5,597,762 Members 36,269 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rooted Electrify user here that REALLY WANTS ICS

Tip us?
 
TheCrispytoast
Old
#11  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 109
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricky23 View Post
Yes you need bootstrap. Root your phone, install bootstrap, make nandroid backup in bootstrap , install rom = profit

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk 2
You need an UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER to install a ROM my friend....There are a few decent ROM's that dont require an UL loader, but to get a really nice ROM an unlocked bootloader appears to be greatly needed. I really wish Moto wasn't such a giant douche.
 
phince1
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 112
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IOWA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrispytoast View Post
You were a lot of help so far, and yes I am running stock 2.3.5...I installed cwm, but I have yet to unlock the boot loader, and as you stated, I don't think I'll be doing that anytime soon. But what exactly does unlocking the bootloader do...?

Sent from my Motorola Electrify using XDA
You have cwm installed on a 2.3.5 Electrify with a locked bl??
USC Samsung Galaxy S 3
 
w0lf215
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 395
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by phince1 View Post
You have cwm installed on a 2.3.5 Electrify with a locked bl??
Im sure he's meaning bootstrap in that post.. you can't install custom recovery while locked..
 
TheCrispytoast
Old
#14  
TheCrispytoast's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 109
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0lf215 View Post
Im sure he's meaning bootstrap in that post.. you can't install custom recovery while locked..
Yes, I ment bootstrap.


Also, how does nandroid backups work? Does it backup EVERYTHING? whats the difference in outcome with Titanium backup VS recovery nandroid backups...?
 
zikario507
Old
#15  
zikario507's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 97
Join Date: Dec 2011
i really want ics on my electrify.. but i ve a electgrify 2.3.5 with locked bootloader..

is it possible to do it?
 
moneymakes
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sioux Falls
I run AOKP build 38 on my mopho, it's a little buggy. My advice is to run one of the slimmed down stock ROMS mentioned previously. Wait for the official build, then there will be a bunch of devs making perfectly tuned apps.
The Following User Says Thank You to moneymakes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lokifish Marz
Old
#17  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3088
Posts: 2,842
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olympus Mons, Mars

 
DONATE TO ME
Universal DeBlur-DeBloat Live ROM Conversion is the only ROM that requires root ONLY. It was written to help those that can't even run bootstrap. Think of it as Imperium Initiative without the theme change and custom kernel.
 
zikario507
Old
#18  
zikario507's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 97
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by moneymakes View Post
I run AOKP build 38 on my mopho, it's a little buggy. My advice is to run one of the slimmed down stock ROMS mentioned previously. Wait for the official build, then there will be a bunch of devs making perfectly tuned apps.
ICS is official announcied from motorola to moto electrify?
 
Dark Reality
Old
#19  
Dark Reality's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 180
Posts: 725
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
No, only Photon.

Swyped from my Motorola Electrify using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy S3 / US Cellular / d2usc
 
zikario507
Old
#20  
zikario507's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 97
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Reality View Post
No, only Photon.

Swyped from my Motorola Electrify using Tapatalk

it s a bad notice :S

developers are working to unlock the BL of lectrify

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...