Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,719 Members 38,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] Encryption Unsuccessful - Reset Android [ICS Issue]

Tip us?
 
Johnsondr80
Old
#431  
Johnsondr80's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4996
Posts: 3,432
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa

 
DONATE TO ME
Agreed. I am following this closely.
Don't want to lose the ones that are really making a difference.

i717 running Seraphim Collective ICS with tapatalk2
My Current Devices: GalaxyNote And SkyRocket
If you Would Like to Make a monetary Contribution to the team for their time and energy
Never Required But Greatly Appreciated
The Following User Says Thank You to Johnsondr80 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Wdustin1
Old
#432  
Wdustin1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 1,115
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Agree as well, your theory is the best one yet. The great Adam couldn't fix it. you may be our last hope

Sent from my SGH-I897 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Wdustin1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gcamp0730
Old
#433  
gcamp0730's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 229
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
+1

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using xda premium
Get a free 20GB or more account with Copy! (Great for Titanium backups!)
 
Woody
Old
#434  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Thanks Meter 8826
Posts: 6,675
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
I'll see what I can come up with. What I really want is for some creativity in how we are to get at this. See my few posts back about the 2 directions we could go.

I am trying to get my hands on an Encrypted Vibrant to do some tests but when people get the error they tend to thrash their phones in a fit of rage or they try to "fix" it and make it worse. Since I don't own a Cappy I don't have any files or hardware but Android O/S is O/S so code is code. So if you or I can find a solution it should work for both.

ps - Thanks for the PM Jeff.

My feelings weren't hurt bc of an anonymous random post in an international multi-segregated developers forum about something that effects us all, but he kind of had a point too. Ill stick around but I need some more imagination on everyone's part and need someone else with ADB experience to test some ideas.
<a href=http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif</a>
ZFFZ

I GPL I

"The work of men of genius, however wrongly directed, hardly ever fails to open the eyes of men to new possibilities."
- Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lactardjosh
Old
#435  
lactardjosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 550
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe cross posting this in the general Android Development forum would get more exposure.

(I have not encountered the issue myself yet on my Captivate. It's got CM9, but I'm not using MTP. I've been following this from pretty early on though.)
 
jeff.leonard
Old
(Last edited by jeff.leonard; 23rd April 2012 at 03:13 AM.)
#436  
jeff.leonard's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairfield, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodrube View Post
I am trying to get my hands on an Encrypted Vibrant to do some tests but when people get the error they tend to thrash their phones in a fit of rage or they try to "fix" it and make it worse.
I didn't "thrash" my "encrypted" Captivate but I did attempt to remove the internal battery (small one on the board) and now it doesn't seem boot. It looks like I may have just broken a solder joint; I should have time Monday to re-solder it and try again. Imagine if the phone is fixed after simply removing the internal battery and putting it back; that is what I was hoping when I originally tried to remove it.

Also, thanks for sticking with us here.



---------- Post added at 07:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:03 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lactardjosh View Post
(I have not encountered the issue myself yet on my Captivate. It's got CM9, but I'm not using MTP. I've been following this from pretty early on though.)
When you say you are not using MTP do you mean not connecting to a PC or you are forcing it to use USB Mass Storage mode instead of MTP?
 
Woody
Old
#437  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Thanks Meter 8826
Posts: 6,675
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by lactardjosh View Post
Maybe cross posting this in the general Android Development forum would get more exposure.
I have been searching other device forums most of the day and the General/Q&A XDA pages too. Not too much out there except how to encrypt your emails or sms. I'm going to go off the grid and look into some other sites and see if they have anything.

I'll get back in a few days to share what I have found (if anything).
<a href=http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif</a>
ZFFZ

I GPL I

"The work of men of genius, however wrongly directed, hardly ever fails to open the eyes of men to new possibilities."
- Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)
 
jcjcc
Old
#438  
Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 88
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raz123 View Post
Vibrant users: MTP may be the culprit in your cases. I suggest you create a thread under your forum.

Captivate users: My Captivate, as well as others', threw the error at random. No PC, no MTP, no fanciness. In my case, I pulled my captivate out of my pocket and the error was there.

AFAIK, the internal SD (mmc0/movinand) won't be resuscitated by any Android/OS fixes, as it was confirmed "defective" by the SBL, a set of factory tools, built-in the phone, that is independent of the OS.

Good luck
Agree, it shouldn't have anything to do with MTP or mass storage. First of all, when my movinand failed it was totally at random, and secondly, USB mounting (whether MTP or mass storage) accesses mmc0 on the filesystem level. It doesn't even access at the block level (since /data is also on the same block device), much less the SD/MMC hardware interface level.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcjcc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jeff.leonard
Old
#439  
jeff.leonard's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairfield, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcjcc View Post
Agree, it shouldn't have anything to do with MTP or mass storage. First of all, when my movinand failed it was totally at random, and secondly, USB mounting (whether MTP or mass storage) accesses mmc0 on the filesystem level. It doesn't even access at the block level (since /data is also on the same block device), much less the SD/MMC hardware interface level.
While it may not make sense; there is a pattern of failure following connecting with MTP on the next reboot. I can think of 5 users that have described this exact scenario plus myself; this is the best theory I've heard.

I believe it enough that I am back running ICS on another Captivate, just not using MTP; working great so far (that knocking sound you hear is me knocking on wood).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff.leonard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lactardjosh
Old
#440  
lactardjosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 550
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.leonard View Post
When you say you are not using MTP do you mean not connecting to a PC or you are forcing it to use USB Mass Storage mode instead of MTP?
It's using USB Mass Storage when I connect to my PC.

The Following User Says Thank You to lactardjosh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
captivate, encryption, galaxy s, ics
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes