Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

{HELP} Interactive Help Forum!{TUTORIALS} Where questions are encouraged!

OP jeffsanace

22nd April 2012, 08:43 PM   |  #51  
lactardjosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 303
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robobob1221

Thanks. I'll see if I can implement this.
Another ask. Is there a guide for decompiling and compiling .jar files? Is it the same as .apks? I want to remove the gps reticle and I tried using SteelH's method, but I'm having trouble recompiling the file afterwards.

Assuming you are using deodexed .jar files, it's the same as .apks.

Edit: what are you using to decompile/recompile?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lactardjosh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 08:53 PM   |  #52  
jeffsanace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wilmington, De.
Thanks Meter: 2,878
 
2,797 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robobob1221

Thanks. I'll see if I can implement this.
Another ask. Is there a guide for decompiling and compiling .jar files? Is it the same as .apks? I want to remove the gps reticle and I tried using SteelH's method, but I'm having trouble recompiling the file afterwards.

There are both apktool and apkmanager how tos in the OP, look through some of the tutorial listings and you'll find what you need.
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffsanace For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 08:55 PM   |  #53  
jeffsanace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wilmington, De.
Thanks Meter: 2,878
 
2,797 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lactardjosh

Assuming you are using deodexed .jar files, it's the same as .apks.

Edit: what are you using to decompile/recompile?

Welcome to the forum, nice to see others jumping in. Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffsanace For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #54  
lactardjosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 303
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffsanace

Welcome to the forum, nice to see others jumping in. Thanks

This thread is a great idea.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lactardjosh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 01:58 AM   |  #55  
Robobob1221's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 取手市。日本
Thanks Meter: 488
 
1,273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lactardjosh

Assuming you are using deodexed .jar files, it's the same as .apks.

Edit: what are you using to decompile/recompile?

I had been using apk multi tool but I was having issues getting the file to recompile. I switched to a method using the old apk tool from another forum and this has worked ok so far.

Thanks for the info.

EDIT: I've decompiled the services.jar but it gives and error Can't find resources.arsc file. When I look for the status folder mentioned in SteelH's how to it's not there. I dunno what I am missing. Do I need any other file to be decompiled in the same folder? I've got the SystemUI, framework-res, and htc.resources apks in the same folder all decompiled as well.

Also, yes I've deodexed the file.
Last edited by Robobob1221; 23rd April 2012 at 02:48 AM.
23rd April 2012, 02:57 AM   |  #56  
lactardjosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 303
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robobob1221

I had been using apk multi tool but I was having issues getting the file to recompile. I switched to a method using the old apk tool from another forum and this has worked ok so far.

Thanks for the info.

EDIT: I've decompiled the services.jar but it gives and error Can't find resources.arsc file. When I look for the status folder mentioned in SteelH's how to it's not there. I dunno what I am missing. Do I need any other file to be decompiled in the same folder? I've got the SystemUI, framework-res, and htc.resources apks in the same folder all decompiled as well.

Also, yes I've deodexed the file.

If you're using apktool from the command line, you should load the resource apks so that apktool users then when decompiling the apks. This is different from having them decompiled. I'm a Samsung guy, so I'm not really familiar with the HTC files you need, but from the command line, type:
apktool if SystemUI.apk
do this for framework-res.apk and I'm guessing the htc.resources file, too.

You might want to make sure you're using the most recent aapt.exe, apktool.jar, and apktool.jar.

EDIT: Here is a zip with the most current (to my knowledge, at least) files. They should work with any Android version (again, to my knowledge).

EDIT 2: And this is a really good informational video from Nunhugger about using apktool.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLQynXg8noM
Attached Files
File Type: zip APKtool_ICS.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.67 MB, 20 views)
Last edited by lactardjosh; 23rd April 2012 at 03:07 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lactardjosh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:18 AM   |  #57  
il Duce's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor / Themer / Retired Moderator
Flag Twin Cities, MN
Thanks Meter: 16,445
 
16,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robobob1221

I had been using apk multi tool but I was having issues getting the file to recompile. I switched to a method using the old apk tool from another forum and this has worked ok so far.

Thanks for the info.

EDIT: I've decompiled the services.jar but it gives and error Can't find resources.arsc file. When I look for the status folder mentioned in SteelH's how to it's not there. I dunno what I am missing. Do I need any other file to be decompiled in the same folder? I've got the SystemUI, framework-res, and htc.resources apks in the same folder all decompiled as well.

Also, yes I've deodexed the file.

I use apkmanager and this may be a "dirty" way to do jars but works for me. Rename the jar extension to apk (I use 7zip for that) then decomp, option 9, no dependant needed afaik. Then mod your smali, recompile, say yes and yes to system app, then delete classes dex from the "keep" folder, back to script hit enter. Then rename extension back to jar.
The Following User Says Thank You to il Duce For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #58  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 21
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffsanace

What music widget? And what Lockscreen are you using? If you use widget locker there are a lot of options, ie; Phantom music controls.

Recognized " Bad Seed "



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

I am using the stock lockscreen. I'd also like to see if I can mod it a little bit by way of color etc. Any ideas?
23rd April 2012, 03:44 AM   |  #59  
Robobob1221's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 取手市。日本
Thanks Meter: 488
 
1,273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by il Duce

I use apkmanager and this may be a "dirty" way to do jars but works for me. Rename the jar extension to apk (I use 7zip for that) then decomp, option 9, no dependant needed afaik. Then mod your smali, recompile, say yes and yes to system app, then delete classes dex from the "keep" folder, back to script hit enter. Then rename extension back to jar.

The file I was looking for I found in my SystemUI.
I'm wondering if the Japanese KDDI au version of sense has been heavily modified from the Sprint version. A lot of the values in the script appear to be different. Some are on different lines and v-number for the gps icon were different. For instance the stock status bar doesn't have a permanent gps reticle.
23rd April 2012, 04:51 AM   |  #60  
jeffsanace's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wilmington, De.
Thanks Meter: 2,878
 
2,797 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedXXII

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

I am using the stock lockscreen. I'd also like to see if I can mod it a little bit by way of color etc. Any ideas?

Ok, I'm a little confused. LOL! You have several devices in your sig and you were asking about the Epic 4g lockscreen. Is that what you're wanting to mod? If so I'm not familiar with it, but if you show me a pic I could figure it out. EDIT......If it's stock Android sliders, they're in framework-res.apk/drawable-hdpi. And yes they can be modded several different ways but you'll have to be good at patching .9 pngs because those can be a little tricky. I'll post a pick in a min with an example. This is a mod I did on my OG EVO a while back.
Last edited by jeffsanace; 23rd April 2012 at 05:19 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes