Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Walmart/T-Mobile Prepaid $30/mo "Unlimited" 4G Plan + Unlimited Text/100 Minutes

OP styndall

10th January 2012, 04:26 PM   |  #11  
Fantrix's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Nope. Not really helpful.
10th January 2012, 10:19 PM   |  #12  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eenbox

Can someone confirm this plans now works fine and it is not a fiasco it was right after the release? I have HD2 Tmobile US and wonder if it will work on my phone?

I barely use my phone for talking and never over 100mins - data is pretty much what I use for the most of the time and this plan seems like a winner...

What else should we know about this plan?

Check HoFo. I haven't found much useful information here on XDA.

Of note, I have found no problems with the plan thus far (have only used it for 1 month)
Last edited by styndall; 10th January 2012 at 10:19 PM. Reason: I am scatterbrained.
12th January 2012, 10:48 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
hey everyone. so apparently mobile to mobile doesnt apply to monthly 4g plans. i never read this anywhere and i tried to do as much research as i could before i tired to get on this plan. but now, after 1 day of ussage, im out of minutes.

if you guys have any specific questions, post them, and ill try to answer them
Last edited by jebusss; 12th January 2012 at 07:04 PM.
31st January 2012, 05:31 AM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Fact: I found that I had to buy a $30 t-mo phone at walmart to get this plan, and after activation, I moved the sim to a nicer device (bought a nearly unused lg g2x for cheap). I don't talk on the phone, google voice when I do (voice messages conveniently converted to text) and never give out my t-mo phone #.

History: I have been using boost for a couple years and was happy with their service/plan, but even the rather nice samy prevail (thank you ShabbyPenguin!!) was feeling a bit limited (despite root and link2sd). Was about to try Hoarks CM7 on it. I did not feel like trying to get a regular sprint phone to work on boost either.

Review: Signal strength not as good at home, but I use wifi here anyways. I get about 2Mb data over cell here tho, so not too bad. Phone is a kickass upgrade (CWM, CM7 nightly thanks to XDA forums tutorials!) and I like that I can use my sim in many other devices!

Expect to pay $30 for a phone and $30 for plan. Web activation of phone worked. Be sure to use THE AGENT CODE on the phone box! I bought the $30 card but using the scratch and dust number did not validate online , I called tmobile number and entered it there and it validated (whew!).

hope that sheds some light...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eenbox

Can someone confirm this plans now works fine and it is not a fiasco it was right after the release? I have HD2 Tmobile US and wonder if it will work on my phone?

I barely use my phone for talking and never over 100mins - data is pretty much what I use for the most of the time and this plan seems like a winner...

What else should we know about this plan?

6th February 2012, 07:53 AM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freelikegnu


Be sure to use THE AGENT CODE on the phone box! I bought the $30 card but using the scratch and dust number



Is the agent code unique? If not, can you share it?
6th February 2012, 11:21 PM   |  #16  
Babydollll's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Flowood, MS
Thanks Meter: 1,840
 
18,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I just ordered the SIM on T-Mobile's website (ended up getting it as an addition to my postpaid plan for my NS which was sitting unused). I followed the activation steps in the booklet that came with the SIM. No agent code needed and I paid $5.34 for the SIM.
NOTE: This only works if you already have a compatible phone with AWS bands. I don't know about activating a newly bought phone on this plan.

Wasn't me!! I didn't do it!
23rd April 2012, 08:06 AM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
I'm moving back to DC this summer (from Beijing) and I want to get on this plan. But I lost my phone the other day and need something for the next 3 months.

Q: Is there any Android/ICS international phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.
7th May 2012, 11:12 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixersoft;25197091
Q: Is there any Android/ICS [U

international[/U] phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.

Is the Google's Galaxy Nexus an "international" phone? That may be an option.
8th May 2012, 03:49 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 68
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Considering changing to this plan...

Has anybody tried tethering on this plan? Also, any non-overage related throttling to report?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixersoft

I'm moving back to DC this summer (from Beijing) and I want to get on this plan. But I lost my phone the other day and need something for the next 3 months.

Q: Is there any Android/ICS international phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.

Generally, no. Some hacking has been done on AT&T-branded phones (e.g. Galaxy Note) to get them to work with T-Mobile's 3G. However, most phones are incapable of this. Saying 1700 band is a bit misleading - as there are a couple 1700MHz bands that are not AWS (i.e. T-Mobile USA).

So far, all of the Nexus phones (GSM versions, excluding "a" variants which support AT&T's 3G) work with the AWS band. A few others like the Sensation and Evo 3D come to mind.

Your options will be limited because the AWS band is fairly unpopular. Most manufacturers don't bother with it as it's used only on the less-popular networks of the U.S. and Canada - nowhere else.
Last edited by luftrofl; 8th May 2012 at 11:03 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes