Post Reply

[Q] CM9. can't mount /system rw

23rd April 2012, 05:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Whenever I try and mount system as writable I get

Mount: operation not permitted

The error occurs whether I use adb or terminal.



Sorry! Realized after posting I'd gone into the wrong forum! Could a mod move it please? Or delete it and I'll make a new one?
Last edited by Cerinthus; 23rd April 2012 at 05:27 AM.
26th April 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Maybe try to download the ICS rooting.zip and run the macro using fastboot.
7th May 2012, 01:52 AM   |  #3  
bmxrideher's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Open up terminal emulator and type:
su
mount -o remount,rw / system

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
7th May 2012, 07:39 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxrideher

Open up terminal emulator and type:
su
mount -o remount,rw / system

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium


This won't work on the a100. You still need the mempodroid exploit.
16th May 2012, 03:10 PM   |  #5  
bmxrideher's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Works on mine. It's only a small price to pay to have the CM9 goodness on my tablet and it's R/W until next reboot.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
18th May 2012, 01:53 PM   |  #6  
bellaale's Avatar
Member
Flag Milan
Thanks Meter: 11
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxrideher

Works on mine. It's only a small price to pay to have the CM9 goodness on my tablet and it's R/W until next reboot.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?
18th May 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Throop
Thanks Meter: 78
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaale

This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?

Either of the ICS root methods in the dev section should fix it
15th July 2012, 10:09 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaale

This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?

You might try "busybox" after the su and before the mount command, e.g.: 'busybox mount -o remount,rw /system'
Busybox knows about these things.
3rd August 2012, 03:01 PM   |  #9  
AZBOLIVE's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Smile AZBOLIVE
just type in "su" enter it then type commands as normal.
your permissions wont let you at present,
letting the system know to run su works good.
hope it helps!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes