Post Reply

After Update Lumina keeps launching search/voice search

22nd April 2012, 11:21 PM   |  #21  
eknutson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eau Claire, WI
Thanks Meter: 25
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
*sigh* started happening to me a couple of days ago. Very annoying and at times unusable. Wish I knew if it was HW or SW so I could figure out what action to take.
23rd April 2012, 02:54 AM   |  #22  
ohyamon's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I know its pain and a last resort, but have any of you tried a hard reset. This should generally be done after any system update as it usually fixes most software glitches that might occurr. It just takes time to reinstall your apps and you lose your texts, but its still better than having all of those little irritating issues and if it works it saves the hassles of returning the phone.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
2,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyamon

I know its pain and a last resort, but have any of you tried a hard reset.

Yes, I did it and has no effect. These button issues are hardware problem as I suspected. They may or may not be worked around by a firmware (but tweaking the way how those button press are registered) change. Hard reset can only resolve issues in general OS level. This is purely firmware level problem.

The real solutioin here is to exchange the phone. I will do it tomorrow. Finding a store who has the phone (especially the Cyan one) in store is the chanllenge.
23rd April 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
this is annoying but it only happens when the speaker is playing anything (music, games, video, etc)
support are aware of the problem and are working on it
23rd April 2012, 03:15 AM   |  #25  
hx4700 Killer's Avatar
Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohfoxxxycole

this is annoying but it only happens when the speaker is playing anything (music, games, video, etc)
support are aware of the problem and are working on it

Interesting, any other tips on how to trigger? I upgraded my phone myself and have played games that use the speaker but havent seen a problem.
23rd April 2012, 03:22 AM   |  #26  
ohyamon's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I had a case on my Titan that was the cause of similar issues. The rubber around the bottom of my screen was creating all sorts of problems but mostly not registering my inputs. I just changed cases and all problems went away. Just a thought...

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
23rd April 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #27  
eknutson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eau Claire, WI
Thanks Meter: 25
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyamon

I had a case on my Titan that was the cause of similar issues. The rubber around the bottom of my screen was creating all sorts of problems but mostly not registering my inputs. I just changed cases and all problems went away. Just a thought...

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

Very interesting thought, and worth a try! So, I took off my Case-Mate case from the AT&T store - but I was able to recreate the issue =/

What I found, doesn't rule out the case, either!

I could fairly regularly get the issue to occur by lightly touching (not pressing) both the volume rocker and the power button on the side. This was very interesting because I had been paying particular attention to the bottom buttons figuring they were being touched - but my fingers were nowhere near them. I'll continue investigating and tell people what I find, if anything.

I'm going to a 'Behind the Tiles' event tonight, maybe I'll even get a chance to bring up the issue, just to see if anyone there has any insight.
23rd April 2012, 03:35 PM   |  #28  
jimski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 26
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbat121

Yes, I did it and has no effect. These button issues are hardware problem as I suspected. They may or may not be worked around by a firmware (but tweaking the way how those button press are registered) change. Hard reset can only resolve issues in general OS level. This is purely firmware level problem.

The real solutioin here is to exchange the phone. I will do it tomorrow. Finding a store who has the phone (especially the Cyan one) in store is the chanllenge.

So firmware is now hardware? Didn't know that. Always though firmware was software.

Sent from my Lumia 900 using Board Express
23rd April 2012, 08:36 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
2,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimski

So firmware is now hardware? Didn't know that. Always though firmware was software.

Sent from my Lumia 900 using Board Express

The firmware here refers to the very low level stuff (like the BIOS on your PC). It is not part of OS but tightly related to the hardware it supports. For example, the camera has its own firmware. wifi/BT chips have their own firmware. Here the capacitive buttons have its own firmware (much like PC keyboard has its own firmware as part of keyboard hardware) that interprets capacitive touches on those buttons into button clicks for the system.

Anyway, I exchanged my phone today and the new phone has none of the issues I experienced before. So for those of you have the issue, exchange your phone ASAP. 30-day is quickly approaching.

I have to try two different AT&T stores to find one in stock for exchange.
24th April 2012, 01:22 PM   |  #30  
eknutson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eau Claire, WI
Thanks Meter: 25
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Talked to several MS folks at a 'Behind the Tiles' event last night, all of them said to return the phone and exchange it for a new one. That behavior isn't normal nor is it being addressed by MS or Nokia (that they know of).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes