Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooted Electrify user here that REALLY WANTS ICS

OP TheCrispytoast

21st April 2012, 09:42 AM   |  #1  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
So I finally rooted my Electrify(photon), I have insurance and **** and i've taken my phone scuba diving so I really dont care if I brick it at this point(just a reason for me to get a new phone).


Basically my question is, How can i go about getting an aftermarket ICS on it? I can use cynagon right? Someone link me please...? Can I use this? If so, What exactly is unlocking the bootloader?

Im still new at all the terminology, it's been forever since i've been in the Android dev scene....

Thanks a ton XDA!
-Chris
21st April 2012, 08:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
To flash CM9, or any unlocked ROM you need to install a custom recovery, usually clockworkmod. Idr about the electrify, but for the photon you need to flash the pudding unlocked file and run a few CMD lines in order to unlock the bootloader(kills 4g btw) and then you can install a custom recovery and be ready to flash unlocked ROMS. (same general process for electrifiy but iirc different files)IF you are on Android 2.3.5 your SOL.. For the time being atleast as you can't unlock its bootloader. QBKing has a few videos about the Photon on how to unlock, install CWM, and flash ROMS. There REALLY useful for beginners and people who need to be refreshed on what exactly to do. Don't quote me on the exact steps as I have a Photon and never looked too in depth about the electrify, wait for someone else to chime in to verify or search around.
22nd April 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #3  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
You were a lot of help so far, and yes I am running stock 2.3.5...I installed cwm, but I have yet to unlock the boot loader, and as you stated, I don't think I'll be doing that anytime soon. But what exactly does unlocking the bootloader do...?

Sent from my Motorola Electrify using XDA
22nd April 2012, 03:26 AM   |  #4  
dragontology's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 212
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
My understanding is this...

Photon and Electrify 2.3.4 can unlock the bootloader.

Photon 2.3.5 can run something called bootstrap. (There is no legit Photon 2.3.5 from Sprint, but some bleeding-edge MoPho's have flashed 2.3.5 anyway and found themselves in a world of pain.)

Electrify 2.3.5 can do neither. I asked about it here and as of now 143 people have looked at it but haven't replied... Then again, it's the weekend, but I also asked in a topic about the bootstrap a week ago, and nobody there knew either.

So I think with Electrify 2.3.5 rooting is all you can do.

And that's fine, Electrify is beast anyway.

We're supposed to get official ICS in Q2 2012 (or was it Q3?). I don't know fiscal quarters, but Q1 starts in Spring, I think, so I guess summer or late summer?

I don't care about ICS and I don't see why I should. I change launchers weekly and I'm always rotating software on my phone. I'm more interested in getting the bootloader unlocked, but I don't think Motorola has any plans for that.
22nd April 2012, 04:59 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Akron
Thanks Meter: 271
 
1,659 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
While it's true you can't unlock the bootloader on 2.3.5 yet, that means that you can't flash kernels and some roms. There are some that work with a locked bootloader. Loki has an Imperium version. Rocko has some versions for locked phones. And there is this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1575259 from loki. It will strip the bloat and blur from your phone, and give it some tweaks. This with the launcher of your choice makes for a great phone.
22nd April 2012, 05:31 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Exactly what post above said. I'll just add on saying that without an unlocked bootloader there is no way to get ICS. Use locked roms and try different launchers and you can still have a sweet phone until official ics or we unlock 2.3.5

Sent from my MB855 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 06:11 AM   |  #7  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
What is blur and bloat?? And what ROM is best..? As far as locked boot loaders go...

Sent from my Motorola Electrify using XDA
22nd April 2012, 07:23 AM   |  #8  
dragontology's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 212
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Crispy, Blur is Motorola's enhancement suite for Android. It contains Motorola Home, and all the Motorola apps like the gallery, music player, and widgets. And the stupid lock screen. (I hate Motorola's lock screen. A lot.) HTC's is called Sense and Samsung's is called TouchWiz. They all have one. Very few Android phones are straight-up Android.

Bloat is anything on top of AOSP (Android Open Source Project) and the Google apps. This includes Blur/Sense/TouchWiz, technically, though most don't consider those bloat. If you have US Cellular, City ID is the epitome of bloat. It doesn't work as advertised, it's always there, and it will nag you to pay for it sometimes. Bloat on US Cellular phones also includes Tone Room Deluxe, Your Navigator Deluxe, My Contacts Backup, and the QuickOffice demo. Sprint has a whole other set of bloat apps.

Bricky -- So I don't need bootstrap? Or I do?

Crispy again: On your home screen, hit Menu, Settings, and then About Phone. Near the bottom look for "Android version". If it says 2.3.4 below, you can unlock your bootloader. If it says 2.3.5, you cannot.
22nd April 2012, 08:03 AM   |  #9  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I know ha, and I'm on 2.3.5 just like youuu:/ but it appears that there are like someee rom's that can be used without unlocking the bootloader...

Sent from my Motorola Electrify using XDA
22nd April 2012, 01:54 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Akron
Thanks Meter: 271
 
1,659 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Yes you need bootstrap. Root your phone, install bootstrap, make nandroid backup in bootstrap , install rom = profit

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes