5,594,386 Members 34,858 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Newbie needs help 2] I Just installed temasek's KANG build

Tip us?
 
sales_jao
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Unhappy [Newbie needs help 2] I Just installed temasek's KANG build

I'm new here and the first ROM I've tried installing was RC1 91 but after I finished the procedure, my phone doesn´t leave LG home screen and rebooting after 5 sec. What did I do wrong?
Steps:
- Root;
- Download the ROM;
- Copy in external memory;
- Power off the phone;
- Boot in recovery;
- Backup current ROM;
- Wipe cache partition and wipe data/factory reset;
- Wipe dalvik cache
- Finally, flash ROM and reboot.
And the restore isn´t work too.
 
xtrustkillx
Old
#2  
xtrustkillx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jul 2010
Do you have p990 or p999?

Sent from my Optimus 2X using XDA
 
sales_jao
Old
(Last edited by sales_jao; 22nd April 2012 at 03:32 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
P990 and i was running 2.3.4 V20l Euro Open
 
Justray
Old
(Last edited by Justray; 23rd April 2012 at 12:03 AM.)
#4  
Justray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 181
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GDL - Xalixco - México
What recovery version do you have?, the CWM "touch" version HAS issues with flashing, try an older version , non touch, also its a lot better flashing from the external SD card than the internal memory (a.k.a. internal SD). (I use 5.0.2.7, you can grab it at Temasek thread, second post)

I had flashing issues and here is how they are throubleshoted:

1: Reflash, sometimes CWM (recovery) make bad flashes, reflash, sometimes it work.
2: Format everything, choose factory reset, then flash again, no need to wipe cache or dalvik because everything is wiped except recovery.
3: Use a script to get partition back to ext3, when a rom uses ext4 it automatically changes it BUT when you install a ext3 rom it does NOT reformat back to ext3, it leaves it in ext4 and thus doesnt work.
4: Try another rom, an older or a different rom, I had this issue with topogigi rom once and the modaco rom its 100% incompatible with my phone... dont ask why no one knows.
5: Use a different CMW version, this is no. 5 if you have a non touch version (mine for ej. has modded menus) but if you have the touch version it has issues with flashing, temasek had problems with his own roms...

Comes with ANDROID Bitches!!!

Phone:
LG Optimus 2X
Carrier:
Telcel
Baseband:
V30A
Recovery:
TWRP 2.5.0.0 touch recovery
ROM:
CM10.1 Tony T-Build 4
Kernel:
Kowalsky Kernel exp:125
 
antec123
Old
(Last edited by antec123; 23rd April 2012 at 02:11 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 587
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sales_jao View Post
I'm new here and the first ROM I've tried installing was RC1 91 but after I finished the procedure, my phone doesn´t leave LG home screen and rebooting after 5 sec. What did I do wrong?
Steps:
- Root;
- Download the ROM;
- Copy in external memory;
- Power off the phone;
- Boot in recovery;
- Backup current ROM;
- Wipe cache partition and wipe data/factory reset;
- Wipe dalvik cache
- Finally, flash ROM and reboot.
And the restore isn´t work too.
you're missing one thing you should format/data factory reset first. of course the restore doesn't work because CM7 converts yours system to ext4. while stock rom the system is ext3.

you should try this script
Code:
http://etana.donka.hu/?dir=scripts
if you like you should full wipe or use nvflash recovery there is a thread there in development thread or from this one
Code:
http://android.modaco.com/topic/335474-25-mar-nvflash-stock-rom-release-v10b-dated-1300166062-15032011/
.

the difference between that script and nvflash is the method. vadonka scripts use CWM. and nvflash use the driver for your computer, if you use method nvflash you have already rom v10b.

after you already use nvflash / full wipe in vadonka script, you can flash cm7 again.

or if you like you can search in development section there is convert to ext3 back of course this method is delete your whole partition
Code:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1021549
did you backup your apps first like using titanium backup??

or maybe this method you can use recovery with nvflash but i think with this method you should have your boot.img backup first i haven't tried this method
Code:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1229407
 
sales_jao
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Alive!

Thank you guys! I get to restart my phone via smartflash, and now I'm scared to flash ROMs via clockworkmod...Thus, I'll be a long time with this official ROM.
 
antec123
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 587
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sales_jao View Post
Thank you guys! I get to restart my phone via smartflash, and now I'm scared to flash ROMs via clockworkmod...Thus, I'll be a long time with this official ROM.
nah don't be affraid to flash roms, it has many great roms rather than stock LG. just backup your data at least and then flash any roms you want.

stock LG is crap, your hardware can't show its performance...
The Following User Says Thank You to antec123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
temasek
Old
#8  
temasek's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 61309
Posts: 19,425
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by antec123 View Post
nah don't be affraid to flash roms, it has many great roms rather than stock LG. just backup your data at least and then flash any roms you want.

stock LG is crap, your hardware can't show its performance...
Amen to that!
Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300 - CM11.0 SelfKANG ( KANG Thread / CHANGELOGS )
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - hltexx (N9005) - CM11.0 SelfKANG ( KANG Thread )
Nexus 7 3G Tilapia - CM11.0 SelfKANG

Vadonka's temasek.hopto.org: temasek
Dev-Host: temasek
AndroidFileHost: temasek

Twitter: temasek71

 
LarsPT
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 456
Posts: 1,061
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On The Run
Quote:
Originally Posted by sales_jao View Post
Thank you guys! I get to restart my phone via smartflash, and now I'm scared to flash ROMs via clockworkmod...Thus, I'll be a long time with this official ROM.
If you've managed to use smartflash then you've got no reasons to be affraid
LG Optimus 2X P990: CWM: v6.0.2.5 ROM: CM10.1 T-build 05 Kernel: Kowalski exp 126 BB: V20s
LG (Google) Nexus 4: Recovery: Multi TWRP ROM: Pure Speed X v3.0.9 Kernel: PSK Radio: .33/.84

Pressing the thanks button is free! Why not use it when someone posts something that helps you?
 
Durio
Old
#10  
Durio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 100
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eindhoven
Quote:
Originally Posted by sales_jao View Post
Thank you guys! I get to restart my phone via smartflash, and now I'm scared to flash ROMs via clockworkmod...Thus, I'll be a long time with this official ROM.
via CWM is the easiest way..don't waste your time with LG stock ROM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more

HTC Releases Dual Lens SDK for the HTC One M8 (2014)

One of the highlights of the HTC One M8is its new dual lens camera system. Termed … more

Google ATAP Reveals Project Ara Developer Kits and 100K Prize Challenge

Today, Paul Eremenko from Google’s Advanced Technology and … more