Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] FTL Launcher Pro - How to change dock icons

OP brg7562

22nd April 2012, 10:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
I know this should be obvious, but I can't figure out how to change the dock icons in FTL Launcher Pro. I don't want to change the activity, simply the icons. Shortcuts don't show up on a long press, so creating a custom shortcut doesn't appear to be the solution. Any ideas?
22nd April 2012, 11:57 PM   |  #2  
Judge Joseph Dredd's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator - Judgment is Coming
Mega-City One
Thanks Meter: 27,250
 
101010
15,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brg7562

I know this should be obvious, but I can't figure out how to change the dock icons in FTL Launcher Pro. I don't want to change the activity, simply the icons. Shortcuts don't show up on a long press, so creating a custom shortcut doesn't appear to be the solution. Any ideas?

REBOOT then try below...
Basic Instructions:

- On first boot, homescreens will be empty. Long-press anywhere and start adding stuff!
- You can add/change the shortcuts on the dock bar: Long-press the place you want, and wait for the a popup to show, allowing you to choose what activity you want there.
- You can uninstall apps directly from the homescreen: long press the shortcut (even in the app drawer), drag it to the trash can that appears where the dock was. If you drop it immediately FTL will only remove the shortcut, but if you wait a bit before droping, FTL will offer to uninstall the app.
23rd April 2012, 12:25 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Thanks for the info, I did find those instructions, and they work perfectly for shortcuts on the home screen, but not on the dock for some reason. There's no problem changing a shortcut on the dock to another activity with it's default icon for that activity, just no obvious (at least to me) way to change the default icon or apply a custom shortcut (with desired icon).
23rd April 2012, 12:29 AM   |  #4  
Judge Joseph Dredd's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator - Judgment is Coming
Mega-City One
Thanks Meter: 27,250
 
101010
15,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brg7562

Thanks for the info, I did find those instructions, and they work perfectly for shortcuts on the home screen, but not on the dock for some reason. There's no problem changing a shortcut on the dock to another activity with it's default icon for that activity, just no obvious (at least to me) way to change the default icon or apply a custom shortcut (with desired icon).

you have to long press on the dock the open area where there is no icon to put an icon there..a window will pop open to select an activity...to put an icon...on your dock and if you want to change the current icons, you also long press on the icon til the menu opens with a listing of app to change to,....

that is how I did it....hope it works out for you...
Last edited by Judge Joseph Dredd; 23rd April 2012 at 12:32 AM.
23rd April 2012, 02:21 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
A long press on the dock icon, window pops open to select an activity (let's say phone). No problem there. Now all I want to is change the phone icon, not the activity. Another long press just repeats the above.

Sorry for my denseness, maybe you can't do what I'm trying to do...but thanks for the response.
23rd April 2012, 02:54 AM   |  #6  
Gerle's Avatar
Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 1
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Is it possible to add a contact to the dock? I usually have my wife as a contact on the dock, when I press the icon it will give me the choice between messaging, calling various numbers, etc. In old Launcher pro I know how to make this happen, I'm having a hard time in FTL Pro.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes