Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,721 Members 51,524 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

nokia lumia 710 and simple mobile.

Tip us?
 
antrax360
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default nokia lumia 710 and simple mobile.

Whats up guys so i recently decided to buy this nokia 710. when i popped my sim in no way to get the internet working. Any suggestions!?
 
dazza9075
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 442
Posts: 2,785
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glasgow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrax360 View Post
Whats up guys so i recently decided to buy this nokia 710. when i popped my sim in no way to get the internet working. Any suggestions!?
you need to run the connection setup wizard, or add the Nokia APN directly

not sure if the wizard is available to Nokia given its an HTC app but adding the APN is dead easy

what network you on?
 
Kaiser137
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2012
If you go to your marketplace and under nokia collections, there is a nokia app called Network Setup. Install that so everytime you put in asim, it'll automatically download the APN settings for your carrier.
 
antrax360
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser137 View Post
If you go to your marketplace and under nokia collections, there is a nokia app called Network Setup. Install that so everytime you put in asim, it'll automatically download the APN settings for your carrier.
ive been looking for that app but is not there
 
antrax360
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazza9075 View Post
you need to run the connection setup wizard, or add the Nokia APN directly

not sure if the wizard is available to Nokia given its an HTC app but adding the APN is dead easy

what network you on?
simple mobile
 
dazza9075
Old
#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 442
Posts: 2,785
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glasgow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrax360 View Post
simple mobile
Ok,
go to settings
then mobile network (might be called cellular)
at the bottom click edit or add APN

APN = Simple
username=
password=
proxy=
port =

click the tick

that should get you on the internet but im not sure if MMS will work, it should do...
 
Kaiser137
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrax360 View Post
ive been looking for that app but is not there
That's strange, considering you have a nokia phone.
 
antrax360
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazza9075 View Post
Ok,
go to settings
then mobile network (might be called cellular)
at the bottom click edit or add APN

APN = Simple
username=
password=
proxy=
port =

click the tick

that should get you on the internet but im not sure if MMS will work, it should do...
that doesnt work i already tried.
 
Kaiser137
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2012
Have you contacted Simple Mobile?
 
antrax360
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser137 View Post
Have you contacted Simple Mobile?
yeah they couldnt help cuz windows devices are not supported by them. Funny thing i noticed even though i cant access the internet every now and then i would get emails or notifications from facebook or whatsapp. wifi off, also the 4g icon is always there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...