Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,232 Members 38,300 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Think Tank] Internation Has No Tmo 4G support, BUT?

Tip us?
 
TramainM
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question [Think Tank] Internation Has No Tmo 4G support, BUT?

So the International Version has no 4G support that has been established; however, their could be a possible way to still get 4G. I have seen with the SG2 International and The SG2 Tmo if you flash the modem of the tmo one onto the international they got 4G on Tmo. I have also read that i think it was the nexus or galaxy note or something had a locked band that they unlocked.... I heard that a radio probably wont change anything but does anyone else have any ideas?
 
dislplin01
Old
#2  
dislplin01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,194
Join Date: Apr 2011
Why would you buy the internatIonal version t mobile is getting the one s anyway

Sent from my HTC sensation 4g using Tapatalk
Device: Nexus 5
ROM: Paronoidroid 4.3
Kernel: Franco Kernel nightly
Tablet: Nexus 7
Retired: LGp500, HTC Sensation, Moto Xoom, Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 4
PS if i help you press the thank you button it makes me feel all warm inside
 
TramainM
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dislplin01 View Post
Why would you buy the internatIonal version t mobile is getting the one s anyway

Sent from my HTC sensation 4g using Tapatalk
Don't like waiting and I travel a lot.
 
dislplin01
Old
#4  
dislplin01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,194
Join Date: Apr 2011
Personally I think you should just wait you gaffe the s2 so it's not like you dying from a crappy phone and that way you would know it works properly I'm not sure about the one s but I know on my HTC sensation there is a extra antenna for the 4 g and we can't even buy a extra battery cover unless it had that antenna or we loose 4g

Sent from my HTC sensation 4g using Tapatalk
Device: Nexus 5
ROM: Paronoidroid 4.3
Kernel: Franco Kernel nightly
Tablet: Nexus 7
Retired: LGp500, HTC Sensation, Moto Xoom, Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 4
PS if i help you press the thank you button it makes me feel all warm inside
 
TramainM
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
I already HAVE the one s I came from the amaze for the record. Interesting thoughts.

Sent from my HTC One S using XDA
 
TramainM
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
What about the possibility the frequency is their its just locked...
 
UserDemos
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 153
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by TramainM View Post
What about the possibility the frequency is their its just locked...
As far as I understand, it's not. Check www.htc.com/www and look at the One S specifications.

Doesn't support 1700 AWS bands nor does it have the 1900 mHz (AT&T 3G, soon to be T-Mobile HSPA+ as well).

A software hack won't fix bands that don't exist in the hardware.
 
TramainM
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by UserDemos View Post
As far as I understand, it's not. Check www.htc.com/www and look at the One S specifications.

Doesn't support 1700 AWS bands nor does it have the 1900 mHz (AT&T 3G, soon to be T-Mobile HSPA+ as well).

A software hack won't fix bands that don't exist in the hardware.
Thats the thing though, I get ATT 3G.... So something else must be their...
 
UserDemos
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 153
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by TramainM View Post
Thats the thing though, I get ATT 3G.... So something else must be their...
The 850 mHz band is also AT&T 3G, but it is not as widespread around the country as the 1900 mHz band. So, you're getting AT&T 3G on 850 mHz because that is available on the One S.

See: http://www.cellularmaps.com/att_850_1900.shtml
 
TramainM
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 446
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by UserDemos View Post
The 850 mHz band is also AT&T 3G, but it is not as widespread around the country as the 1900 mHz band. So, you're getting AT&T 3G on 850 mHz because that is available on the One S.

See: http://www.cellularmaps.com/att_850_1900.shtml
So say its all over and theirs no changing it. Those of us who had no idea that it wouldn't work is their any way would could minupulate HTC or Tmo into giving us a version that will suport it. You could play the "It says hspa+ on your website"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes