Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 43,697 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Hotspot question

Tip us?
 
avelasqu
Old
#1  
avelasqu's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 57
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Default Hotspot question

Has anyone been able to use internet hotspots after root?

I van get connected, but no internet connection actually get shared.

Anyone know what's going on here?

Sent from my SGH-T769 using XDA Premium App
 
Dedridd
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
I tried once while I was in another town, but dismissed the issues I had to a weak signal. Now you've got me wondering. I'll try again tonight when I get home and have my tablet.
 
Dedridd
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
All right, I don't understand.

Like you, I can get my tablet connected to my Blaze using the Hotspot sharing. And Google Talk works just fine. However, GMail and the Google Market/Play Store report that there's no connection after spinning for a long time.
 
dizant
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2010
Hi, I had the same problem as both of you. I fixed it after root by installing titanium backup, and uninstalling the "tethering manager" after backing it up. This also has solved my problem of the hotspot crashing after enabling it.

You can freeze it instead of uninstalling it too, if you have the pay for version of titanium backup. I would post an outside link to the instructions I used, but I don't have enough posts.
The Following User Says Thank You to dizant For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dedridd
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizant View Post
Hi, I had the same problem as both of you. I fixed it after root by installing titanium backup, and uninstalling the "tethering manager" after backing it up. This also has solved my problem of the hotspot crashing after enabling it.
Worked like a charm. Thanks!
 
xsboredom
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 52
Join Date: Feb 2011
i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan
 
rbeier1221
Old
#7  
rbeier1221's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 377
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsboredom View Post
i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan
Thanks for that helpful post.

Sent from my MB525 using Tapatalk 2
Galaxy Nexus 4 - MetroPCS
 
myorks1127
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 359
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsboredom View Post
i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan
That's strange cause i don't have to pay that and i just have the premium 5gb "unlimited" internet and tethering has always worked.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA
NEXUS 5- Love it!
NEXUS 4- Sold
Samsung Galaxy S Blaze-Sold
Motorola DEFY- Sold

"An original LL3 Nexus 4 crew member"
 
k0nane
Old
#9  
k0nane's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3758
Posts: 3,981
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by myorks1127 View Post
That's strange cause i don't have to pay that and i just have the premium 5gb "unlimited" internet and tethering has always worked.
On most carriers, tethering won't work on a stock ROM without a hack.





Have I helped? Enjoy my network's fast downloads? Hit the Thanks button!



Follow me on Twitter @k0nane / @publik0! Chat with the OUDHS: irc.freenode.net #oudhitsquad (webchat)
 
Dedridd
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
Last time T-mobile tried to up-sell me to the 5gb unlimited plan, they touted tethering as a bonus feature of that plan.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...