Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,223 Members 52,387 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wireless Tether to A500

Tip us?
 
Gcracker47
Old
(Last edited by Gcracker47; 27th August 2011 at 03:40 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Default Wireless Tether to A500

I have found a fairly easy way to tether the 3g connection on my droid x to my a500. The wireless tether app in the market was not working at all, neither was barnacle.

Attached is the wifi tether app which does work, download and install it on your phone.

Once installed and running; the a500 will see the network and connect to it, but still no internet when the browser is opened.

To fix that: open it and go to menu > settings > Change LAN > and select 192.168.3.0/24.

Hooray, it works; Just in time for a road trip
I hope this is helpful for others.
Attached Files
File Type: apk wifi_tether_v3_0-pre14-1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (358.9 KB, 741 views)
 
OffcerClancy
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 153
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gcracker47 View Post
I have found a fairly easy way to tether the 3g connection on my droid x to my a500. The wireless tether app in the market was not working at all, neither was barnacle.


To fix that: open it and go to menu > settings > Change LAN > and select 192.168.3.0/24.
Thank you for the tip.

Did you try the "Change LAN" fix for thother tether apps? Which phone ROM are you using?
 
Gcracker47
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
For the other tether apps my a500 did not recognize the network at all.

I am using the stock rom for a500;
Justice/liberty & apex for droid x
 
johnQuijote
Old
(Last edited by johnQuijote; 30th August 2011 at 03:59 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gcracker47 View Post
I have found a fairly easy way to tether the 3g connection on my droid x to my a500. The wireless tether app in the market was not working at all, neither was barnacle.

Attached is the wifi tether app which does work, download and install it on your phone.

Once installed and running; the a500 will see the network and connect to it, but still no internet when the browser is opened.

To fix that: open it and go to menu > settings > Change LAN > and select 192.168.3.0/24.

Hooray, it works; Just in time for a road trip
I hope this is helpful for others.
Are you installing this on your droid phone, or your a500? Duh... I read your post more closely... install on the phone. *slaps forehead*

I've got a Samsung Replenish I want to tether to my a500... tips?
 
johnQuijote
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gcracker47 View Post
For the other tether apps my a500 did not recognize the network at all.

I am using the stock rom for a500;
Justice/liberty & apex for droid x
I'm having the same problem; no recognition that they hotspot even exists.

My a500 is rooted, but other than that, it's stock. Did you have to do anything to it?
 
maclif63
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Talking acer inconia 500a wireless tetering galaxy s

my solution is

in Galaxy S settings-wireless connections-use as cellular modem-mobile AP

in Acer Inconia 500 turn ON the wireless - it should recognize the Galaxy S

I use a USB connection between the two to use the 500 battery on the Galaxy S

that's it
 
sRDennyCrane
Old
#7  
sRDennyCrane's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 288
Posts: 846
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: ISIS Headquarters
I just downloaded FoxFi (free app) from the market, had it set up and running on my Razr Maxx in a couple minutes, and it's been problem-free since. No settings on the tablet needed at all. Set your password on the phone, enter it on the A500, good to go.
I'm on Twitter. I never say anything important. @sRDennyCrane
Acer Iconia Tablet A700
Nexus 7 Tablet (2013)
Samsung Galaxy S4


Click For My Nexus 7 Review
The Following User Says Thank You to sRDennyCrane For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
soks3d
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Orleans
Cool, great, works
 
ToStymiedBoar
Old
#9  
ToStymiedBoar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 370
Join Date: Mar 2012
I use Barnacle on my phone and it works fine.
 
internetpilot
Old
#10  
internetpilot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 491
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Florida
This is more dependant on your phone (ROM, kernel, tethering app, etc.) than it is on the A500. I was tethering fine between my A500 and my Sprint HTC Evo 4G until the latest Gingerbread update, where Sprint purposely broke it with the new kernel. Running a non-stock kernel solved that problem for me.

This will continue to resurface as a problem for most phones because the service providers don't want you tethering without paying the extra $ for the feature.
Samsung GALAXY Note II
Samsung GALAXY Note10.1 2014 Edition
Samsung GALAXY S III (x3)
acer Iconia A500
nookcolor (x4)
nook Tablet

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...