Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Trying to root friends phone

OP Hafford

22nd April 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #1  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I am trying to root my buddies phone and I can't get temp-root. When I try to run the root.bat it will either get stuck in bootloader or I will get superuser permissions (#) but i still get permission denied. I type adb push misc_version /data/local/ and that works fine but then when I try to run adb shell /data/local/ -s 1.10.651.2 I get permission denied. I have tried to also run tacoroot and zergRush and all will give me su (#) but none with give me permission to change the misc_version? any help would be greatly appreciated!
22nd April 2012, 05:52 AM   |  #2  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 828
 
4,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Why are trying to temp root ?? It's pointless imo. Just root the normal way and make a backup/nandroid of your current rom and keep a copy on your SD and one on your pc/laptop


#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
22nd April 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #3  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I am trying to temproot cause it is still on the hboot 1.50 s-on so i still need to downgrade it to hboot 1.40 so I can use revolutionary's root
22nd April 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #4  
closeone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,463
 
1,096 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hafford

I am trying to temproot cause it is still on the hboot 1.50 s-on so i still need to downgrade it to hboot 1.40 so I can use revolutionary's root

You no longer need to TempRoot manually. Full downgrade instructions are in post #3 of the link in my signature or inside Unknownforce's thread. They should help speed things up immensely.

~co~
The Following User Says Thank You to closeone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:14 AM   |  #5  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by closeone

You no longer need to TempRoot manually. Full downgrade instructions are in post #3 of the link in my signature or inside Unknownforce's thread. They should help speed things up immensely.

~co~

Thanks I was using the same method I had used when i rooted my phone.....you are the one who came up with the bootable cd aren't you? I appreciate all of the work you guys do. all of you guys are amazing. thanks for making it possible for us normal folks to get rooted phones!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Hafford For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:21 AM   |  #6  
closeone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,463
 
1,096 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hafford

Thanks I was using the same method I had used when i rooted my phone.....you are the one who came up with the bootable cd aren't you? I appreciate all of the work you guys do. all of you guys are amazing. thanks for making it possible for us normal folks to get rooted phones!!!!!

Yes I am. Thanks Hafford. I appreciate the kind words a whole lot.

As always, a huge shoutout goes out to Unknownforce for making it possible to downgrade the EVO 3D CDMA.

~co~
The Following User Says Thank You to closeone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:21 AM   |  #7  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 828
 
4,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Would definitely recommend the downgrade method.

#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
The Following User Says Thank You to laie1472 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 07:04 AM   |  #8  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Thanks guys i will definately give the new method a try
23rd April 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #9  
honorlost84's Avatar
Senior Member
lapeer
Thanks Meter: 10
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Remember to update the radio. And fully activate the phone before flashing a Rom. And make sure the data works too. Saves headaches

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes