Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Should i worry about one reboot on my Sensation?

OP Prenihility

23rd April 2012, 01:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Allright, i've owned my Sensation for several weeks now. Today, i sent a text, and as soon as i went back to the home menu, the phone turned itself off, and rebooted. It was a pi**-off, for sure, and now im worried.

I've done some research, and apparently (correct me if im wrong) it's because of too much RAM usage. However, i set the phone to notify me when free RAM is less than 50MB, and it never did. It just pulled an auto-reboot on me.

Should i worry about this? Is it normal; basically 100% guaranteed that it is because of low RAM?

Which leads me to this: I ALWAYS questioned all the things i had running at the same time. That's probably the only thing i don't like about the phone. Things start automatically. I have an EQ program, Groove IP, and the Music Player running at the same time. I don't understand why the phone won't just close apps if they aren't in use... Or at least if there was a more streamlined way of closing apps. Not going into Settings,Apps,Manage Apps, Running... That's pretty stupid, if you ask me... If there are alternate/better methods, i'd like to know them.


Back to the point, though. Should i worry about this reboot? And, what exactly is the cause/is it RAM usage?
23rd April 2012, 02:28 AM   |  #2  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 4,036
 
5,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Do not worry unless it becomes a persistant problem.

And even then do not worry because it can probably be fixed as long as its a software issue and not a hardware problem.

And free ram isnt a big deal with android. If you use it, you will use up all your ram quickly. But android will kick things not in active use out of ram when apps in use need more ram. Having free ram is actually a waste.

Sent from a rebel ship by storing the message in an R2 unit. (Help me, XDA. You're my only hope)
23rd April 2012, 07:22 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Oh, ok...If it's a one-time thing, then i won't worry about it. However, i'd still like to know the cause of it.

Why does this happen?
23rd April 2012, 10:43 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Did your phone feel warm or hot when it switched off?

Okay, this thing about RAM is one of the biggest misconceptions I think a lot of people have regarding Android. Android doesn't use RAM like Windows. On Android, RAM usage is a good thing. It means that when you want to reload an application, it does it quickly. In other words, RAM unused is just RAM wasted on Android. And the other thing is, apps running in the background do not consume resources unless they also have background processes running as well. The other thing is that Android will automatically kill off certain processes when your RAM is low. So yea. You don't have to worry about RAM.

If you're worried about the crap that comes preinstalled with the phone, you might want to consider rooting and removing all those apps though.
The Following User Says Thank You to hunter890 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:37 PM   |  #5  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 4,036
 
5,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prenihility

Oh, ok...If it's a one-time thing, then i won't worry about it. However, i'd still like to know the cause of it.

Why does this happen?

Are you using an app killer to monitor your free ram?

That could easily be the cause. Sometimes those app killers will kill the wrong things and force a reboot.

You're better off dumping apps killers altogether. They work counter productively to the way Linux operates.
23rd April 2012, 08:59 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Yeah, i kill processes/apps in the settings menu, don't use any downloaded/third party apps for that purpose.

I guess i'll stop doing that...

HOWEVER, i still don't like how, for example, once i sign into Groove IP for the first time, it will stay signed in. Every consecutive time i go to use the phone again, it signs in automatically... After it wakes up from sleep mode, it will sign into Groove IP, and load things like the EQ program i use. I won't worry too much about the EQ, but other apps like Groove IP that are connected to some sort of signal, i don't want automatically running... Is it really not safe to just terminate a process in task manager?

Finally, on to the subject of reboots...Since owning the phone for...I don't know...A few weeks now? I've only actually turned it off/rebooted once...

Did that contribute to the random reboot? Was that not a good move, on my part, to pretty much always keep the phone on (although in sleep mode when not in use, of course...) ?
23rd April 2012, 09:21 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 235
 
1,270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prenihility


Finally, on to the subject of reboots...Since owning the phone for...I don't know...A few weeks now? I've only actually turned it off/rebooted once...

Did that contribute to the random reboot? Was that not a good move, on my part, to pretty much always keep the phone on (although in sleep mode when not in use, of course...) ?

Yeah it could have. Try reboot the day every week at the bare minimum. Ideally, I'd suggest rebooting every 4 days or so.
23rd April 2012, 09:51 PM   |  #8  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 4,036
 
5,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prenihility

Yeah, i kill processes/apps in the settings menu, don't use any downloaded/third party apps for that purpose.

I guess i'll stop doing that...

HOWEVER, i still don't like how, for example, once i sign into Groove IP for the first time, it will stay signed in. Every consecutive time i go to use the phone again, it signs in automatically... After it wakes up from sleep mode, it will sign into Groove IP, and load things like the EQ program i use. I won't worry too much about the EQ, but other apps like Groove IP that are connected to some sort of signal, i don't want automatically running... Is it really not safe to just terminate a process in task manager?

If you are manually killing an app that's causing problems / pissing you off / or because you just don't like it's face, then no. That's okay. It's the automated app killers that kill everything as soon as you close them and then keep killing and killing like battle droids gone berserk that you want to avoid. It's that constant killing, which means an app restart and power usage, that will drain battery. And being unmonitored they can kill the wrong things that cause system instability.

But if you have 1 app that's bothering you you can kill it through the apps menu. That's normal.

The bigger problem is an app that constantly turns itself on like that. I hate those. There should be an option in the app settings to prevent that from happening. If there isn't, it's a bad app no matter how well it does what it's supposed to do.
23rd April 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #9  
Asa2303's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
You can use gemini app manager to change autorun settings for each app individually and autokiller memory optimizer to change the preset android memory limits so your phone automatically closes apps itself a little bit sooner.

Both are free apps but require root.

Gemini is really good. Certain apps start just because you received a text or plugged your usb in. Or your signal changed. I put a stop to that straight away!! Just don't change the settings for system apps.

sent from my Sensation XE
12th May 2012, 09:08 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Happened again... Alright, im being irritated by this restarting problem... My phone was just idle, i haven't touched it for hours. It was next to me on my desk, and i heard/felt the vibration upon restart.

Should i call my service provider for a replacement? This is ridiculous... I didn't get this thing expecting it to restart on me.

The Following User Says Thank You to Prenihility For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes