Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Ics evo 3d release

OP kn1ghtnsh1narmr

22nd April 2012, 06:07 AM   |  #31  
SoraX64's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Frederick, Maryland (Hood College)
Thanks Meter: 637
 
1,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by genstukov

Without being able to remove the battery how will you be able to get out of a boot loop before the battery dies or if the phone freezes?

Do you really think they don't have a way of forcing the phone to shut off? I haven't done the research on it but I'm sure if you do something like hold the power button down or push a combination of buttons the phone cuts the power off.

Do people really think HTC wouldn't have thought about this? The first thing that customer service will tell you at any location when you bring your phone in is to reset it or pull the battery. It's essential to have the option to hard reboot when software acts up. They aren't stupid enough to not include some method to do so.
22nd April 2012, 06:14 AM   |  #32  
strykerider's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tangerang
Thanks Meter: 64
 
502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilbydakid

5000mah battery???

Don't know about you but i don't want my phone to look like the ones they used in Vietnam to call in airstrikes.

S3nt from my 3D wond3rland

That's why i said cool.. When receiveng the phone, you will need your both hand to keep up the phone to your ear.. LoL

Cool isn't it?

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515a using XDA
22nd April 2012, 06:19 AM   |  #33  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apopka, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,205
 
2,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by strykerider

That's why i said cool.. When receiveng the phone, you will need your both hand to keep up the phone to your ear.. LoL

Cool isn't it?

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515a using XDA

This would work if HTC designed a phone that was sized and shaped like the iPad...
22nd April 2012, 06:29 AM   |  #34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraX64

Do you really think they don't have a way of forcing the phone to shut off? I haven't done the research on it but I'm sure if you do something like hold the power button down or push a combination of buttons the phone cuts the power off.

Do people really think HTC wouldn't have thought about this? The first thing that customer service will tell you at any location when you bring your phone in is to reset it or pull the battery. It's essential to have the option to hard reboot when software acts up. They aren't stupid enough to not include some method to do so.

^ What he said.. Having access to the battery isn't necessary. I've been stuck in bootloops before and I've been able to get out and back into recovery without having to pull the battery.

Don't know how many of you guys knew this but the cutoff combination for our 3D is volume up+down+power.

If someone's already brought this up, I apologize.
Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 06:30 AM   |  #35  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 328
 
3,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexiking10

^ What he said.. Having access to the battery isn't necessary. I've been stuck in bootloops before and I've been able to get out and back into recovery without having to pull the battery.

Don't know how many of you guys knew this but the cutoff combination for our 3D is volume up+down+power.

If someone's already brought this up, I apologize.
Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium

When you do this how do you get into recovery?
22nd April 2012, 06:47 AM   |  #36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 900
 
3,605 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkManX4lf

When you do this how do you get into recovery?

Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 06:52 AM   |  #37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckoadiyn

Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium

^ What he said lol. As long as there's a way to cut off the power like on our phones (which I'm sure there will be), I don't see what the gripe is with the embedded batteries other than those who use more than one battery.

Edit: And just to be crystal clear, you let go of everything and hold power+ volume down.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Mexiking10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:53 AM   |  #38  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 328
 
3,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckoadiyn

Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium

I just tried this and it didn't work. My 3d just booted into the rom thst was installed.
22nd April 2012, 07:03 AM   |  #39  
Account Currently Disabled
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 201
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkManX4lf

I just tried this and it didn't work. My 3d just booted into the rom thst was installed.

Same here. I've actually tried it multiple times with no success. Not saying it doesn't work. I've just never been able to get it to work.

Sent from my Anthrax infected 3D!
If I've helped you in any way... hit the "Thanks" button.
22nd April 2012, 07:18 AM   |  #40  
SoraX64's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Frederick, Maryland (Hood College)
Thanks Meter: 637
 
1,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
That method always works for me. You have to make sure you're holding the button down as you press the power button or you'll miss your chance.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes