Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] SD Card after S-OFF!

OP tschmid5

22nd April 2012, 08:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I successfully achieved S-OFF after it strangely rebooted to Amon Ra, where I had to manually reboot by pressing power. Anyway, after the device booted up and everything seemed fine with S-OFF established, I am getting a blank SD card error. I tried to reformat from the device and from the computer but for some reason, my device nor my computer will even recognize my SD card. This is really worrying me as I just purchased a 32GB card recently and now it seems to be completely fried. Is this a known issue??
22nd April 2012, 08:38 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tschmid5

I successfully achieved S-OFF after it strangely rebooted to Amon Ra, where I had to manually reboot by pressing power. Anyway, after the device booted up and everything seemed fine with S-OFF established, I am getting a blank SD card error. I tried to reformat from the device and from the computer but for some reason, my device nor my computer will even recognize my SD card. This is really worrying me as I just purchased a 32GB card recently and now it seems to be completely fried. Is this a known issue??

What happened is that the partition got erased so the computer is not recognizing it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1613448

I used Gparted live CD to make a partition , then reformat it in fat 32 and all is good.
22nd April 2012, 08:43 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh68

What happened is that the partition got erased so the computer is not recognizing it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1613448

I used Gparted live CD to make a partition , then reformat it in fat 32 and all is good.

How do I do this? What is Gparted live CD??
22nd April 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tschmid5

How do I do this? What is Gparted live CD??

Gparted is a linux program and you can dowload it free as an ISO file that your burn onto a CD. Once, you burn it then just put it into your drive and restart your computer and it will boot up into the program . http://www.ehow.com/how_4442619_use-...partition.html

This will help.

otherwise I am sure any partition manager will work.. just google some not sure which are free .
Last edited by mjh68; 22nd April 2012 at 08:58 PM.
22nd April 2012, 09:00 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Also, I was never asked to install their hboot, but still have S OFF. Once it booted to Amon Ra I just pressed reboot and it booted the phone up and controlbear said s-off is already established, exit.... Is this normal?
22nd April 2012, 09:11 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
UPDATE: I just used an SD to USB adapter and plugged it into my computer and just did a quick format to FAT32 and all is well!
22nd April 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tschmid5

UPDATE: I just used an SD to USB adapter and plugged it into my computer and just did a quick format to FAT32 and all is well!

Great ! mine wouldn't do that for some reason only formatted to 108kb lol .
22nd April 2012, 09:48 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Same thing happened to me. I put the SD card in another phone, and formatted it via USB on my computer (win 7). I clicked the device default button when prompted.

edit: Sorry, I lied. I formatted it in the phone. When I did the above it only formatted to 108kb. Doing it in my old droid x restored it back to 14GB.
Last edited by chapter90; 22nd April 2012 at 09:53 PM. Reason: wrong information.
23rd April 2012, 07:26 AM   |  #9  
AndroidGraphix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paradise Valley, AZ
Thanks Meter: 375
 
1,229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh68

Great ! mine wouldn't do that for some reason only formatted to 108kb lol .


Same thing happened to me. Try this SD Format program. It worked great. heck, I had two SD cards that both had about 105k. Both back up to par now.

https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/for...3/eula_windows
23rd April 2012, 12:04 PM   |  #10  
Nopi45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lawton
Thanks Meter: 64
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh68

Great ! mine wouldn't do that for some reason only formatted to 108kb lol .

Mine worked after i got S-OFF i put it back in my phone and reformated after I used another SD to gwt y ROM back up on my phone give that a shot.

Sent from my CleanRom 1.2 DE Rezound S-OFF
Hit thanks if I helped:beer:

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes