Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Phone constantly not sending texts

OP wyckedsyko

22nd April 2012, 07:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Like my phone is constantly giving me the text could not be sent. atleast 1 out of 5 times in my room. I have 1-3bars almost always 3. Anything I can do to fix this? I am using stock messenger app. I am rooted if that matters. No custom rom running.
22nd April 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #2  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita KS
Thanks Meter: 273
 
1,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Is this a Verizon phone on their service?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #3  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita KS
Thanks Meter: 273
 
1,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
An XT862 I assume?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 09:38 PM   |  #4  
slayer621's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyckedsyko

Like my phone is constantly giving me the text could not be sent. atleast 1 out of 5 times in my room. I have 1-3bars almost always 3. Anything I can do to fix this? I am using stock messenger app. I am rooted if that matters. No custom rom running.

Does it send fine in places that are NOT your room? I know my house was made with stucco (I think) and the metal grid that had to be laid down to spray the stucco on causes me to get virtually no signal. Moving outside, I get full bars.
22nd April 2012, 10:06 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I would call *228 (assuming you're on VZW) and select option 1. Then call back after and select 2. This has helped me before (way back in my LG Dare days).
22nd April 2012, 11:30 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 326
 
1,338 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyckedsyko

Like my phone is constantly giving me the text could not be sent. atleast 1 out of 5 times in my room. I have 1-3bars almost always 3. Anything I can do to fix this? I am using stock messenger app. I am rooted if that matters. No custom rom running.

Bars aren't always a good indicator of signal. Settings->About phone->Status - look at "Signal strength". If you are more negative than about -100 dBm, you do not have a very good signal.
23rd April 2012, 01:07 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogald

Bars aren't always a good indicator of signal. Settings->About phone->Status - look at "Signal strength". If you are more negative than about -100 dBm, you do not have a very good signal.

Personally, this is why I like a ROM to have text signal display. The difference between -100 and -110 is incredible.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes