Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

*Help* Bricked phone on vacation!

OP Keuka79

22nd April 2012, 07:23 PM   |  #1  
Keuka79's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I am on vacation and my fassy decided to stay in recovery upon boot. It gets stuck in boot loop. I'm running AOKP Build 30 w/ Glitch. My fiance has a macbook with her however, everything I've read says that we can't use Mac for rooting or restoring fassy's. Is there anyway to get out of the boot loop with an option in clockwork. From what I understand we can't use the two button hard boot with ICS roms. I could use some help, I'd rather not be without my phone for a week.

Thanks guys
Last edited by Keuka79; 22nd April 2012 at 07:26 PM.
22nd April 2012, 08:57 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keuka79

I am on vacation and my fassy decided to stay in recovery upon boot. It gets stuck in boot loop. I'm running AOKP Build 30 w/ Glitch. My fiance has a macbook with her however, everything I've read says that we can't use Mac for rooting or restoring fassy's. Is there anyway to get out of the boot loop with an option in clockwork. From what I understand we can't use the two button hard boot with ICS roms. I could use some help, I'd rather not be without my phone for a week.

Thanks guys

Is there anyway to access a Windows computer? With Parallels, VMWare, a virtual computer lab, or something else?

If so, follow http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1238070

If no, Hiemdall http://www.glassechidna.com.au/products/heimdall/

Goodluck
22nd April 2012, 09:36 PM   |  #3  
Keuka79's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Apparently there's no driver for samsung fascinate with mac connectivity. I downloaded Heimall and the full tar package but didn't work. Does anyone know how to generically attatch my phone to the computer. Someone said something about a generic connection as a drive that works with heimall. I'm pretty pissed and can't seem to get this work. I'll pry end up just going down to a lab and hogging that for thirty minutes or so.
22nd April 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 417
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Heimdall has its own driver. It'll be in the driver folder in the suite. Also I'd use an older version of heimdall suite if you can. The newer version tried to streamline things but ended up being a downgrade IMO.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using xda premium
23rd April 2012, 07:37 PM   |  #5  
Keuka79's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I tried to use Heimdall but couldn't locate the driver. I then located a "exitrecovery.zip" that was supposed to be flashed in cwm. I used my gf's phone to download it then switched sd cards and that didn't work. Still stuck in cwm loop. I can't get to a pc where i can download Odin software to. There's no other flashable file i can find to help me get out of this loop.
23rd April 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #6  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
6,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
look at section 9 of my guide...I always keep a cm7 rom on my sd card just incase this happens!
23rd April 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #7  
Keuka79's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Can I flash a cm7 rom if i'm stuck on a cm9 bootloop??
23rd April 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #8  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
6,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keuka79

Can I flash a cm7 rom if i'm stuck on a cm9 bootloop??

READ section 9 of my guide in the general section...
The Following User Says Thank You to droidstyle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 01:35 AM   |  #9  
Keuka79's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidstyle

READ section 9 of my guide in the general section...

Thanks man, I got it to work. I'm surprised I didn't think of that before.

You're a life saver man.
24th April 2012, 02:06 AM   |  #10  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,437
 
6,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
No problem, glad to see you got things back up and running!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes