5,595,645 Members 44,190 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Ics evo 3d release

Tip us?
 
SoraX64
Old
#31  
SoraX64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 637
Posts: 1,301
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frederick, Maryland (Hood College)
Quote:
Originally Posted by genstukov View Post
Without being able to remove the battery how will you be able to get out of a boot loop before the battery dies or if the phone freezes?
Do you really think they don't have a way of forcing the phone to shut off? I haven't done the research on it but I'm sure if you do something like hold the power button down or push a combination of buttons the phone cuts the power off.

Do people really think HTC wouldn't have thought about this? The first thing that customer service will tell you at any location when you bring your phone in is to reset it or pull the battery. It's essential to have the option to hard reboot when software acts up. They aren't stupid enough to not include some method to do so.
Like gaming? Check out my site, where my friend and I livestream as we play!
Phone: HTC Evo 4G LTE
Desktop: AMD Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4GHz, AMD Radeon HD6870 OC'd, 12GB DDR3 RAM
Laptop: HP Envy 15 3200t; i7-3610m @ 2.3GHz, AMD Radeon 7750m, 6GB DDR3 RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 IPS Radiance display
 
strykerider
Old
#32  
strykerider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 502
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tangerang
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilbydakid View Post
5000mah battery???

Don't know about you but i don't want my phone to look like the ones they used in Vietnam to call in airstrikes.

S3nt from my 3D wond3rland
That's why i said cool.. When receiveng the phone, you will need your both hand to keep up the phone to your ear.. LoL

Cool isn't it?

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515a using XDA
Current Devices
__________________

HTC Evo 3D BRICKED
Hboot 1.49117 Unlocked ~ S-Off
ROM : Currently running StrykeRideROM_A5, Stock Experiences
Kernel : Buttered Toast


Google Nexus 7 STOLEN
Unlocked ~ Rooted
ROM : Currently running Sentinel ROM, CM 10.1
Kernel : Franco Kernel


Google Nexus 4
Unlocked ~ Rooted
ROM : Stock 4.3 Rooted
Kernel : Stock Kernel




__________________
 
eXplicit815
Old
#33  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1163
Posts: 2,422
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by strykerider View Post
That's why i said cool.. When receiveng the phone, you will need your both hand to keep up the phone to your ear.. LoL

Cool isn't it?

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515a using XDA
This would work if HTC designed a phone that was sized and shaped like the iPad...
 
Mexiking10
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 207
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraX64 View Post
Do you really think they don't have a way of forcing the phone to shut off? I haven't done the research on it but I'm sure if you do something like hold the power button down or push a combination of buttons the phone cuts the power off.

Do people really think HTC wouldn't have thought about this? The first thing that customer service will tell you at any location when you bring your phone in is to reset it or pull the battery. It's essential to have the option to hard reboot when software acts up. They aren't stupid enough to not include some method to do so.
^ What he said.. Having access to the battery isn't necessary. I've been stuck in bootloops before and I've been able to get out and back into recovery without having to pull the battery.

Don't know how many of you guys knew this but the cutoff combination for our 3D is volume up+down+power.

If someone's already brought this up, I apologize.
Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
d3rp'd One
Hit the thanks button if I helped you in some way.
 
DarkManX4lf
Old
#35  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 2,832
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexiking10 View Post
^ What he said.. Having access to the battery isn't necessary. I've been stuck in bootloops before and I've been able to get out and back into recovery without having to pull the battery.

Don't know how many of you guys knew this but the cutoff combination for our 3D is volume up+down+power.

If someone's already brought this up, I apologize.
Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
When you do this how do you get into recovery?
 
ckoadiyn
Old
#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 900
Posts: 3,605
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkManX4lf View Post
When you do this how do you get into recovery?
Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
TEAM MiK Since 12/18/10
 
Mexiking10
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 207
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckoadiyn View Post
Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
^ What he said lol. As long as there's a way to cut off the power like on our phones (which I'm sure there will be), I don't see what the gripe is with the embedded batteries other than those who use more than one battery.

Edit: And just to be crystal clear, you let go of everything and hold power+ volume down.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
d3rp'd One
Hit the thanks button if I helped you in some way.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mexiking10 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DarkManX4lf
Old
#38  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 2,832
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckoadiyn View Post
Let go of everything and quickly hold the volume down button.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
I just tried this and it didn't work. My 3d just booted into the rom thst was installed.
 
lyon21
Old
#39  
Account Currently Disabled
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 750
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkManX4lf View Post
I just tried this and it didn't work. My 3d just booted into the rom thst was installed.
Same here. I've actually tried it multiple times with no success. Not saying it doesn't work. I've just never been able to get it to work.

Sent from my Anthrax infected 3D!
If I've helped you in any way... hit the "Thanks" button.
 
SoraX64
Old
#40  
SoraX64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 637
Posts: 1,301
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Frederick, Maryland (Hood College)
That method always works for me. You have to make sure you're holding the button down as you press the power button or you'll miss your chance.
Like gaming? Check out my site, where my friend and I livestream as we play!
Phone: HTC Evo 4G LTE
Desktop: AMD Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4GHz, AMD Radeon HD6870 OC'd, 12GB DDR3 RAM
Laptop: HP Envy 15 3200t; i7-3610m @ 2.3GHz, AMD Radeon 7750m, 6GB DDR3 RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 IPS Radiance display

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes