Post Reply

Development process

OP webfrm

20th April 2012, 01:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
OK so I'm really not sure why all the Galaxy S2s have ICS but the T-mobile version. So my question is who's responsible to develop the version for the T989, Samsung or T-mobile? I don't understand why the ATT version and the international version have had their ICS for so long and we have to work on porting a version. So if someone has knowledge as to the development cycle of software upgrades and who's responsible (carrier, manufacturer, Google) to get a version out to the phone can you let me know.
20th April 2012, 02:23 AM   |  #2  
born2gethard's Avatar
Senior Member
Oklahoma City, OK
Thanks Meter: 151
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Samsung builds it, T-Mobile tests it and adds their BS. Atleast that's my understanding

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to born2gethard For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 01:49 PM   |  #3  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 720
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by born2gethard

Samsung builds it, T-Mobile tests it and adds their BS. Atleast that's my understanding

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium

that is correct, for all carriers. Samsung releases touchwizzed stock ics with Samsung bloat, Carriers add more bloat, then OTA/send it to your phone
The Following User Says Thank You to icenight89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 04:34 PM   |  #4  
hazard99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
1,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
The sprint and att versions are closer to the international version than ours are. Which allows them to get ports faster.

International is powered by the exynos soc
Tmobile version is powered by the qualcomm soc

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to hazard99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:27 PM   |  #5  
xsteven77x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 746
 
3,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazard99

The sprint and att versions are closer to the international version than ours are. Which allows them to get ports faster.

International is powered by the exynos soc
Tmobile version is powered by the qualcomm soc

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium

Basically ours is powered by **** and the other ones are powered by good ones.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xsteven77x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 06:52 PM   |  #6  
hazard99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
1,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
They made a decision to give us an soc that had higher theoretical download speeds.

The note skyrocket and ours got screwed because they thought download speed was more important.

I cant be mad because I bought the phone knowing what soc it had.
It was either that or the amaze 4g.
The Following User Says Thank You to hazard99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 02:41 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Thanks
Well thank you for all the information. So if Samsung is busy working on getting the Galaxy S III out then I guess it might be a while since ours is crap. I bought the T-Mobile version for two reasons:

1) Faster downloads (I get 12-14 megs /sec) so I was told that was faster than ATT would provide.
2) There is no overage charges.

So if I exceed my monthly cap my bill doesn't go up and next month it will reset back to 4G speed; I can live with a few days of slower speed if needed. Basically the T989 version is crappier and I'd been better off buying an international version off the internet instead of buying the phone from T-mobile. For example I went to Corning's site and thought it had Gorilla Glass too. I found out by researching XDA that indeed it doesn't. Well I guess I'm stuck for 2 years now. Really wish I had known that what I was purchasing was the stepchild version.

Thanks you everyone for explaining the issue. Guess I'll keep looking for a good ICS ROM on the forums.
The Following User Says Thank You to webfrm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #8  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,930
 
13,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsteven77x

Basically ours is powered by **** and the other ones are powered by good ones.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium

Haha sad but true.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes