FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Need 900mhz band on i777

436 posts
Thanks Meter: 29
 
By Silenus21, Senior Member on 21st April 2012, 04:36 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey everybody.
I'm in the Dominican Republic and orange dominicana uses 900mhz band and they told me my i777 doesn't have it.
Is it possible to flash a i9100 módem to enable that band to use 3g here?
Hope you guys can help me.
Thanks.
Sent from my GT-N7000 usin
 
 
21st April 2012, 04:48 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Sorry But I believe thats a hardware limitation. Your best bet is to shop for a galaxy s2 with that frequency already built in.
21st April 2012, 02:12 PM |#3  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,289
 
Donate to Me
More
To my knowledge, any band the I9100 supports we support. An I9100 modem won't help.
21st April 2012, 03:59 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512

To my knowledge, any band the I9100 supports we support. An I9100 modem won't help.

The I9100 supports the 900mhz band.

So with that logic our i777 supports it but it's locked or hidden by ATT firmwares or modem.

That's why I'm asking if I can unlock that band on my i777 by flashing a I9100 modem on it.
22nd April 2012, 01:29 AM |#5  
Nick281051's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northport, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,336
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silenus21

The I9100 supports the 900mhz band.

So with that logic our i777 supports it but it's locked or hidden by ATT firmwares or modem.

That's why I'm asking if I can unlock that band on my i777 by flashing a I9100 modem on it.

No it breaks ****

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
22nd April 2012, 02:30 AM |#6  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,289
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm fairly certain the I777 supports 900 MHz operation - it's in the specs. http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/cel...77ZKAATT-specs
22nd April 2012, 05:47 AM |#7  
veliksam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Just use the galaxy s unlock tool (if you're locked) from Google play.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 06:11 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512

I'm fairly certain the I777 supports 900 MHz operation - it's in the specs.

The specs say 900mhz gsm operation. He asked about 3g/umts.
22nd April 2012, 07:57 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Yavne
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I777 hardware only supports: HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
23rd April 2012, 02:57 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Thanks a lot everybody.

That must be the reason why I can't get 3g on my operator.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes