Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,680 Members 46,107 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Games unavailable for NC?

Tip us?
 
flu13
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Games unavailable for NC?

I have been browsing for some interesting-looking games to play on my Nook, and the last few that I've seen on Play through my PC (Skyfall, Six Guns, Sims Freeplay) have been unavailable for the Nook. What's up with that?
 
gallahad2000
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 541
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13 View Post
I have been browsing for some interesting-looking games to play on my Nook, and the last few that I've seen on Play through my PC (Skyfall, Six Guns, Sims Freeplay) have been unavailable for the Nook. What's up with that?
Those games are showing as blocked on mine as well. They may just represent game makers no longer supporting the devices we are spoofing (Galaxy Tab and Nexus One). You can always try changing your build.prop to get the new games but you may lose access to others.
The Following User Says Thank You to gallahad2000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flu13
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks for the tip. I've never modified my build.prop. What would be a good value to change to? And what is the best way to modify that file?
 
gallahad2000
Old
(Last edited by gallahad2000; 24th April 2012 at 06:33 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 541
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13 View Post
Thanks for the tip. I've never modified my build.prop. What would be a good value to change to? And what is the best way to modify that file?
You can use root explorer or ES file explorer. The value to change it to has historically been a combination of Nexus One and Galaxy tab settings. I currently have those settings on my nook and it is showing incompatible for the games you've listed. It may be a good idea to try Galaxy S or pure Galaxy tab (SPH-P100 or GT-P1000) since those are all PowerVR devices so there won't be incompatibilities with the games you download.
The Following User Says Thank You to gallahad2000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flu13
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
Well, it seems that no matter what method I try, I can't get /system to mount r/w. I found something suggesting that I need ro.secure=0 in some file (maybe build.prop or maybe default.prop), but I think I'm getting beyond my knowledge and comfort level.
 
flu13
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
I finally was able to edit build.prop using Root Explorer (should've just bought that a long time ago). However, I can't figure out the right things to edit. I've tried changing the model and manufacturer to the values for Galaxy Tab, Galaxy S, and my Evo Shift, but none make these games available. Clearly, I'm missing something that needs changed.
 
jgaf
Old
#7  
jgaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 388
Posts: 1,208
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13 View Post
I finally was able to edit build.prop using Root Explorer (should've just bought that a long time ago). However, I can't figure out the right things to edit. I've tried changing the model and manufacturer to the values for Galaxy Tab, Galaxy S, and my Evo Shift, but none make these games available. Clearly, I'm missing something that needs changed.
It has worked for me before, just changing model and brand, then clearing data from google play and rebooting. But I tried it yesterday for six-guns and it didn't work, I used SPH-P100
 
flu13
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hmmm...didn't clear data for Play. Let me try that.
 
flu13
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ok, that let me get Sims Freeplay, but not the others. I even tried loading an "unlocked" Play apk. Aggravating.
 
flu13
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 350
Join Date: Jun 2010
I finally wised up. I downloaded the games to my phone, backed up with Titanium, copied the backups to my Nook, and restored.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more