Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,547 Members 43,205 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need 900mhz band on i777

Tip us?
 
Silenus21
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 394
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Need 900mhz band on i777

Hey everybody.
I'm in the Dominican Republic and orange dominicana uses 900mhz band and they told me my i777 doesn't have it.
Is it possible to flash a i9100 módem to enable that band to use 3g here?
Hope you guys can help me.
Thanks.
Sent from my GT-N7000 usin
 
hugo87
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2007
Sorry But I believe thats a hardware limitation. Your best bet is to shop for a galaxy s2 with that frequency already built in.
 
Entropy512
Old
#3  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24101
Posts: 13,135
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
To my knowledge, any band the I9100 supports we support. An I9100 modem won't help.
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
Silenus21
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 394
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
To my knowledge, any band the I9100 supports we support. An I9100 modem won't help.
The I9100 supports the 900mhz band.

So with that logic our i777 supports it but it's locked or hidden by ATT firmwares or modem.

That's why I'm asking if I can unlock that band on my i777 by flashing a I9100 modem on it.
 
Nick281051
Old
#5  
Nick281051's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1329
Posts: 4,620
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northport, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silenus21 View Post
The I9100 supports the 900mhz band.

So with that logic our i777 supports it but it's locked or hidden by ATT firmwares or modem.

That's why I'm asking if I can unlock that band on my i777 by flashing a I9100 modem on it.
No it breaks ****

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-I777

HTC Inspire 4g collecting dust

Old Phone: Samsung Captivate (At&t)- Returned
HTC Tilt 2 (AT&T)- Sold

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621 View Post
Nice job bro! Not only have you insulted the dev of the rom thread you're posting in , but you also took offense to an internet forum post which has no bearing on your life! This is the internet bro. You've got to have a thick skin.
 
Entropy512
Old
#6  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24101
Posts: 13,135
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm fairly certain the I777 supports 900 MHz operation - it's in the specs. http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/cel...77ZKAATT-specs
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
veliksam
Old
#7  
veliksam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 489
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Just use the galaxy s unlock tool (if you're locked) from Google play.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using XDA
First you get the money, then you get the power, then you get the women!
 
jacob.alberty
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
I'm fairly certain the I777 supports 900 MHz operation - it's in the specs.
The specs say 900mhz gsm operation. He asked about 3g/umts.
 
kalda01
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 705
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Yavne
I777 hardware only supports: HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
 
Silenus21
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 394
Join Date: Oct 2008
Thanks a lot everybody.

That must be the reason why I can't get 3g on my operator.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more