FORUMS

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

OnePlus 2 Leaked, Actually Prettier Than Expected

The OnePlus 2 launch event is mere hours away, and we have been treated to clear, … more

[Q] Nandroid backup freezes or crashes

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By dh4ang, Junior Member on 5th April 2012, 09:40 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
8th April 2012, 07:43 PM |#21  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,848
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak

What the hell, never seen an "EVT" model :s

That's most probably why it's crashing.

I believe the EVT designates an engineering prototype from HTC. Maybe a device that escaped from the labs some time ago, or perhaps some early Demo model? Or just ones that were sold cheaply to the public after some time.

I would probably advise a couple of things. 1, to try a different SD card. or 2, try doing a simple format to FAT32, and run a simple GB rom. Only to see if it backs up with the basic methods without doing EXT4 partitions.

Also, after looking at your Alpha Rev info, I would also advise you flash to a different version of HBoot. You have a kind of strange one there. You might want to try one of Alpha Rev's, like the CM72 version. Could also be an issue.

And, your radio is a little outdated as well, but that shouldn't effect your backup.
Last edited by Moscow Desire; 8th April 2012 at 08:03 PM.
 
 
8th April 2012, 08:25 PM |#22  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

I believe the EVT designates an engineering prototype from HTC. Maybe a device that escaped from the labs some time ago, or perhaps some early Demo model? Or just ones that were sold cheaply to the public after some time.

I would probably advise a couple of things. 1, to try a different SD card. or 2, try doing a simple format to FAT32, and run a simple GB rom. Only to see if it backs up with the basic methods without doing EXT4 partitions.

Also, after looking at your Alpha Rev info, I would also advise you flash to a different version of HBoot. You have a kind of strange one there. You might want to try one of Alpha Rev's, like the CM72 version. Could also be an issue.

And, your radio is a little outdated as well, but that shouldn't effect your backup.

I tried switching it to CM72 now it is stuck on the boot screen
Last edited by dh4ang; 8th April 2012 at 08:30 PM.
9th April 2012, 05:11 AM |#23  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,848
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang

I tried switching it to CM72 now it is stuck on the boot screen

Well, so much for that option.

Run Alpha Rev's Downgrade image to put your somewhat stock HBoot back.

Then I suppose Run your RUU several times till it finishes. Or you may just run the RUU without the AR Downgrade.

Big question, is this a CDMA or a GSM device? Make sure the RUU is for your device.

Just how exactly did you get this phone, may I ask? As the only info on the EVT designates an engineering prototype according to Chinese rep.
9th April 2012, 06:24 AM |#24  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Well, so much for that option.

Run Alpha Rev's Downgrade image to put your somewhat stock HBoot back.

Then I suppose Run your RUU several times till it finishes. Or you may just run the RUU without the AR Downgrade.

Big question, is this a CDMA or a GSM device? Make sure the RUU is for your device.

Just how exactly did you get this phone, may I ask? As the only info on the EVT designates an engineering prototype according to Chinese rep.

So how do i find out if my device is a CDMA or a GSM
9th April 2012, 12:29 PM |#25  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,848
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang

So how do i find out if my device is a CDMA or a GSM

Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.
9th April 2012, 04:45 PM |#26  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.

It is GSM
11th April 2012, 01:32 AM |#27  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.

What can I do to fix it?
11th April 2012, 10:56 AM |#28  
bortak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 897
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang

What can I do to fix it?

Best bet, HTC support :/

Or, if you got your hands on a XTC Clip, that may help you out. (not worth buying for one phone btw)

EDIT: Actually there's one more thing you can try. http://www.htcdev.com/ruu/PB9920000_....03.0003_R.exe
23rd April 2012, 03:03 AM |#29  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak

Best bet, HTC support :/

Or, if you got your hands on a XTC Clip, that may help you out. (not worth buying for one phone btw)

EDIT: Actually there's one more thing you can try. http://www.htcdev.com/ruu/PB9920000_....03.0003_R.exe

I tried the advanced nandroid backup on 4EXT and i was able to backup data, cache, boot, and SD-EXT but i wasn't able to backup system because it would crash every time i try it. I think my system might be corrupted, idk.
23rd April 2012, 03:19 AM |#30  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang

I think I might have installed the wrong RUU because a while back my phone was messed up so I ran an RUU. Do you think this is affecting the crashing of the backup ?
EDIT: nevermind i formated my system and my nandroid works perfectly

EDIT 2: I'm using wrong RUU i think, how do i find the right RUU for my phone?
Last edited by dh4ang; 23rd April 2012 at 03:38 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes