FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Trying to root friends phone

22nd April 2012, 04:50 AM |#1  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I am trying to root my buddies phone and I can't get temp-root. When I try to run the root.bat it will either get stuck in bootloader or I will get superuser permissions (#) but i still get permission denied. I type adb push misc_version /data/local/ and that works fine but then when I try to run adb shell /data/local/ -s 1.10.651.2 I get permission denied. I have tried to also run tacoroot and zergRush and all will give me su (#) but none with give me permission to change the misc_version? any help would be greatly appreciated!
 
 
22nd April 2012, 04:52 AM |#2  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 829
 
More
Why are trying to temp root ?? It's pointless imo. Just root the normal way and make a backup/nandroid of your current rom and keep a copy on your SD and one on your pc/laptop


#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
22nd April 2012, 04:56 AM |#3  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I am trying to temproot cause it is still on the hboot 1.50 s-on so i still need to downgrade it to hboot 1.40 so I can use revolutionary's root
22nd April 2012, 05:08 AM |#4  
closeone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,464
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hafford

I am trying to temproot cause it is still on the hboot 1.50 s-on so i still need to downgrade it to hboot 1.40 so I can use revolutionary's root

You no longer need to TempRoot manually. Full downgrade instructions are in post #3 of the link in my signature or inside Unknownforce's thread. They should help speed things up immensely.

~co~
The Following User Says Thank You to closeone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 05:14 AM |#5  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by closeone

You no longer need to TempRoot manually. Full downgrade instructions are in post #3 of the link in my signature or inside Unknownforce's thread. They should help speed things up immensely.

~co~

Thanks I was using the same method I had used when i rooted my phone.....you are the one who came up with the bootable cd aren't you? I appreciate all of the work you guys do. all of you guys are amazing. thanks for making it possible for us normal folks to get rooted phones!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Hafford For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 05:21 AM |#6  
closeone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,464
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hafford

Thanks I was using the same method I had used when i rooted my phone.....you are the one who came up with the bootable cd aren't you? I appreciate all of the work you guys do. all of you guys are amazing. thanks for making it possible for us normal folks to get rooted phones!!!!!

Yes I am. Thanks Hafford. I appreciate the kind words a whole lot.

As always, a huge shoutout goes out to Unknownforce for making it possible to downgrade the EVO 3D CDMA.

~co~
The Following User Says Thank You to closeone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 05:21 AM |#7  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 829
 
More
Would definitely recommend the downgrade method.

#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
The Following User Says Thank You to laie1472 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:04 AM |#8  
Hafford's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Thanks guys i will definately give the new method a try
23rd April 2012, 01:39 AM |#9  
honorlost84's Avatar
Senior Member
lapeer
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Remember to update the radio. And fully activate the phone before flashing a Rom. And make sure the data works too. Saves headaches

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes