Post Reply

Install rom via terminal = possible?

OP ONeill123

31st March 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #1  
ONeill123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sector 8
Thanks Meter: 100
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Hello guys,
I have a little question. Is it possible to install a custom rom with terminal commands, maybe with adb or fastboot, via fastboot or in recovery?

Thanks for your help

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using XDA
31st March 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #2  
ONeill123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sector 8
Thanks Meter: 100
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
For example rom manager do it with android commands? Or how to do rom manager this?

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using XDA
1st April 2012, 03:49 PM   |  #3  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Try
fastboot update whatever.zip

I'm not responsible if you brick your phone or anything like that

Sent from my Wildfire S using XDA
1st April 2012, 03:54 PM   |  #4  
ONeill123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sector 8
Thanks Meter: 100
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
This method is not possible, bc you need the img files and the android-info.txt, so not really what i want to do
But thanks for answer!
1st April 2012, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Is there a way to retrieve the past few terminal commands? Then we can try replicate what rom manager did.

Sent from my Wildfire S using XDA
1st April 2012, 04:06 PM   |  #6  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
In the sdcard/clockworkmod folder there is a report.log file. Check it out.

Sent from my Wildfire S using XDA
simonsimons34
1st April 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
run this
Code:
 adb shell recovery --update_package=/sdcard/name_of_downloaded_zip.zip
where /sdcard/name_of_downloaded_zip.zip is the location and name of the rom you wish to use
2nd April 2012, 01:03 AM   |  #8  
Wolf Pup's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag I live in the TARDIS
Thanks Meter: 290
 
3,725 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
ADB or Fastboot will never work. I can't explain why ATM. Technical stuff. Maybe there is a file that has its part in booting into recovery.

Sent from a Time Lord, using his TARDIS.
2nd April 2012, 05:25 AM   |  #9  
ONeill123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sector 8
Thanks Meter: 100
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Ok giys, thanks for answer. I have another solution now

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using XDA
23rd April 2012, 06:54 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
What is it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes