Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Touchscreen issue

OP fayrarri

22nd April 2012, 02:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Canton, MI
Thanks Meter: 67
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Hey guys, so the touchscreen on my shift keeps creating deadspots where if I touch in a certain area it won't register the touch. It is more noticable on AOSP roms, I'm running UKE right now and it also occurs on cm7.1. On sense roms I haven't noticed it but I haven't really used sense roms as much as AOSP. Any thoughts on what the problem could be?
22nd April 2012, 05:31 AM   |  #2  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 7,051
 
10,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Try a Sense Rom, and check. Then if that does not work. RUU back to Stock. If you still have the issue, it's time to take it back to Sprint.
The Following User Says Thank You to prboy1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 05:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Canton, MI
Thanks Meter: 67
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Well I was on newSense for a while and didn't notice the problem. But the real issue is that it happens very randomly. I can be fine for a week but then it won't work three times in an hour (like right now there was a dead spot on the 'g' key on my keyboard until I turned the screen off and on)
22nd April 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #4  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 7,051
 
10,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Try what I suggested in that order. If you have to RUU, and still have the issue. Then my bet is it's hardware related.

TEAM MiK
MikROMs Since 3/13/11
The Following User Says Thank You to prboy1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 02:19 PM   |  #5  
strapped365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 2,807
 
5,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fayrarri

Well I was on newSense for a while and didn't notice the problem. But the real issue is that it happens very randomly. I can be fine for a week but then it won't work three times in an hour (like right now there was a dead spot on the 'g' key on my keyboard until I turned the screen off and on)

If you can replicate the issues for Sprint that will be good for you, I had the same issue and now every so often either the whole screen will quit working for however long it decides to not work or I'll have the issues where I can't hit a key. I've had the whole screen not work for about 3 days then it magically started again

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 04:01 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Canton, MI
Thanks Meter: 67
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I've been running newSense and the problem hasn't come back so far, so perhaps my phone just doesn't like AOSP roms lol. Although ever so often on newSense my status bar disappears and the phone becomes laggy, then 30 seconds later it returns and everything goes back to normal
23rd April 2012, 07:24 PM   |  #7  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 7,051
 
10,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Try rebooting the device every few days. It will help with the lag that you experience after a few days. A cache cleaner isn't a bad idea either.

TEAM MiK
MikROMs Since 3/13/11

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes