Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,814 Members 44,013 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CM9. can't mount /system rw

Tip us?
 
Cerinthus
Old
(Last edited by Cerinthus; 23rd April 2012 at 05:27 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default [Q] CM9. can't mount /system rw

Whenever I try and mount system as writable I get

Mount: operation not permitted

The error occurs whether I use adb or terminal.



Sorry! Realized after posting I'd gone into the wrong forum! Could a mod move it please? Or delete it and I'll make a new one?
 
ski69bum
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Maybe try to download the ICS rooting.zip and run the macro using fastboot.
 
bmxrideher
Old
#3  
bmxrideher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Open up terminal emulator and type:
su
mount -o remount,rw / system

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
HTC Fuze, BB8220, HTC Star Trek--> Mytouch (CM4)--> Mytouch 3.5mm (CM6)--> Mytouch Slide (CM6)--> HTC Vision/G2 (CM7)--> HTC EVO 3D (CM7)--> Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (CM9)--> Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III (CM10)--> T-Mobile Galaxy S III (CM11)--> Sony Xperia Z1s (Stock/Rooted)--> LG G3 (Stock/Rooted)
 
Cerinthus
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxrideher View Post
Open up terminal emulator and type:
su
mount -o remount,rw / system

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

This won't work on the a100. You still need the mempodroid exploit.
 
bmxrideher
Old
#5  
bmxrideher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Works on mine. It's only a small price to pay to have the CM9 goodness on my tablet and it's R/W until next reboot.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
HTC Fuze, BB8220, HTC Star Trek--> Mytouch (CM4)--> Mytouch 3.5mm (CM6)--> Mytouch Slide (CM6)--> HTC Vision/G2 (CM7)--> HTC EVO 3D (CM7)--> Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (CM9)--> Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III (CM10)--> T-Mobile Galaxy S III (CM11)--> Sony Xperia Z1s (Stock/Rooted)--> LG G3 (Stock/Rooted)
 
bellaale
Old
#6  
bellaale's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Milan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxrideher View Post
Works on mine. It's only a small price to pay to have the CM9 goodness on my tablet and it's R/W until next reboot.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?
 
eww245
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 486
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Throop
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaale View Post
This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?
Either of the ICS root methods in the dev section should fix it
Droid 3 - CM7 Safely Strapped
#OPMOSH
Acer a100 ICS 015 - rooted deodexed
Backup your data with adb

Retired Sorry Bill!
ThrottleLauncher Plugins
Weather.com
GoogleTranslator and Dictionary
CallLog@

[RHOD500]
XDAndroid FRX06/WM6.5 stock
 
dustbunny
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaale View Post
This method doesn't work on my tablet.
Isn' there any other method to acquire r/w?
You might try "busybox" after the su and before the mount command, e.g.: 'busybox mount -o remount,rw /system'
Busybox knows about these things.
 
AZBOLIVE
Old
#9  
AZBOLIVE's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
Smile AZBOLIVE

just type in "su" enter it then type commands as normal.
your permissions wont let you at present,
letting the system know to run su works good.
hope it helps!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes