FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Droid 4 for Hong Konger?

532 posts
Thanks Meter: 43
 
By BlueEditionE6, Senior Member on 9th April 2012, 04:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
21st April 2012, 10:33 AM |#11  
Member
Flag Gomel
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by disablewong

I finally got my droid4 in hand and confirm it got gsm function is working in Hong Kong!

However, I got it with GSM ALREADY UNLOCKED so I cannot tell you how to unroot it
But probably involve flashing chinese rom

So you have fully functioning GSM support? Does everething is working? 3g, HSPDA, sms, calls Friend of mine right now is in USA and will return back 29th of April, just thinking to ask him to buy the phone, but also need to be sure that I can unlock GSM feature.
 
 
21st April 2012, 11:11 AM |#12  
niai_mack's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
where did you buy from?
what version id the radio firmware, the baseband and the os?
would/could you work with people here to get the radio firmware?

sorry i am a bit excited.
Last edited by niai_mack; 21st April 2012 at 11:14 AM.
21st April 2012, 01:27 PM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xixx

So you have fully functioning GSM support? Does everething is working? 3g, HSPDA, sms, calls Friend of mine right now is in USA and will return back 29th of April, just thinking to ask him to buy the phone, but also need to be sure that I can unlock GSM feature.

Ofcoz, I am actually replying on the droid4 now
All things are working well with HSDPA, SMS and calls, even EDGE
But the lack of alt key make a little trouble when typing chinese
I wonder if the LTE is being supported by china mobile hk

---------- Post added at 08:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by niai_mack

where did you buy from?
what version id the radio firmware, the baseband and the os?
would/could you work with people here to get the radio firmware?

sorry i am a bit excited.

I got it from a china auction website

I would like to post the info, any hot-key could take a screenshot in motoblur?
Previous key in milestone3 doesn't work here

And any way to map the 'alt key' back on the physical keyboard?

The info I gathered so far hinted the unlocking involve flashing another rom, *#*#2468#*#* and unlock the device with unlock code, but I got my phone unlocked out of box so I couldn't test it
21st April 2012, 02:24 PM |#14  
niai_mack's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
i found this http://www.buyonsalecheap.com/motoro...act_p1190.html but it dose not look like a trustworthy site and its the only GMS Driod 4 i could find.

could you link to the site you got it from?

i dont know anything bout motoblur i have never owned a Motorola, but i do know you can take screens with the android SDK
22nd April 2012, 01:16 PM |#15  
vmu's Avatar
Member
Flag Moengo
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niai_mack

i found this URL BLOCKED but it dose not look like a trustworthy site and its the only GMS Driod 4 i could find.

could you link to the site you got it from?

i dont know anything bout motoblur i have never owned a Motorola, but i do know you can take screens with the android SDK


Do not buy from that site. Its a scammers site. Not trustworthy at all.

@Disablewong I'm very curious. I too am waiting and trying to use the GSM radio on the Droid 4. Where did you get it? What rom do you use?

Do you know where I can buy an unlock code? I'm not a Verizon customer so they cannot help me. And I tried some 3rd party unlock sites, but none of them was able to generate an unlock code for me.

Thanks in advance.
22nd April 2012, 02:34 PM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
There is a way to know if this device is a real Motorola Droid 4? I found some weird links about it[1]

[1] www indianexporters com / Motorola-DROID-4-XT894-unlocked-mobile-phone-sell-111965.html (I can not post links yet)
22nd April 2012, 08:01 PM |#17  
Die Bruine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delft
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
VMU,

Which ones did you try? I want to try this one because of their success with Razr and Atrix. Not so sure about a ferund though when they do not succeed.

http://sim-unlock.net/simlock/New_Motorola/Droid%204/
22nd April 2012, 08:16 PM |#18  
vmu's Avatar
Member
Flag Moengo
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I tried mobile2mobile, networkunlockcodes, and unlockitnow.

I also found the site you mentioned. But before I contacted them before I place an order. If they can guarantee that they can unlock the Droid 4 I'll submit my imei.

Waiting for a reply.
22nd April 2012, 08:18 PM |#19  
Member
Flag Gomel
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Guys, will you expect the phone will work as GSM after unlocking? Or you will use it as CDMA?
23rd April 2012, 02:31 AM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmu

Do not buy from that site. Its a scammers site. Not trustworthy at all.

@Disablewong I'm very curious. I too am waiting and trying to use the GSM radio on the Droid 4. Where did you get it? What rom do you use?

Do you know where I can buy an unlock code? I'm not a Verizon customer so they cannot help me. And I tried some 3rd party unlock sites, but none of them was able to generate an unlock code for me.

Thanks in advance.

I bought it from taobao, search for xt894
I got it unlocked out of box, so I can't tell you which code provider is right

i would like to upload screenshot....
but after losing my phone, I got my computer broken too....
So I would do so later this week after I got time get my pc repaired
what else information I should upload for help unlocking the phone?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000002.png
Views:	232
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	1020981  
Last edited by disablewong; 23rd April 2012 at 07:47 PM. Reason: screenshot upload
The Following User Says Thank You to disablewong For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 08:38 PM |#21  
Die Bruine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delft
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Is it possible for you to contact the seller? I don't mind paying for unlocking. Somehow they must have managed to enable GSM. Maybe all you need is an unlock, just like with the Droid 3. I sure would like to know how. I have Droid 4 and live in NL. Up till now it's only function is a mini tablet

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
droid 4, gsm, rom, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes