FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Games unavailable for NC?

656 posts
Thanks Meter: 84
 
By flu13, Senior Member on 23rd April 2012, 02:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have been browsing for some interesting-looking games to play on my Nook, and the last few that I've seen on Play through my PC (Skyfall, Six Guns, Sims Freeplay) have been unavailable for the Nook. What's up with that?
 
 
24th April 2012, 05:26 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13

I have been browsing for some interesting-looking games to play on my Nook, and the last few that I've seen on Play through my PC (Skyfall, Six Guns, Sims Freeplay) have been unavailable for the Nook. What's up with that?

Those games are showing as blocked on mine as well. They may just represent game makers no longer supporting the devices we are spoofing (Galaxy Tab and Nexus One). You can always try changing your build.prop to get the new games but you may lose access to others.
The Following User Says Thank You to gallahad2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 06:03 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Thanks for the tip. I've never modified my build.prop. What would be a good value to change to? And what is the best way to modify that file?
24th April 2012, 06:31 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13

Thanks for the tip. I've never modified my build.prop. What would be a good value to change to? And what is the best way to modify that file?

You can use root explorer or ES file explorer. The value to change it to has historically been a combination of Nexus One and Galaxy tab settings. I currently have those settings on my nook and it is showing incompatible for the games you've listed. It may be a good idea to try Galaxy S or pure Galaxy tab (SPH-P100 or GT-P1000) since those are all PowerVR devices so there won't be incompatibilities with the games you download.
Last edited by gallahad2000; 24th April 2012 at 06:33 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gallahad2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2012, 08:51 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Well, it seems that no matter what method I try, I can't get /system to mount r/w. I found something suggesting that I need ro.secure=0 in some file (maybe build.prop or maybe default.prop), but I think I'm getting beyond my knowledge and comfort level.
25th April 2012, 01:43 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
I finally was able to edit build.prop using Root Explorer (should've just bought that a long time ago). However, I can't figure out the right things to edit. I've tried changing the model and manufacturer to the values for Galaxy Tab, Galaxy S, and my Evo Shift, but none make these games available. Clearly, I'm missing something that needs changed.
25th April 2012, 02:26 PM |#7  
jgaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 390
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13

I finally was able to edit build.prop using Root Explorer (should've just bought that a long time ago). However, I can't figure out the right things to edit. I've tried changing the model and manufacturer to the values for Galaxy Tab, Galaxy S, and my Evo Shift, but none make these games available. Clearly, I'm missing something that needs changed.

It has worked for me before, just changing model and brand, then clearing data from google play and rebooting. But I tried it yesterday for six-guns and it didn't work, I used SPH-P100
25th April 2012, 02:29 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Hmmm...didn't clear data for Play. Let me try that.
25th April 2012, 02:33 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Ok, that let me get Sims Freeplay, but not the others. I even tried loading an "unlocked" Play apk. Aggravating.
25th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
I finally wised up. I downloaded the games to my phone, backed up with Titanium, copied the backups to my Nook, and restored.
25th April 2012, 04:14 PM |#11  
jgaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 390
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flu13

I finally wised up. I downloaded the games to my phone, backed up with Titanium, copied the backups to my Nook, and restored.

Did you get six-guns working?

I don't have a smart phone T_T can't do that.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes