5,596,235 Members 36,387 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Walmart/T-Mobile Prepaid $30/mo "Unlimited" 4G Plan + Unlimited Text/100 Minutes

Tip us?
 
Fantrix
Old
#11  
Fantrix's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Dec 2011
Nope. Not really helpful.
 
styndall
Old
(Last edited by styndall; 10th January 2012 at 09:19 PM.) Reason: I am scatterbrained.
#12  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 81
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eenbox View Post
Can someone confirm this plans now works fine and it is not a fiasco it was right after the release? I have HD2 Tmobile US and wonder if it will work on my phone?

I barely use my phone for talking and never over 100mins - data is pretty much what I use for the most of the time and this plan seems like a winner...

What else should we know about this plan?
Check HoFo. I haven't found much useful information here on XDA.

Of note, I have found no problems with the plan thus far (have only used it for 1 month)
 
jebusss
Old
(Last edited by jebusss; 12th January 2012 at 06:04 PM.)
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2010
hey everyone. so apparently mobile to mobile doesnt apply to monthly 4g plans. i never read this anywhere and i tried to do as much research as i could before i tired to get on this plan. but now, after 1 day of ussage, im out of minutes.

if you guys have any specific questions, post them, and ill try to answer them
 
freelikegnu
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fact: I found that I had to buy a $30 t-mo phone at walmart to get this plan, and after activation, I moved the sim to a nicer device (bought a nearly unused lg g2x for cheap). I don't talk on the phone, google voice when I do (voice messages conveniently converted to text) and never give out my t-mo phone #.

History: I have been using boost for a couple years and was happy with their service/plan, but even the rather nice samy prevail (thank you ShabbyPenguin!!) was feeling a bit limited (despite root and link2sd). Was about to try Hoarks CM7 on it. I did not feel like trying to get a regular sprint phone to work on boost either.

Review: Signal strength not as good at home, but I use wifi here anyways. I get about 2Mb data over cell here tho, so not too bad. Phone is a kickass upgrade (CWM, CM7 nightly thanks to XDA forums tutorials!) and I like that I can use my sim in many other devices!

Expect to pay $30 for a phone and $30 for plan. Web activation of phone worked. Be sure to use THE AGENT CODE on the phone box! I bought the $30 card but using the scratch and dust number did not validate online , I called tmobile number and entered it there and it validated (whew!).

hope that sheds some light...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eenbox View Post
Can someone confirm this plans now works fine and it is not a fiasco it was right after the release? I have HD2 Tmobile US and wonder if it will work on my phone?

I barely use my phone for talking and never over 100mins - data is pretty much what I use for the most of the time and this plan seems like a winner...

What else should we know about this plan?
 
tomprc
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by freelikegnu View Post

Be sure to use THE AGENT CODE on the phone box! I bought the $30 card but using the scratch and dust number


Is the agent code unique? If not, can you share it?
 
FlyGurl
Old
#16  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1826
Posts: 18,897
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New York City
I just ordered the SIM on T-Mobile's website (ended up getting it as an addition to my postpaid plan for my NS which was sitting unused). I followed the activation steps in the booklet that came with the SIM. No agent code needed and I paid $5.34 for the SIM.
NOTE: This only works if you already have a compatible phone with AWS bands. I don't know about activating a newly bought phone on this plan.

Wasn't me!! I didn't do it!
 
mixersoft
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Oct 2006
I'm moving back to DC this summer (from Beijing) and I want to get on this plan. But I lost my phone the other day and need something for the next 3 months.

Q: Is there any Android/ICS international phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.
 
808dp
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixersoft;25197091
Q: Is there any Android/ICS [U
international[/U] phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.
Is the Google's Galaxy Nexus an "international" phone? That may be an option.
 
luftrofl
Old
(Last edited by luftrofl; 8th May 2012 at 10:03 PM.)
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Francisco
Considering changing to this plan...

Has anybody tried tethering on this plan? Also, any non-overage related throttling to report?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixersoft View Post
I'm moving back to DC this summer (from Beijing) and I want to get on this plan. But I lost my phone the other day and need something for the next 3 months.

Q: Is there any Android/ICS international phone I can buy that can be hacked to work with Tmobile HSPA+? I'd say the HTC One S would be perfect for me, but I don't think you can get the one with TMobile 1700 CDMA band.
Generally, no. Some hacking has been done on AT&T-branded phones (e.g. Galaxy Note) to get them to work with T-Mobile's 3G. However, most phones are incapable of this. Saying 1700 band is a bit misleading - as there are a couple 1700MHz bands that are not AWS (i.e. T-Mobile USA).

So far, all of the Nexus phones (GSM versions, excluding "a" variants which support AT&T's 3G) work with the AWS band. A few others like the Sensation and Evo 3D come to mind.

Your options will be limited because the AWS band is fairly unpopular. Most manufacturers don't bother with it as it's used only on the less-popular networks of the U.S. and Canada - nowhere else.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...