Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Any good place to sell my GS2 i777?

OP EternalPal

22nd April 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I have one I do not use due to it being GSM and want to get rid of to buy a one I can actually use[Galaxy nexus CDMA].

I put the listing on Ebay[expired],Craigslist and Swappa. I would try the XDA forum as ive been told but there I cannot post there due to the new restrictions. Can you help out XDA?
Last edited by EternalPal; 23rd April 2012 at 12:01 AM.
22nd April 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #2  
gsrrr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 197
 
522 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalPal

I have one I do not use due to it being CDMAand want to get rid of to buy a one I can actually use[Galaxy nexus GSM].

I put the listing on Ebay[expired],Craigslist and Swappa. I would try the XDA forum as ive been told but there I cannot post there due to the new restrictions. Can you help out XDA?

you have a cdma i777?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
22nd April 2012, 09:10 PM   |  #3  
dirtbikerr450's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 119
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrrr

you have a cdma i777?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk

i think he means a wcdma?

try ebay instasale
http://instantsale.ebay.com/offer/Sa...xy-S-II/37137/
22nd April 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbikerr450

i think he means a wcdma?

try ebay instasale
http://instantsale.ebay.com/offer/Sa...xy-S-II/37137/

yes sorry WCDMA , and they only give me 137.80 for it :/ not enough for a used galaxy.
22nd April 2012, 10:51 PM   |  #5  
quarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tooele, UT
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I'm confused what the GSM galaxy nexus will offer over the GS II. Don't they both use the same HSPA+ / WCDMA frequencies, if you get the GSM version?

Regardless I think you will be extremely lucky if you can find a way to swap a Galaxy S II for a Galaxy Nexus. If you ever do find a way that by some miracle gets you a GSM Galaxy Nexus for a i777 straight over, do let us know.

XDA does have a marketplace forum for buying, selling, and trading.

Sent from my Galaxy S II (i777)
22nd April 2012, 10:59 PM   |  #6  
dirtbikerr450's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 119
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Here you go
http://www.gazelle.com/catalog/cell-...77/477464-gpid
22nd April 2012, 11:10 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by quarlow

I'm confused what the GSM galaxy nexus will offer over the GS II. Don't they both use the same HSPA+ / WCDMA frequencies, if you get the GSM version?

Regardless I think you will be extremely lucky if you can find a way to swap a Galaxy S II for a Galaxy Nexus. If you ever do find a way that by some miracle gets you a GSM Galaxy Nexus for a i777 straight over, do let us know.

XDA does have a marketplace forum for buying, selling, and trading.

Sent from my Galaxy S II (i777)


I don't have a CDMA network to use the phone right now its just sitting there. I have verizon thus my need for a GSM phone. I know it does but with the new restrictions I cannot post or even look at the forum :/
22nd April 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Michigan
Thanks Meter: 65
 
285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I think your confused. You cant use any GSM phone on Verizon. Unless maybe its unlocked? Verizon is CDMA. Along with Sprint. GSM can be used with ATT and T Mobile. i777 is for ATT. Unless you have the International version i9100. Then you should be able to put a T Mobile sim in it.
Last edited by REOGrand; 22nd April 2012 at 11:37 PM.
22nd April 2012, 11:52 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by REOGrand

I think your confused. You cant use any GSM phone on Verizon. Unless maybe its unlocked? Verizon is CDMA. Along with Sprint. GSM can be used with ATT and T Mobile. i777 is for ATT. Unless you have the International version i9100. Then you should be able to put a T Mobile sim in it.


Wait a second, so your saying I CAN use my i777 on verizon?its the AT&T model. I was told by AT&T that i cannot use this phone on verizon.

Edit: Nvm. So I need to purchase a verizon nexus. Ok. well I guess I still need to sale this phone.
Last edited by EternalPal; 23rd April 2012 at 12:06 AM.
23rd April 2012, 01:19 AM   |  #10  
quarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tooele, UT
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalPal

Wait a second, so your saying I CAN use my i777 on verizon?its the AT&T model. I was told by AT&T that i cannot use this phone on verizon.

Edit: Nvm. So I need to purchase a verizon nexus. Ok. well I guess I still need to sale this phone.

Yes, you need a CDMA/LTE Galaxy Nexus for Verizon. The i777 will not work on Verizon.

None of AT&T's LTE phones will work on Verizon, even if unlocked. What AT&T calls 4G that isn't LTE, their HSPA+, is also referred to as WCDMA, plus their 3G is called WCDMA, but its not CDMA like Verizon or Sprint. If that wasn't confusing enough both AT&T and Verizon use 700 MHz LTE, but they are not using the same section of the 700 range so they are not interoperable. Unlike EDGE (2G) that is interopeable on AT&T vs T-Mobile. And some regions of AT&T and T-Mobile use the same 3G frequencies, so some 3G phones have limited functionality on both GSM networks.

Basic rule of thumb, for best results get a phone specifically made for your carrier.
Last edited by quarlow; 23rd April 2012 at 01:22 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes