledge, even if the RAM doesn't exist... you can make it.
 
wpra3
Old
#72  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Its been done, at least on xda exec

http://www.ppctechs.com/O2-XDA-Exec_...grades/RAM.htm

Its really depend on the type of RAM imo, and the availability of the higher density RAM wih same configuration
If you think I helped you, please smack that thank button!

Current Phone:
GALAXY SIII GT-I9300T :: Omega ROM Series :: Siyah Kernel

Current Tablet:
HP Touchpad CM9 :: V6SuperCharged :: Beats Audio ::

Retired:
-O2 Mini
-O2 Atom Life
- HTC TYTN II
- HTC Touch Pro 2
- HTC Incredible S
 
CallMeVentus
Old
#73  
CallMeVentus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2866
Posts: 9,969
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWeirdOne View Post
You've all heard of Swap Partitions, haven't you? Technically, you aren't *replacing* The RAM on your phone, but you could always create a swap on an external sd, probably one with a higher class, so read/write speeds, and storing/recovering information would be much faster.
Just create one, via CWM, or your pc, and boot into the terminal emulator, and type "swap 0". Or, you could just get an app from the market, if you're too lazy to do all that.
Trust me, your phone does seem a tad faster after doing that.

If you've heard of all this, well, Pardonez-moi.
Not all phones are good with swap (some ROMs in the Galaxy Ace cause bootloops after making a swap).....and especially if your sdcard sucks (like a Class 2 or something)
Current phone: Sony Xperia SP LTE (C5303), Samsung Galaxy S Advance NFC (GT-I9070P)
Here's my Twitter. Follow me, block me, suit yourself.
Old phones: Galaxy R, Motorola Defy, Samsung Galaxy Ace, Motorola Backflip

Galaxy Ace newbie guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1225493

 
"The unholy offspring of lightning and death itself"
 
Dong12
Old
#74  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Apr 2012
Wink Answer

In fact,it is impossible..after phone made,it's RAM can't change..
 
hongromeo
Old
(Last edited by hongromeo; 22nd April 2012 at 01:28 PM.)
#75  
hongromeo's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ho Chi Minh City
I think, can't upgrade RAm on any model mobile. because can effect to any device different inside mobile.

PS:Sorry for bad English
 
hairplayer
Old
#76  
hairplayer's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2010
If it is possible, share how..

Sent from my Sensation 4G using xda premium
.
 
acoy
Old
(Last edited by acoy; 23rd April 2012 at 10:55 AM.)
#77  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hairplayer: it's not commonly done but certainly 'possible'. Speaking with friends who've done that sort of thing (on embedded devices, not phones), the hardest thing is getting it all to fit together again, as well as being careful to not short circuit stuff as you solder the new module back in.

Best option: check out the manufacturer of the RAM component (either through the phone's spec sheets or the writing on the component itself) and select the most similar module (same model/line) with more space. Then, desolder, solder in the new chip and cross your fingers. I'm not 100% sure with Android but you may need to slightly modify the ROM as well (less of a problem if you chose a similar chip). It's a bit hit and miss and by no means an exact science, and generally turns out ugly.

If you're interested, check out the dd-wrt forums, these kinds of operations are relatively common on routers (similarly embedded devices). The big difference there is that there's a lot more space to work with there and the components are a little easier to access and more spaced out.
 
mahan21
Old
#78  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2011
it would be nice if it is possible
 
mmkaplan
Old
#79  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
has anyone been successful at this?
 
IAmAN00bie
Old
#80  
IAmAN00bie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 340
Posts: 619
Join Date: Dec 2010
Here you go!

http://www.downloadmoreram.com/
Device: Google Nexus 5
ROM: Paranoid Android
Kernel: Trinity Kernel

XDA Tribute: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLK5CwVVEiA

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to IAmAN00bie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes