5,606,779 Members 37,750 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Point in using task killer?

Tip us?
 
LilProphet
Old
#1  
LilProphet's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Szentendre
Default Point in using task killer?

Question given, i still use Advanced task killer, but I see not much else people do.

Sent from my LG-P990 using XDA Premium App
 
stevvie
Old
#2  
stevvie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 363
Join Date: Jan 2009
There is NO point using a task killer on Android, as it will only load the needed/wanted stuff back into memory and thus using even more battery than NOT killing the task.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stevvie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LilProphet
Old
#3  
LilProphet's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Szentendre
thanks for the heads up, good to know.
 
LilProphet
Old
#4  
LilProphet's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Szentendre
what about ram manager apps (like RAM Manager Pro)? I have f**ked my phone a few times with ram tweaking so I'm skeptic with these and don't really wanna test until I'm clearly sure.
 
stevvie
Old
#5  
stevvie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 363
Join Date: Jan 2009
I used to use ram tweaker programs but now just use spica123's hp mod or v8 superscript. Just searck xda for them.

Sent from my LG-P990 using Tapatalk 2
 
LilProphet
Old
#6  
LilProphet's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Szentendre
Using v6 its pretty cool.

Sent from my LG-P990 using XDA Premium App
 
tablighs
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 321
Join Date: Mar 2011
Generally it is discouraged to use any kind of task killler on gingerbread because it messes with the built-in memory manager. If by any chance you are using froyo or earlier version of android, then it is ok.

As for the v6 supercharger, I'm using it too.
 
stevvie
Old
#8  
stevvie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 363
Join Date: Jan 2009
oops I meant V6, Just wanted more power
 
vanmarek
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 296
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Just as stevvie said, you will kill the apps for a few seconds, but they will just reload again. It kills your battery.
Also, I've noticed that sometimes apps that weren't even running before the killing launch after the killing (i.e. you kill 10 apps, 12 apps launch a couple of seconds later).
Most importantly, your widgets can get messed up, unless you exclude the widget app in ATM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...