Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,721 Members 52,119 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

how do you make your phone go into a deep sleep?

Tip us?
 
flipnotiq
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 148
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default how do you make your phone go into a deep sleep?

ive seen people saying about deep sleep how do you do it? sorry for a noob question.
 
xcrazydx
Old
#2  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2195
Posts: 6,305
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
It's automatic. When you lock the screen it should go into deep sleep. Download cpu spy to check cpu states
The Following User Says Thank You to xcrazydx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flipnotiq
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 148
Join Date: Dec 2010
so basically to save you battery . should i use JD?
 
blackangst
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 1,294
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipnotiq View Post
so basically to save you battery . should i use JD?
No need to use Jack Daniels to put your phone into deep sleep. (I dunno what you mean by use JD lol)

Most ROMS, including 100% unrooted stock will use deep sleep.
The Following User Says Thank You to blackangst For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SupaKid
Old
(Last edited by SupaKid; 21st April 2012 at 09:35 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 597
Join Date: May 2010
^^^^^^^ - Bahahaha!

I read the Thread title and started laffing immediately.
========================

Just smash your phone against a wall to make it go into eternal deep sleep, mate.
========================

I believe the chap means 'Juice Defender.' Make sure you don't have apps keeping your phone awake, too.
 
xcrazydx
Old
#6  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2195
Posts: 6,305
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipnotiq View Post
so basically to save you battery . should i use JD?
Right, deep sleep is a battery saving state when phone is not in use. JD makes a smartphone dumb by disabling the radios. It generally uses more battery than it saves. I don't use, nor recommend JD(Have tried it though, and quickly realized it ruins a smartphone and makes no difference in life). However, some people still seem to think it's some great gift from God, but they are mistaken. A simple script to UV and UC/OC can take care of all your battery saving needs. Or if you can't manage to run a script use system tuner to do these things.

If you are planning on running an ICS rom you cannot not UV or OC until kernel source is released, though. You can UC it
The Following User Says Thank You to xcrazydx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Master&Slave™
Old
#7  
Master&Slave™'s Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2837
Posts: 3,162
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Turn the power off lol

Nah I usually close all apps and cached ones as well. No oc UV apps either

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Join one of our groups by clicking the links below:

Facebook or Google+
__________________________
 
suaverc118
Old
#8  
suaverc118's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1264
Posts: 4,633
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Slave™ View Post
Turn the power off lol

Nah I usually close all apps and cached ones as well. No oc UV apps either

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Is there a special way to close those apps??

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda
 
SupaKid
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 597
Join Date: May 2010
Like this:

Settings > Applications > Running Services.

Press Menu, and select Show cached processes (you don't have a choice, really).

Now select whichever processes you want and stop them.

Say, M&S, is it ok to stop ALL of those cached processes?
 
blackangst
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 1,294
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by suaverc118 View Post
Is there a special way to close those apps??

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda
Put the application monitor widget somewhere on your home screen, open it up, and exit all apps.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA

The Following User Says Thank You to blackangst For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes