FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] 8gb over 16gb

22nd April 2012, 04:43 PM |#1  
grrmisfit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
st. louis
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
so my nook color went belly up on me.. my geek squad warranty got me a full replacement or exchange for an upgrade. so i took upgrade.. but i did little to no research as i had expected them to just fix it.. so asking the sales rep when isaw the tablets i asked " whats the diff from the 8gb to 16gb" his reply "storage space" .. now i come home head to xda only to find out theres a ram difference.. question is.. is there a huge difference in the ram usage? do any android apps really need more then 512 ram? or should i just fork over the extra 50 bucks and get the 16gb
 
 
22nd April 2012, 04:59 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag it never rains here
Thanks Meter: 218
 
More
my two cents worth, pay the fifty to get the sixteen . . .
22nd April 2012, 04:59 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 322
 
More
If you ask me, the extra $50 is worth it. You have double the storage and double the RAM. In addition, development on the 16GB model is further along and you'd have more choices of ROMs and get better support if you're stuck. This is just my opinion though.
22nd April 2012, 05:27 PM |#4  
Cubanluke88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 317
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar.Plexus

If you ask me, the extra $50 is worth it. You have double the storage and double the RAM. In addition, development on the 16GB model is further along and you'd have more choices of ROMs and get better support if you're stuck. This is just my opinion though.

+1 to this
22nd April 2012, 07:00 PM |#5  
grrmisfit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
st. louis
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
just left best buy with my new 16gb lol.. 73 bucks more including an anything goes warranty
22nd April 2012, 09:22 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag it never rains here
Thanks Meter: 218
 
More
twenty four bucks for 'peace of mind', aye. . well you'll sleep better at night. . but the h/w and construction seems to be 'very good' quality.
.
i've had mine for five months, so now i want to crack it open and see what's inside ! . it's a curse having the curiosity of a little kid... ( still )
22nd April 2012, 09:49 PM |#7  
tmjohnsonfse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 147
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by old_fart

twenty four bucks for 'peace of mind', aye. . well you'll sleep better at night. . but the h/w and construction seems to be 'very good' quality.
.
i've had mine for five months, so now i want to crack it open and see what's inside ! . it's a curse having the curiosity of a little kid... ( still )

Watch Adam's video cracking it open the XDA way. It was very well made and took the curiousity from the cat....atleast for me it did.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wA1vQiDW9Ms
22nd April 2012, 11:19 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag it never rains here
Thanks Meter: 218
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmjohnsonfse

Watch Adam's video cracking it open the XDA way. It was very well made and took the curiousity from the cat....atleast for me it did.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wA1vQiDW9Ms

yeah, very cool, and what ARE THOSE mystery connectors and chip pads on the circuit board ? ? ? . hmmm, can we wire in a gps & bluetooth chip for ourselves ? ? ? . . i'm game !
.
and the first half of the video is blurry on purpose to protect himself from the nook lawyers ? ? ? . . . . . you know the joke about sharks and lawyers, right ?
23rd April 2012, 01:59 AM |#9  
grrmisfit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
st. louis
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
im using the same sd card loaded cm7 so i havent even gone into the registering process on it. should i register it with BN or just take it to BN have them repartition it and flash away>?
23rd April 2012, 02:33 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag it never rains here
Thanks Meter: 218
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grrmisfit

should i register it with BN

always register your stuff. . that way, they get to spam you for the rest of your life. no, seriously, its for the warantee, right ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by grrmisfit

or just take it to BN have them repartition it and flash away>?

i am sorry... i don't understand what you said...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes