5,605,120 Members 36,686 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nandroid backup freezes or crashes

Tip us?
 
Moscow Desire
Old
(Last edited by Moscow Desire; 8th April 2012 at 08:03 PM.)
#21  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5053
Posts: 6,524
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak View Post
What the hell, never seen an "EVT" model :s

That's most probably why it's crashing.
I believe the EVT designates an engineering prototype from HTC. Maybe a device that escaped from the labs some time ago, or perhaps some early Demo model? Or just ones that were sold cheaply to the public after some time.

I would probably advise a couple of things. 1, to try a different SD card. or 2, try doing a simple format to FAT32, and run a simple GB rom. Only to see if it backs up with the basic methods without doing EXT4 partitions.

Also, after looking at your Alpha Rev info, I would also advise you flash to a different version of HBoot. You have a kind of strange one there. You might want to try one of Alpha Rev's, like the CM72 version. Could also be an issue.

And, your radio is a little outdated as well, but that shouldn't effect your backup.
"The difference between stupidity and genius, is that genius has its limits." Albert Einstein


Read XDA Rules which can be found HERE


 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
dh4ang
Old
(Last edited by dh4ang; 8th April 2012 at 08:30 PM.)
#22  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
I believe the EVT designates an engineering prototype from HTC. Maybe a device that escaped from the labs some time ago, or perhaps some early Demo model? Or just ones that were sold cheaply to the public after some time.

I would probably advise a couple of things. 1, to try a different SD card. or 2, try doing a simple format to FAT32, and run a simple GB rom. Only to see if it backs up with the basic methods without doing EXT4 partitions.

Also, after looking at your Alpha Rev info, I would also advise you flash to a different version of HBoot. You have a kind of strange one there. You might want to try one of Alpha Rev's, like the CM72 version. Could also be an issue.

And, your radio is a little outdated as well, but that shouldn't effect your backup.
I tried switching it to CM72 now it is stuck on the boot screen
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#23  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5053
Posts: 6,524
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang View Post
I tried switching it to CM72 now it is stuck on the boot screen
Well, so much for that option.

Run Alpha Rev's Downgrade image to put your somewhat stock HBoot back.

Then I suppose Run your RUU several times till it finishes. Or you may just run the RUU without the AR Downgrade.

Big question, is this a CDMA or a GSM device? Make sure the RUU is for your device.

Just how exactly did you get this phone, may I ask? As the only info on the EVT designates an engineering prototype according to Chinese rep.
"The difference between stupidity and genius, is that genius has its limits." Albert Einstein


Read XDA Rules which can be found HERE


 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
dh4ang
Old
#24  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Well, so much for that option.

Run Alpha Rev's Downgrade image to put your somewhat stock HBoot back.

Then I suppose Run your RUU several times till it finishes. Or you may just run the RUU without the AR Downgrade.

Big question, is this a CDMA or a GSM device? Make sure the RUU is for your device.

Just how exactly did you get this phone, may I ask? As the only info on the EVT designates an engineering prototype according to Chinese rep.
So how do i find out if my device is a CDMA or a GSM
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#25  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5053
Posts: 6,524
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang View Post
So how do i find out if my device is a CDMA or a GSM
Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.
"The difference between stupidity and genius, is that genius has its limits." Albert Einstein


Read XDA Rules which can be found HERE


 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
dh4ang
Old
#26  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.
It is GSM
 
dh4ang
Old
#27  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Ummmm.... if it uses a SIM Card from your network provider, it's GSM.

Anything else is CDMA.
What can I do to fix it?
 
bortak
Old
#28  
bortak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 887
Posts: 2,333
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang View Post
What can I do to fix it?
Best bet, HTC support :/

Or, if you got your hands on a XTC Clip, that may help you out. (not worth buying for one phone btw)

EDIT: Actually there's one more thing you can try. http://www.htcdev.com/ruu/PB9920000_....03.0003_R.exe
______________
Google Nexus 5
- Paranoid Android -
Google Nexus 10
- Stock -
____________________________________
bortak's Troubleshooting Guide for HTC Desire (Bravo)
___________________________________________
Legacy Devices: HTC Desire (Bravo) | Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
 
dh4ang
Old
#29  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak View Post
Best bet, HTC support :/

Or, if you got your hands on a XTC Clip, that may help you out. (not worth buying for one phone btw)

EDIT: Actually there's one more thing you can try. http://www.htcdev.com/ruu/PB9920000_....03.0003_R.exe
I tried the advanced nandroid backup on 4EXT and i was able to backup data, cache, boot, and SD-EXT but i wasn't able to backup system because it would crash every time i try it. I think my system might be corrupted, idk.
 
dh4ang
Old
(Last edited by dh4ang; 23rd April 2012 at 03:38 AM.)
#30  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh4ang View Post
I think I might have installed the wrong RUU because a while back my phone was messed up so I ran an RUU. Do you think this is affecting the crashing of the backup ?
EDIT: nevermind i formated my system and my nandroid works perfectly
EDIT 2: I'm using wrong RUU i think, how do i find the right RUU for my phone?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...