Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stock camera?

OP noodleyhead

19th April 2012, 07:41 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Actually, the Barcode Scanner app does auto-focus (for me, at least).
20th April 2012, 05:41 AM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Which one are you using? I've tried QR Droid, the Amazon shopping app, and a few others, and none of them are able to focus.

Thanks


Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
20th April 2012, 11:50 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I'm using the app "Barcode Scanner", and Google Goggles works too. But I don't think it matters which app is used.

Are you perhaps using the latest cm7 nightly? Because the latest nightly (20120409) changelog includes this entry: "disable autofocus on camcorder start", and since code readers probably depend on camcorder functionality, it may be the cause.

I'm using RC1 btw, and it seems camcorder does focus as well.
22nd April 2012, 06:49 AM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonizaf

I'm using the app "Barcode Scanner", and Google Goggles works too. But I don't think it matters which app is used.

Are you perhaps using the latest cm7 nightly? Because the latest nightly (20120409) changelog includes this entry: "disable autofocus on camcorder start", and since code readers probably depend on camcorder functionality, it may be the cause.

I'm using RC1 btw, and it seems camcorder does focus as well.


I was using nightlies and went back to rc1, and the camera still wont create clear images of fine details.

Here's an example, in which the barcode and the text are blurry.

Thanks.
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1335070146783.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	1018200


Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
22nd April 2012, 08:58 AM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Don't get me wrong, the camera doesn't focus for me either, just the camcorder (video recording), and barcode apps.
22nd April 2012, 10:03 AM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonizaf

Don't get me wrong, the camera doesn't focus for me either, just the camcorder (video recording), and barcode apps.

If I could get the bar code apps working that would be a great improvement.

Oh well. Guess I'll have to live with it.

Thanks.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes