Post Reply

[ROOT] Stock ICS Leak One-Click Root Tool

OP blackthund3r

22nd April 2012, 08:13 AM   |  #41  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,122
 
7,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just to let you know, your tool works fine on the 501 ICS update (using the full 4 file install method) NVFlash to patched bootloader.

One thing I noticed, you have to use the remounter often, as the /system will lose RW and revert to RO after using an application. So it seems to be temporary.

Example; Use remounter to get RW on system. Open Root Explorer and change System to RW. Do your business. Close Root Explorer, come back a few minutes later, and you have to use remounter again.

Minor annoyance, but will probably need looking into.

Nice tool though!
22nd April 2012, 10:28 AM   |  #42  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Works great on ics acer500 then using the tool to put recovery on I have flashed to flexreapers 12.5. Great work.
22nd April 2012, 08:37 PM   |  #43  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
563 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Just to let you know, your tool works fine on the 501 ICS update (using the full 4 file install method) NVFlash to patched bootloader.

One thing I noticed, you have to use the remounter often, as the /system will lose RW and revert to RO after using an application. So it seems to be temporary.

Example; Use remounter to get RW on system. Open Root Explorer and change System to RW. Do your business. Close Root Explorer, come back a few minutes later, and you have to use remounter again.

Minor annoyance, but will probably need looking into.

Nice tool though!

New remounter, better root method have fun with 6.0! :3

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2
22nd April 2012, 08:38 PM   |  #44  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
563 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethan21

Works great on ics acer500 then using the tool to put recovery on I have flashed to flexreapers 12.5. Great work.

Glad it did thanks

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #45  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,122
 
7,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackthund3r

New remounter, better root method have fun with 6.0! :3

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

Are these just changes in the Re-mounter.apk? So I can simply swap them out? Or are there other things?

Oh, and how about a special one for the 501 that says 501 Remounter?
23rd April 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #46  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackthund3r

It is perhaps something I'll look into in the near future but for now, v4.0 should help those with problems with mounting /system rw. The next step is making it easy to install CWM and a patched bootloader. This may come from me or it may not. Depends on if I have time and/or if I see a need for a tool for it. At the moment a batch script is probably adequate once in APX mode

And as for adb reboot bootloader, it appears to be working for me now :P

That's my question. I'll be honest, I am getting dizzy trying to keep on top of all these threads. I really want a tool that will allow me to root the device (leak .31) so that I can run CWM and install CM9. I had hopes that I could root with your method and then use acer recovery from the play store to install custom recovery. Now I have my doubts. Will that work? I gather that since I lack a patched bootloader, it will not.
23rd April 2012, 07:09 AM   |  #47  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,122
 
7,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moebigsley

That's my question. I'll be honest, I am getting dizzy trying to keep on top of all these threads. I really want a tool that will allow me to root the device (leak .31) so that I can run CWM and install CM9. I had hopes that I could root with your method and then use acer recovery from the play store to install custom recovery. Now I have my doubts. Will that work? I gather that since I lack a patched bootloader, it will not.

The root tool, is only to get Root access on the Stock ICS. Unfortunately, to uopdate to the new patched bootloaders, You will have to do the NVFlash.

This is the way things go when new "leaked betas" come into the mainstream. Installing CWM from a rooted ICS is easy. Run AcerRecoveryInstaller from your rooted ICS. The bootloader is a different story.

There are "patched" kernels for some a500 ICS roms that run fine on the HC 3.0.1 bootloader. ATGadmin has one, as well as Civato. This will save you from the bootloader flash.
23rd April 2012, 04:24 PM   |  #48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

The root tool, is only to get Root access on the Stock ICS. Unfortunately, to uopdate to the new patched bootloaders, You will have to do the NVFlash.

This is the way things go when new "leaked betas" come into the mainstream. Installing CWM from a rooted ICS is easy. Run AcerRecoveryInstaller from your rooted ICS. The bootloader is a different story.

There are "patched" kernels for some a500 ICS roms that run fine on the HC 3.0.1 bootloader. ATGadmin has one, as well as Civato. This will save you from the bootloader flash.

Pardon my ignorance, but I thought that updating to leak also updated your bootloader (from HC to ICS).

Am I to assume that is not enough? The ICS bootloader is 'locked' so to speak and needs to be patched or replaced via NVFlash?
25th April 2012, 09:11 PM   |  #49  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,122
 
7,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moebigsley

Pardon my ignorance, but I thought that updating to leak also updated your bootloader (from HC to ICS).

Am I to assume that is not enough? The ICS bootloader is 'locked' so to speak and needs to be patched or replaced via NVFlash?

For the 501 ICS, and the Stock ICS releases, yes, you are correct in you will need the unlocked Bootloader to get /System R-W.

As far as I know, the previous version of the root tool, only gives you half root on a stock ICS Bootloader and Stock kernel.

His new version 6, I have no idea what it does, as my previous question went unanswered.

The new ver6 is 43mb exe extracted. And no idea exactly what it does.

Does it install a new unlocked bootloader?
Can you run it on a previously rooted (with same tool) device?
Are there any changes in the remounter app that would benefit anybody with the previous version?

Forget facelock and the acer lockscreen for the 501. Not in the framework to support it.

Just some questions that go unanswered.
25th April 2012, 09:18 PM   |  #50  
civato's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,377
 
3,783 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Forget facelock and the acer lockscreen for the 501. Not in the framework to support it.

Just some questions that go unanswered.

Some info.
AcerRing and Lockscreen that comes with it are supported in framework that comes in the ICS 501 rom that vache posted. But as rom builder you still need to make it work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes