Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,011 Members 48,109 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE][Xperia 2011 Series] Gps bug fix for all Xperia 2011 phones !!!

Tip us?
 
YongJeah
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 159
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton
we could simply use "Sqlite Editor" in Android OS, and we dont need PC at all
 
Zero|Cool
Old
#12  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Hey mate.
Im going to try this fix and then leave a reply.
Cheers for finding the solution
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
maRRRco89
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by YongJeah View Post
we could simply use "Sqlite Editor" in Android OS, and we dont need PC at all
Yes, we could
But i worked on this solution, and since I have success I didn't change the procedure.
 
iridaki
Old
#14  
iridaki's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,651
Posts: 3,690
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice guide!

Please add to the OP that using this method, the user disables A-GPS functionality, which means GPS lock will be slower.

Quote:
What is A-GPS?

GPS operation uses radio signals from satellites alone.
A-GPS additionally uses network resources to locate and use the satellites in poor signal conditions.
In very poor signal conditions, for example in a city, these signals may suffer multipath propagation where signals bounce off buildings, or be weakened by passing through atmospheric conditions, walls or tree cover. When first turned on in these conditions, some standalone GPS navigation devices may not be able to work out a position due to the fragmentary signal, rendering them unable to function until a clear signal can be received continuously for up to 12.5 minutes (the time needed to download the GPS almanac and ephemeris).

An Assisted GPS system can address these problems by using data available from a network.
Assistance falls into two categories:
1. Information used to more quickly acquire satellites
2. Calculation of position by the server using information from the GPS receiver

As an additional benefit, in some A-GPS device implementations, the amount of CPU and programming required for a GPS receiver is reduced by offloading most of the work onto the assistance server.

GPS, is slower on time to first fix. That is why many mobile phones combine A-GPS and other location services including Wi-Fi Positioning System and cell-site triangulation and sometimes a hybrid positioning system.
The Following User Says Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
maRRRco89
Old
#15  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridaki View Post
Nice guide!

Please add to the OP that using this method, the user disables A-GPS functionality, which means GPS lock will be slower.
Yes, i wrote so !
The first fix is a little slower, about 10-15 seconds more, and Agps is totally disabled, but is not a problem, the gps chip work so well, it doesn't need data like other normal car gps
 
Zero|Cool
Old
#16  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
I have a Q. I've got a .58 rom (original SE), rooted.
In you first post you only mention .42 and .62.
Have you tried with a .58 rom?

Cheers
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
maRRRco89
Old
#17  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero|Cool View Post
I have a Q. I've got a .58 rom (original SE), rooted.
In you first post you only mention .42 and .62.
Have you tried with a .58 rom?

Cheers
0.58 is not available on my country, but i don't see any reason why it shouldn't work . You have to modify a system file of android, not a Sony one, so should be the same.
Of course if you didn't experience the bug, don't try this guide
but i think 0.58 hasn't a bug fix, like all 4.xxxx builds
 
Zero|Cool
Old
(Last edited by Zero|Cool; 26th April 2012 at 04:30 PM.)
#18  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by maRRRco89 View Post
0.58 is not available on my country, but i don't see any reason why it shouldn't work . You have to modify a system file of android, not a Sony one, so should be the same.
Of course if you didn't experience the bug, don't try this guide
but i think 0.58 hasn't a bug fix, like all 4.xxxx builds

I have this bug. I believe all Xperias have this problem. I have been reading the thread on the SE talk forum, about the GPS bug. It was there I read about this fix
I will try it and then report whether it worked or not. It can take a few days, I'm sick atm.
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
Zero|Cool
Old
#19  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
I have tried with the method on 1st post and got a boot loop

---------- Post added at 05:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:17 PM ----------

Ok so there's something wrong with your tuturial.
I have redone the process and when you paste the setting.db and it asks you to replace it, and you say yes, then the file disappears! But no fear, go back to your SD card, copy the file again and paste it again (this time it won't ask you to replace because no file is there!). Then go the permissions and change them accordingly.
Close program, reboot and it's done!
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
Ldbrown01
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2011
Worked first time for me!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes