The Androids Are Marching On The UK

XDA has always been about the community, and as such we are constantly on the lookout for ways to bring … more

One M8 Lollipop, Blackberry CEO Net Neutrality – XDA TV

The HTC One M8 has gotten its first Android 5.0 Lollipop based Sense 6 ROM! … more

Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Dropbox App Available on Windows Phone

The Dropbox app is well known and widely used. The application has finally landed on Windows Phone … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Skins

OP bigslimoid

20th April 2012, 04:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Is there any way to application a skin with out it over riding half the themed pngs in the htcresorces.apk?
Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA
22nd April 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I'm sure some one has few insights on this…
I hope?

Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA
22nd April 2012, 05:34 AM   |  #3  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 495
 
2,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
If you want to make a skin then you need to start by modifying your own htcresources.apk. Not sure what you mean by "application a skin".
22nd April 2012, 05:44 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer

If you want to make a skin then you need to start by modifying your own htcresources.apk. Not sure what you mean by "application a skin".

Sorry, meant apply a skin.
My framework-res.apk, and my htcresorces.apk are themed to match. Now what I'm asking is, is there a way to apply a skin to get the mods in the Widgets and personalization page with out it changing my mods that I have already in my htcresorces.apk. for example the button_checkmark_on.PNG, because apparently half of the phones system uses that PNG from HTC resources.apk and the other half uses that same PNG from framework Res.apk

Sent from my Inspire 4G using XDA
23rd April 2012, 03:21 AM   |  #5  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 495
 
2,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Most likely applying a new skin will overwrite your files. If the skin contains those files then yours will be replaced completely. So your anser is no.
The Following User Says Thank You to Agoattamer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer

Most likely applying a new skin will overwrite your files. If the skin contains those files then yours will be replaced completely. So your anser is no.

That's what I figured. Now would those files belocated in the shared m10? Cause I can't seem to find them anywhere else within the skin apk
23rd April 2012, 10:12 PM   |  #7  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 495
 
2,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Last skin I did was for Sense 2.1. Everything has shuffled and hidden since then. I wouldn't even know where to tell you to start.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes