Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Solved!/CWM] Unable to Enter Recovery (Showcase)

OP Akkeresu

23rd April 2012, 02:44 AM   |  #1  
Akkeresu's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
[SCH-I500, Android 4.0.4, IcyGlitch V14 B6]

[EDIT: Solved! Bug within Gummy v1 on Showcase and Mezmerize. Configure ROM Manager and reboot recovery for workaround.]

Here's the short version: In Gummy v1.0.0, using the power menu, I am unable to enter recovery. According to Droidstyle's guide, using the 3 finger method is not to be done once on ICS, as it will cause bootloops. "adb reboot recovery" will not work either.

Alrighty, here's what I've done so far to my Showcase from CSpire:

1. Restored my stock ODIN file, which is EI20.
2. ODIN'ed CWM4 Fixed for CM7
3. 3-fingered into recovery
4. Installed ICS Hacksung Build 2
5. Installed ICS Gummy and GApps 3/17
6. Used for about 2-3 weeks, with a few tweaks.
7. Attempted to nandroid, unable to enter recovery.


So, I'm not sure if I should re-flash recovery via ODIN/Heimdall, attempt to replace the recovery.img via shell, or if there's a different method.

Does anyone have an idea about how to fix this problem?
Last edited by Akkeresu; 23rd April 2012 at 03:56 PM. Reason: Solved!
23rd April 2012, 04:25 AM   |  #2  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,435
 
6,189 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
th
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkeresu

[SCH-I500, Android 4.0.4, IcyGlitch V14 B6]

Here's the short version: In Gummy v1.0.0, using the power menu, I am unable to enter recovery. According to Droidstyle's guide, using the 3 finger method is not to be done once on ICS, as it will cause bootloops. "adb reboot recovery" will not work either.

Alrighty, here's what I've done so far to my Showcase from CSpire:

1. Restored my stock ODIN file, which is EI20.
2. ODIN'ed CWM4 Fixed for CM7
3. 3-fingered into recovery
4. Installed ICS Hacksung Build 2
5. Installed ICS Gummy and GApps 3/17
6. Used for about 2-3 weeks, with a few tweaks.
7. Attempted to nandroid, unable to enter recovery.


So, I'm not sure if I should re-flash recovery via ODIN/Heimdall, attempt to replace the recovery.img via shell, or if there's a different method.


Does anyone have an idea about how to fix this problem?

did you try selecting the reboot option instead of recovery in the power menu? they were mislabled on gummy the last time I was using that rom.
23rd April 2012, 05:39 AM   |  #3  
Akkeresu's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Nope. Rebooting with Reboot, Recovery, and Bootloader all yield a standard reboot sequence.
23rd April 2012, 02:50 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 3,909
 
1,616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkeresu

Nope. Rebooting with Reboot, Recovery, and Bootloader all yield a standard reboot sequence.

That's a known issue on Gummy for showcase and mesmerize. I can't figure it out.... :( people have been working around it by using ROM manager to get to recovery.

Sent from my Glitched AOKP Unicorn.
The Following User Says Thank You to Stephen.k.spear For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:45 PM   |  #5  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,435
 
6,189 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
imo make the switch to aokp!!!
23rd April 2012, 03:51 PM   |  #6  
Akkeresu's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen.k.spear

That's a known issue on Gummy for showcase and mesmerize. I can't figure it out.... :( people have been working around it by using ROM manager to get to recovery.

Sent from my Glitched AOKP Unicorn.

That did the trick. I did have to click the Flash Recovery Button, , select the Showcase and tell it to use CWM v3.x+

Maybe it's something about the scripting? When I get some time, I'll turn on some logging and see if I can locate a difference between the normal recovery reboot attempt and the ROM Manager reboot.

I was attempting to use Supercharger V6, but couldn't make it stick because I was unable to clear Dalvik. Thanks a bunch!
23rd April 2012, 03:53 PM   |  #7  
Akkeresu's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkeresu

Nope. Rebooting with Reboot, Recovery, and Bootloader all yield a standard reboot sequence.

I'll definitely give it a try now that I can get into recovery and make a backup. My good friend from Canada just recently dropped Build 32, I think, onto his own Faci, so I'll see how it runs on my Show. Thanks for the help dude!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes