Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Hotspot question

OP avelasqu

19th April 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #1  
avelasqu's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Battle Ground, WA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Has anyone been able to use internet hotspots after root?

I van get connected, but no internet connection actually get shared.

Anyone know what's going on here?

Sent from my SGH-T769 using XDA Premium App
19th April 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I tried once while I was in another town, but dismissed the issues I had to a weak signal. Now you've got me wondering. I'll try again tonight when I get home and have my tablet.
20th April 2012, 05:09 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
All right, I don't understand.

Like you, I can get my tablet connected to my Blaze using the Hotspot sharing. And Google Talk works just fine. However, GMail and the Google Market/Play Store report that there's no connection after spinning for a long time.
20th April 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Hi, I had the same problem as both of you. I fixed it after root by installing titanium backup, and uninstalling the "tethering manager" after backing it up. This also has solved my problem of the hotspot crashing after enabling it.

You can freeze it instead of uninstalling it too, if you have the pay for version of titanium backup. I would post an outside link to the instructions I used, but I don't have enough posts.
The Following User Says Thank You to dizant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2012, 04:57 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizant

Hi, I had the same problem as both of you. I fixed it after root by installing titanium backup, and uninstalling the "tethering manager" after backing it up. This also has solved my problem of the hotspot crashing after enabling it.

Worked like a charm. Thanks!
21st April 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan
22nd April 2012, 01:37 AM   |  #7  
rbeier1221's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsboredom

i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan

Thanks for that helpful post.

Sent from my MB525 using Tapatalk 2
22nd April 2012, 07:00 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsboredom

i just came from a mytouch4g and I hate the fact that i can't tether unless i pay for the $15 tethering plan

That's strange cause i don't have to pay that and i just have the premium 5gb "unlimited" internet and tethering has always worked.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 09:32 AM   |  #9  
k0nane's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 3,768
 
3,981 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by myorks1127

That's strange cause i don't have to pay that and i just have the premium 5gb "unlimited" internet and tethering has always worked.

On most carriers, tethering won't work on a stock ROM without a hack.
22nd April 2012, 02:22 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Last time T-mobile tried to up-sell me to the 5gb unlimited plan, they touted tethering as a bonus feature of that plan.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes