Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TOOL] WP7 Easy Backup Tool (BETA)

OP MarcHoover

20th April 2012, 01:16 PM   |  #181  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Ok, so I have a Optimus 7/E900, and received the dreaded memory problem error. I made a backup and send it to LG, who have (hopefully) repaired it. But now when I try to restore the backup it fails with the error code 801812E0. I can't even find it on the internet. Says it can't restore the backup. What has happened? What's wrong, what am I doing wrong? Has the device ID changed?
21st April 2012, 04:57 AM   |  #182  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,766
 
5,810 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Did you get exactly the same device, with the same hardware in it, returned? Most "repairs" are flat-out replacements, sometimes only of affected components but sometimes of the whole device.
21st April 2012, 03:28 PM   |  #183  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Well, I don't know. The case looks the same, I left the sticker at the back and it is still there. They have added a sticker saying it was repaired...

So if they have replaced anything I don't have a chance?

Btw. the brightness sensor doesn't work anymore. Well done, LG. lol.
21st April 2012, 04:43 PM   |  #184  
derausgewanderte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadajawi

Well, I don't know. The case looks the same, I left the sticker at the back and it is still there. They have added a sticker saying it was repaired...

So if they have replaced anything I don't have a chance?

Btw. the brightness sensor doesn't work anymore. Well done, LG. lol.

the problem error was posted on the net before many times (not sure what search engine you use - I suggest you change that ): here is a link from the ms apphub:
http://forums.create.msdn.com/forums...91/530573.aspx
others:
http://support.t-mobile.com/message/38564
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1532709
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...5-ecd951db5811
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1461860

did you make the backup on a different OS version than what the phone is on right now? E.g. you made the backup on 7.10.8107.79, but the device is currently only on 7720? Another possibility is a change in the firmware version or radio version of the rom. In summary, reading other posts with this particular error code means you would have to either discard the backup or start with a fresh manufacturer rom and update to the os version at which you made the backup (this seemed to have worked for a few, but I doubt this will work under your circumstances).

and as gooddaytodie suggested, check the device id from your backup and what your device has at the moment:
should look like this: 56b5a2d7 - 5320bd2b - 21c71ed1 - 04fd077b
cheers
Last edited by derausgewanderte; 21st April 2012 at 05:33 PM.
22nd April 2012, 09:18 AM   |  #185  
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 89
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Was able to take backup for Lumia 710 using this.
Didn't try restore though :P

Thanks for you hardwork mate...be on it
22nd April 2012, 07:22 PM   |  #186  
Junior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodDayToDie

1. Not at all. Dev-unlock is only relevant for installing homebrew on the phone; this is a PC app.

2. It's actually more likely to work for a stock ROM than a custom ROM. This uses functionality built into the stock ROMs (but which is broken on some custom ROMs).

3. It'll work on any Windows phone (unless it has a custom ROM that breaks updateability). It uses no device-specific code of any kind. Anything from the Venue Pro to the Lumia 900 should work fine.

+1 Thanks buddy!
22nd April 2012, 07:27 PM   |  #187  
AdryJay's Avatar
Member
Flag Sorrento
Thanks Meter: 3
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Succesfully backupped and restored one Nokia Lumia 710 and one Samsung Omnia W wich preserves the Interop-Unlock! ;D
23rd April 2012, 02:43 AM   |  #188  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
i was able to get this to work. sort of.

I goot to 100% with the tool. but my screen on my Focus was stuck at the USB screen where it basically meant do not unplug. it was here for a good 20 minutes. so I removed the battery. when it rebooted, it when back to this screen. I had to hard reset my phone. it would not get past a black screen. it showed the Samsung logo then black screen. I did a hard reset at least 6 times. I even removed the sd card I had, the sim, did a hard reset with both options. nothing.
I replaced the sim and sd card, did a hard reset and just left it sit. we went to ikea and about 7 hours later when I returned, it cam back up to the initial setup screen.

I quickly when through the setup. opened zune and associated the phone with the app. the restore was there. it restored with no issue.
it was scary at first, but I had faith. I m not sure if this has happened to others. I would like to know
23rd April 2012, 07:27 AM   |  #189  
Peperm1nt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Matewan
Thanks Meter: 185
 
584 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just making sure, This is a full backup right? So if I were to restore using this, It would restore EVERYTHING! Like system version and all? But regardless, I got a 100% Backup and Reboot(no errors) on the Spark_W/HTC Trophy Verizon. Haven't restored yet however.

Also, if this isnt just app and app data backups(will only restore app and app data) What is suggested for this?

Thanks for the work.
23rd April 2012, 07:14 PM   |  #190  
Senior Member
Flag Someplace in CT
Thanks Meter: 150
 
1,573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peperm1nt

Just making sure, This is a full backup right? So if I were to restore using this, It would restore EVERYTHING! Like system version and all? But regardless, I got a 100% Backup and Reboot(no errors) on the Spark_W/HTC Trophy Verizon. Haven't restored yet however.

Also, if this isnt just app and app data backups(will only restore app and app data) What is suggested for this?

Thanks for the work.

THe newest version of Zune (that this is based off of) backups up everything but your media (music and videos)

Nice little app, works well on my fully up to date (8107)Interop unlocked Verizon HTC Trophy. I did a backup and restoring a old backup, appears to go fine. Edit: Restore worked fine, testing another backup that I was not sure on.

Requests.
1. A conformation popup or something saying it completed fine. When I did the backup, it went to 100% but, just went back to 0. I had to double check the logs to make sure it completed fine.
2. A way to browse to find a backup to restore. I have about 5 backups at different times, moving them every time I need to go back is a pain.

Dont change too much, I like it, very simple and sweet.

Edit: I learned a big lesson today with zune and backups... I restored my first image (when I first got the phone) build 7389 to see what was on it. Then I tried to restore 8107, nope, it failed. I had to upgrade it to 7392>7403>7720>7740 before I could restore it. A 20 min restore took like 2 hours
Last edited by DavidinCT; 23rd April 2012 at 11:50 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes