Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,101 Members 43,529 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Rom][11.18.2012] Newts OnE XxX RLS 6.0.2 *Global* [Sense 4.1]

Tip us?
 
getitoutme2
Old
#3141  
getitoutme2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SL,UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Carpenter View Post
Wow, haha. Why didn't I think of that.
I knew you had to ./adb so I should have known you had to do the same with fastboot. Thanks!
But, I was also only putting boot.img so now I know I need to fix that as well.

Yes, it worked! Thanks for the help, guys.

EDIT: Well, now my phone is rebooting and what not. So close haha.
Assuming you're on the old firmware, did you flash the old firmware patch after flashing the ROM?
 
DJ Carpenter
Old
#3142  
DJ Carpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by getitoutme2 View Post
Assuming you're on the old firmware, did you flash the old firmware patch after flashing the ROM?
I'm on the new firm. I flashed a patch for it when I flashed CleanROM the other day.

But, after I flashed the ROM, I flashed the 2.1 file that it said to flash after the ROM if that's what you're referring to.
DeviantArt | Twitter | Tumblr | Tumblr | Instagram

There is more to living than just existing. -Dj Carpenter
 
getitoutme2
Old
(Last edited by getitoutme2; 22nd April 2012 at 04:38 AM.)
#3143  
getitoutme2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SL,UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Carpenter View Post
I'm on the new firm. I flashed a patch for it when I flashed CleanROM the other day.

But, after I flashed the ROM, I flashed the 2.1 file that it said to flash after the ROM if that's what you're referring to.
Okay, flashing the patch doesn't put you on to the new firmware. Updating to the new firmware entails you re-locking, updating, re-locking, re-rooting and all that jazz (I may be adding or missing a step but, you hopefully my point has come across). If you did not truly update to the new firmware (which is a permanent thing until further notice), I'm pretty sure you must flash that patch after every wipe/flashing of a new ROM.

You need to wipe, flash the ROM, flash the 2.1 patch, AND THEN flash the old firmware patch. The BAMF old firmware patch has worked best for me (thanks, Joelz!)
Attached Files
File Type: zip BAMF-Oldfirmppl-patch.zip - [Click for QR Code] (190.6 KB, 15 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to getitoutme2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DJ Carpenter
Old
#3144  
DJ Carpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by getitoutme2 View Post
Okay, flashing the patch doesn't put you on to the new firmware. Updating to the new firmware entails you re-locking, updating, re-locking, re-rooting and all that jazz (I may be adding or missing a step but, you hopefully my point has come across). If you did not truly update to the new firmware (which is a permanent thing until further notice), I'm pretty sure you must flash that patch after every wipe/flashing of a new ROM.
Damn, I was thinking the patch was a fix for not having to re-lock and all of that. I would do that but I don't have my phones key anymore.
I have it but it's on another computer which I can't get to right now.
Not sure what to do about that yet.
I'll try flashing the patch and see what happens.
Should I re-lock and grab the new firm if I get the chance?

EDIT: Never mind, I guess you edited your post. I didn't see the attached file before.
DeviantArt | Twitter | Tumblr | Tumblr | Instagram

There is more to living than just existing. -Dj Carpenter
 
getitoutme2
Old
#3145  
getitoutme2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SL,UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Carpenter View Post
Damn, I was thinking the patch was a fix for not having to re-lock and all of that. I would do that but I don't have my phones key anymore.
I have it but it's on another computer which I can't get to right now.
Not sure what to do about that yet.
I'll try flashing the patch and see what happens.
Should I re-lock and grab the new firm if I get the chance?
If you can get away with it, I honestly wouldn't update to the 'new', leaked firmware. From what I've read, it may or may not pose some complications when updating to the official update.
 
x3demond3x
Old
#3146  
x3demond3x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 290
Posts: 193
Join Date: Jul 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by getitoutme2 View Post
If you can get away with it, I honestly wouldn't update to the 'new', leaked firmware. From what I've read, it may or may not pose some complications when updating to the official update.
not anymore now that we have s-off haha
 
DJ Carpenter
Old
#3147  
DJ Carpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by getitoutme2 View Post
If you can get away with it, I honestly wouldn't update to the 'new', leaked firmware. From what I've read, it may or may not pose some complications when updating to the official update.
Hmm, I'll just stay on the old then I suppose.
I've been pretty lost lately about everything going on.
I bought my Rez last year and haven't been able to do much with it until now.
So, I have a ton to catch up on and what not.
I'm gonna re-flash everything though, still acting kind of buggy.
I used the patch from the CleanROM before I saw your attached so I'm gonna see if it works better. My phones been saying preparing SIM over and over haha


Quote:
Originally Posted by x3demond3x View Post
not anymore now that we have s-off haha
If only I had a PC. Hopefully they get a Mac version going. That would be great.
DeviantArt | Twitter | Tumblr | Tumblr | Instagram

There is more to living than just existing. -Dj Carpenter
 
bgmikejr
Old
#3148  
bgmikejr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by x3demond3x View Post
not anymore now that we have s-off haha
I've been searching for an article on how to achieve S-Off so does this mean there's one out there or is it coming soon?
Current Devices: HTC One M8 (Dev Edition), Samsung Galaxy S5 (TMO), LG Nexus 5 16GB, LG G3 (TMO), Moto X (GSM Unlocked), OnePlus One 64GB Sandstone Black.

Previous Devices: Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Samsung Galaxy S3, Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (TMO), Samsung Galaxy S4 (TMO), Oppo Find 5, LG Optimus G Pro (AT&T), LG Nexus 4 16GB, HTC One (TMO), Nokia Lumia 521 (TMO), gooPhone i5, Google S4, Blu Life Play L100a, Blackberry Z10 (Unlocked), Moto X (Dev Edition), Galaxy Note 3 (TMO), LG Nexus 5 32GB.
 
DJ Carpenter
Old
#3149  
DJ Carpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmikejr View Post
I've been searching for an article on how to achieve S-Off so does this mean there's one out there or is it coming soon?
It was put in the general section.

S-Off
DeviantArt | Twitter | Tumblr | Tumblr | Instagram

There is more to living than just existing. -Dj Carpenter
The Following User Says Thank You to DJ Carpenter For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
prdog1
Old
#3150  
prdog1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4456
Posts: 7,813
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
I sweated bullets but now S-off. Will do backup Rezound tomorrow.

Tags
dead, epic, newt, newtoroot, one xxx, sense 4, win
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes