Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Xoom with ICS 4.04 - Hdmi out appears cropped!?

OP Tikal769

19th April 2012, 05:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Wondering if anyone else is having my problem?

If i can remember right, my hdmi out to my tv would completely mirror my xoom screen. This was when i first got ICS 4.0.

Now i have had the updated 4.04 since release, but i noticed my hdmi out to tv appears to be cropped. The screen appears to be zoomed in and it is not mirroring my xoom screen anymore.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there some kind of setting that i need to change?

Also would my hdmi connector cord cause this? I am using a different cord then before?
19th April 2012, 07:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 18
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikal769

Wondering if anyone else is having my problem?

If i can remember right, my hdmi out to my tv would completely mirror my xoom screen. This was when i first got ICS 4.0.

Now i have had the updated 4.04 since release, but i noticed my hdmi out to tv appears to be cropped. The screen appears to be zoomed in and it is not mirroring my xoom screen anymore.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there some kind of setting that i need to change?

Also would my hdmi connector cord cause this? I am using a different cord then before?

Try turning off overscanning on your tv
21st April 2012, 02:16 PM   |  #3  
TheStickMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Yaarp, aspect ratio too.
21st April 2012, 08:36 PM   |  #4  
rubber guard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 62
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
same problem with me (and tried adjusting screen aspect ratio) doesn't show system/notification bar and a slight amount of screen real estate above it. I can see all of the first row of icons though, just nothing below them.
21st April 2012, 11:06 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Same problem for me... Missing half the icons on left and right hand side...

Very noticable when watching videos as well....
22nd April 2012, 04:27 AM   |  #6  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,465
 
2,817 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just an fyi guys its a TV thing, I have two TVs on one I can change and adjust the picture size and aspect ratio and no matter what its cropped and cuts off left right top and bottom... however on a newer insignia I have I can have it set to 16/9 and it cuts everything off as well, however if I turn it to "fit scree " I have the hole picture without any missing area

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I would agree but my HDMI socket is shared between my xbox/blu-ray and Xoom and the others are fine.. no cropping at all only the Xoom has the problem...

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 01:33 AM   |  #8  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,465
 
2,817 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiflingcobra

I would agree but my HDMI socket is shared between my xbox/blu-ray and Xoom and the others are fine.. no cropping at all only the Xoom has the problem...

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2

If u look close enough it does, u just can't tell because how do u know what "should be displayed if u don't ever see it, the only reason u say it does it only on the Xoom is because u know what should be there.
I deal with this on a daily basis,

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
19th February 2013, 03:36 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikal769

Wondering if anyone else is having my problem?

If i can remember right, my hdmi out to my tv would completely mirror my xoom screen. This was when i first got ICS 4.0.

Now i have had the updated 4.04 since release, but i noticed my hdmi out to tv appears to be cropped. The screen appears to be zoomed in and it is not mirroring my xoom screen anymore.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there some kind of setting that i need to change?

Also would my hdmi connector cord cause this? I am using a different cord then before?

motorola-global-portal.custhelp.com/app/answers/prod_answer_detail/a_id/63776/kw/hdmi/p/7901%2C8013

HDMI Mirror mode
When using HDMI, the bottom 80 pixels of the display where the navigation keys and notification menu are displayed is not projected on the external display. This is done by design and is not a defect with either the device or the external display
Last edited by jvaiguade; 19th February 2013 at 04:39 PM.
23rd February 2013, 05:31 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 5
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Just got a work and play kit for my Xoom 2 ME and it does the same thing. Bit of a shame really, I hear notifications come in but either have to look at my phone or recognise the notification sound to try and find em.

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:26 PM ----------

Although I can just put my mouse in the bottom right and click, doh!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes