Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

AT&T Captivate be used without data?

OP pjd2011

22nd April 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ypsilanti, MI
Thanks Meter: 13
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Is there a way I can use this phone without having to pay the data fees? If I sim unlock it, maybe?
23rd April 2012, 03:57 AM   |  #2  
ttimjer's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I think that you can do that but only if you unlock the device

Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA
23rd April 2012, 04:50 AM   |  #3  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I could easily be proven wrong, but I think I heard somebody say that they won't know unless you connect to their data network.
23rd April 2012, 02:59 PM   |  #4  
Red_81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St.Louis Metro
Thanks Meter: 629
 
1,163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Not to mention that if the device identifies to the tower as a smartphone (IMEI) then I believe AT&T will automatically add the data plan to your account
23rd April 2012, 04:11 PM   |  #5  
bravomail's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 338
 
949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Disabling data from settings works. WiFi will be working too. And you can ask ppl on AT&T end to disable any data, even on-demand pay-per-use charges.
24th April 2012, 12:02 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I've heard that it's possible to backup and erase your efs folder so that you appear to have a generic imei number. By using a generic imei number, AT&T will not know you have a Captivate and you can request for them to turn off data on their end.
24th April 2012, 03:36 AM   |  #7  
Dave the Knave's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 348
 
1,652 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Just as a heads up, disabling data on the phone itself will also disable your ability to send and receive MMS messages. SMS will still send fine however. That's how its always been for me unless things have changed. Someone else feel free to chime in on this.

Sent from my Captivate
24th April 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #8  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fadinglionhart

I've heard that it's possible to backup and erase your efs folder so that you appear to have a generic imei number. By using a generic imei number, AT&T will not know you have a Captivate and you can request for them to turn off data on their end.

Yes and no. You would get the Galaxy S generic IMEI, so they would still know. That still doesn't mean they will contact you about it though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by miztaken1312

Just as a heads up, disabling data on the phone itself will also disable your ability to send and receive MMS messages. SMS will still send fine however. That's how its always been for me unless things have changed. Someone else feel free to chime in on this.

Sent from my Captivate

Unfortunate but so true
26th April 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Edmond, OK
Thanks Meter: 107
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I wish AT&T offered more Data plan options

---------- Post added at 11:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:02 AM ----------

...especially a family plan. They do it for Texts and minutes...why not for data?
26th April 2012, 06:13 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag None
Thanks Meter: 774
 
1,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKAstro

I wish AT&T offered more Data plan options

---------- Post added at 11:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:02 AM ----------

...especially a family plan. They do it for Texts and minutes...why not for data?

I would guess because 4 data plans at $30/plan is a lot more money for them than 4 people sharing one data plan at, say, $60.

Just my two cents, though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes