Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Does flashing back to stock affect T-mobile modem?

OP winky0403

21st April 2012, 07:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I've flashed a T-mobile modem and using with the HSPA+ for awhile, however the Saurom ROM I'm using has some bugs like I can't reboot my phone properly and I sometimes lost signals, so my question is: if I want to flash my Note back to stock android, am I gonna lose the capability of using the HSPA+ which I'm using right now? Is there any ROM you would recommend that would be stable for the Note and still have the T-mobile modem enabled? Please give me an answer because I've been confused with this for awhile. God bless you all...
22nd April 2012, 11:19 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Question
Anybody? Please?
23rd April 2012, 01:06 AM   |  #3  
deliriousbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 53
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
I'm using Saurom 7.1 and ICS theme on,Blaze modem and its been running great. It isn't as fast speedwise compared to my Amaze 4g but stable and fast.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note SGH-i717 using XDA Premium App on T-Mobile
23rd April 2012, 01:55 AM   |  #4  
Coffinfeeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 160
 
606 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by winky0403

I've flashed a T-mobile modem and using with the HSPA+ for awhile, however the Saurom ROM I'm using has some bugs like I can't reboot my phone properly and I sometimes lost signals, so my question is: if I want to flash my Note back to stock android, am I gonna lose the capability of using the HSPA+ which I'm using right now? Is there any ROM you would recommend that would be stable for the Note and still have the T-mobile modem enabled? Please give me an answer because I've been confused with this for awhile. God bless you all...

You will probably have to reflash the tmo modem. But it might still be there as others have had non-stock modems that were still there even after flashing a stock tar file.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
23rd April 2012, 02:14 AM   |  #5  
Sleef's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 62
 
389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Best way to be sure would be to flash the stock radio. Though, it would be nice to know if using Odin will put EVERYTHING back to stock.

I'll bet the answer exists on the forum already but it's a good question, regardless.

Sent from my exotic rain dance using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Sleef For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 02:18 AM   |  #6  
Sleef's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 62
 
389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Oops. Read the question wrong. So far as i know, once you flash a radio, it's there forever. Unless you flash a new one. Depending on how someone makes their ROM, this could change, but I'm betting that most of the devs aren't worried about forcibly making the people flashing their **** switch modems.

Sent from my sensual box of ferrets using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Sleef For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 06:29 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Yes you will. I noticed that when i installed the at&t stock Rom

Sent from my SGH-I717R using XDA
25th April 2012, 08:19 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleef

Oops. Read the question wrong. So far as i know, once you flash a radio, it's there forever. Unless you flash a new one. Depending on how someone makes their ROM, this could change, but I'm betting that most of the devs aren't worried about forcibly making the people flashing their **** switch modems.

Sent from my sensual box of ferrets using xda premium

thanks for sharing. I've heard some infos about flashing back to stock could affect the radio, but I feel relieved when I saw this.
25th April 2012, 12:29 PM   |  #9  
jayRokk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rack City
Thanks Meter: 2,226
 
3,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Dont worry about the modem in GB just flash it and it'll work

all ive heard is that the "ICS leak" doesnt play well with TMO modem
but idk to be honest

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes